A Promise

A Promise

Director: Patrice Leconte Cast: Rebecca Hall, Alan Rickman, Richard Madden


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 29


French filmmaker Patrice Leconte (Felix and Lola, The Suicide Shop) makes his English-language debut with this period romance adapted from Stefan Zweig's Journey into the Past, and centering on the affair between a handsome male secretary and the wife of a wealthy industrialist. Frederic Zeitz (Richard Madden) is a man whose strong work ethic is only exceeded by his formidable intelligence, which makes him the ideal candidate to work as an administrative assistant for prominent steel-factory owner Karl Hoffmeister (Alan Rickman). Before long, sparks are flying between Frederic and Hoffmeister's younger wife Lotte (Rebecca Hall), and the young secretary is invited to move in with his boss' family while tutoring his employer's young son Otto (Toby Murray). Meanwhile, passions between the young pair begin burning out of control, leaving both to ponder an uncertain future as the powers of fate begin to push them apart.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/26/2014
UPC: 0030306938196
Original Release: 2013
Rating: NR
Source: Ifc Independent Film
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 59,798

Special Features


Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Rebecca Hall Lotte Hoffmeister
Alan Rickman Karl Hoffmeister
Richard Madden Frederic Zeitz
Maggie Steed Frau Hermann
Shannon Tarbet Anna
Toby Murray Otto

Technical Credits
Patrice Leconte Director,Screenwriter
Pascaline Chavanne Costumes/Costume Designer
Christine de Jekel Executive Producer
Olivier Delbosc Producer
Susie Figgis Casting
Jean Goudier Sound Editor
Joëlle Hache Editor
Paul Laine Sound/Sound Designer
Ivan Maussion Production Designer
Marc Missionnier Producer
Eduardo Serra Cinematographer
Jerome Tonnerre Screenwriter
Gabriel Yared Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- A Promise
1. Opening Credits [6:59]
2. Until Further Notice [9:10]
3. Kind Work [7:39]
4. See His Apartment [8:34]
5. Blaze Of Color [7:35]
6. Our Investment Plan [8:16]
7. Don't Be Silly [8:13]
8. Personal Reasons [8:10]
9. Separating Us [7:58]
10. Almost Died [9:52]
11. All These Years [12:29]
12. Ending Credits [3:29]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews