DVD (Wide Screen)


Based on a true story, Aristocrats draws back the curtain on an 18th century English family near the summit of society, revealing a tapestry of romance, prejudice, infidelity, and revolution. The three-part TV miniseries follows the four Lennox sisters, daughters of Lord Richmond, from youth to middle age and beyond. They go through marriages, children, scandal, and intrigue as they decide what matters more: position or principle. Part one centers on three of the daughters -- Caroline, Emily, and Louisa -- as they entertain ideas of marrying solely for love, an idea abhorrent to their snooty parents. But in spite of the folks' protests ("What will people think?"), Caroline marries an untitled politician, Henry Fox, about twice her age. Emily chooses, God forbid, an Irishman. But because of his wealth and nobility, he becomes acceptable. Louisa also marries a wealthy Irish noble. Part two centers on the fourth daughter, Sarah. After her debut in London, the diffident Prince of Wales (the future King George III) falls in love with her, but unexpectedly marries another for political advantage. Sarah then rushes into a marriage. But because her cold, neglectful husband cannot provide what she wants most -- love and attention -- she beds with others and the family ostracizes her. In part three, miserable, guilt-ridden Sarah finds true love with a decent military man and reconciles herself with the family. Meanwhile, Caroline dies, and social upheaval in America, France, and Ireland opens the eyes of the surviving sisters to new ideas, and they and their families become embroiled in struggles between the masses and the privileged few.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/08/2006
UPC: 0054961843190
Original Release: 1999
Rating: NR
Source: Acorn Media
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 4:53:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; 30 min. featurette "The Making of Aristocrats"; Stella Tillyard bio; Cast filmographies

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Aristocrats, Vol. 1
1. A Different World [5:45]
2. Pretty Persuasion [6:08]
3. "Live to the Full" [3:22]
4. Proposal Refused [6:12]
5. A Small Rebellion [5:09]
6. Lady Emily's Debut [6:45]
7. A Little Conversation [3:54]
8. Mr. Fox's Return [11:13]
1. Settlement Reached [7:08]
2. Married Lives [5:57]
3. Lady Caroline's Rival [8:28]
4. Two Wars End [3:33]
5. A Most Unhappy Night [4:14]
6. Torn Asunder Again [6:08]
7. Love Blossoms [4:18]
8. The Children Mature [9:06]
Disc #2 -- Aristocrats, Vol. 2
1. Sarah's London Launch [7:59]
2. A Prince Among Men [7:51]
3. Sarah Shows Promise [4:43]
4. A Kingly Pursuit? [7:50]
5. A Surprising Engagement [4:44]
6. Growing Dissatisfaction [8:01]
7. A Theatrical Turn [7:36]
1. A New Teacher [6:51]
2. Talk of the Town [4:17]
3. Sarah's Regrets [4:15]
4. Lord William's Desire [5:21]
5. Sarah's Revelation [4:34]
6. A Family Divided [10:44]
7. Stress Bears Down [2:59]
8. Louisa: Saving Angel [8:34]
Disc #3 -- Aristocrats, Vol. 3
1. Queen of Ireland [5:15]
2. Sarah's Reformation [7:09]
3. Temptations Arise [8:41]
4. Joys and Pains [7:51]
5. All Ireland Mourns [4:11]
6. Reconciliation and Loss [8:42]
7. Hopes for a Future [7:08]
1. Acceptance in London [8:53]
2. Garden in Turmoil [4:31]
3. Edward's Role [7:05]
4. Encroaching Terror [3:32]
5. Safe Passage [7:42]
6. Edward's Capture [3:40]
7. Languishing in Pain [5:12]
8. Peace at Last? [7:54]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Aristocrats 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This biographical costume drama follows an 18th century British family of sisters who are of royal lineage but who become separated by their choices in marriage and politics as well as by how well they do or do not meet the social expectations for women of their rank and privilege. That this tale is true takes it beyond the usually marvelous works produced by the BBC. Watch and decide if you think these women made good choices and judge for yourself the cost of their pursuit of liberality.