A Delicate Balance

A Delicate Balance

Director: Tony Richardson Cast: Sam Waterston, Katharine Hepburn, Paul Scofield

DVD (Wide Screen)

$28.69 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.69, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29


This American Film Theater production of Edward Albee's emotionally taut drama gets a respectful presentation in its release on DVD. A Delicate Balance has been transferred to disc in its original wide-screen aspect ratio of 1.85:1; the transfer is letterboxed on conventional televisions, and enhanced for widescreen playback on 16x9 monitors. The audio, in English, is mastered in Dolby Digital mono; no multiple language options have been included. Bonus material includes the film's original theatrical trailer; interviews with author Edward Albee and cinematographer David Watkin; an essay on the play by Michael Feingold, and a reproduction of the program handed out with original subscription screenings of the film.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2003
UPC: 0738329028626
Original Release: 1973
Rating: PG
Source: Kino Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 2:12:00
Sales rank: 47,602

Special Features

An interview with Edward Albee; An interview with cinematographer David Watkin; Theatrical trailer; "Edward Albee and A Delicate Balance," an essay by Michael Feingold, Chief Theatre Critic, The Village Voice; The AFT cinebill for A Delicate Balance; Stills gallery; The American Film Theatre scrapbook; Enhanced for 16x9 TVs

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. "What I Find Most Astonishing..." [10:31]
2. Claire, the Sister-in-Law [8:34]
3. "I Am an Alcoholic" [10:43]
4. The Ground Rules [5:59]
5. "The Cat That I Had!" [6:55]
6. Harry & Edna [6:42]
7. "Your Daughter Is in Need..." [7:06]
8. Julia, the Quadruple Amputee [10:27]
9. "The Great Balancing Act" [9:14]
10. "What Do You Want?" [6:11]
11. "Get Them Out of Here!" [8:29]
12. Early the Next Morning [8:45]
13. ."..Silent, Sad, Disgusted Love" [7:13]
14. Tobias & His Women [7:40]
15. "Stay!" [10:22]
16. Philosophy From Agnes [8:25]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews