Berliner Philharmoniker/Sir Simon Rattle: Tchaikovsky/Stravinsky/Rachmaninoff

Berliner Philharmoniker/Sir Simon Rattle: Tchaikovsky/Stravinsky/Rachmaninoff

Director: Henning Kasten Cast: Yefim Bronfman

DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo / DTS)


A word of explanation for the unfamiliar: each year, to kick off its new season of classical music, The Berliner Philharmoniker mounts a special concert at the legendary Waldbühne in Berlin. This particular release profiles the 2009 production of that concert. As conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, the theme in question is "Russian Rhythms," and the Philharmoniker welcomes Russian pianist Yefim Bronfman as its guest of honor for the event. Selections on display include Rachmaninov's "Third Piano Concerto," music from Stravinsky's "The Rite of Spring," and several selections from Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2009
UPC: 0880242577580
Original Release: 2009
Source: Euroarts
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo, DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:44:00

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Berliner Philharmoniker/Sir Simon Rattle: Tchaikovsky/Stravinsky/Rachmaninov
1. Opening: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky the Nutcracker [:47]
2. Overture-The Christmas Tree-March-Sergei Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 3 [10:52]
3. Allegro Ma Non Tanto [17:01]
4. Intermezzo, Adagio-Attacca: [10:45]
5. Finale, Alla Breve-Igor Stravinksy Le Sacre Du Printemps L'Adoration De La Terre [16:19]
6. Introduction [3:40]
7. Les Augures Printaniers (Danses Des Adolescentes ) [3:15]
8. Jeu Du Rapt [1:17]
9. Rondes Printanières [3:40]
10. Jeux Des Cités Rviales [1:50]
11. Cortège Du Sage [:39]
12. Adoration De La Terre-Le Sage [:24]
13. Danse De La Terre-Le Sacrifice [1:10]
14. Introduction [4:41]
15. Cercles Mystérieux Des Adolescentes [3:06]
16. Glorification De L'Élue [1:39]
17. Évocation Des Ancêtres [:41]
18. Action Rituelle Des Ancêtres [3:37]
19. Danse Sacrale (L'Élue)-Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky The Nutcracker [6:51]
20. Pas De Deux: Intrada [5:55]
21. Paul Lincke Berliner Luft [2:45]
22. Credits [2:09]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews