Dreaming Frankenstein

Dreaming Frankenstein

by Liz Lochhead

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Liz Lochhead has built an impressive reputation as poet, playwright and performer attracting a large and admiring public. Dreaming Frankenstein and Collected Poems stands as a monument to her early work: four collections Memo for Spring (1972), Islands (1978) and Grimm Sisters (1981) and the title volume together provide a complete record of her poetry from 1967 to 1984. In Dreaming Frankenstein human relationships, especially as seen from a woman's point of view, are central. Attraction, pain, acceptance, loss, triumphs and deceptions all are made immediate through her imagery and acute powers of observation and through her flair as a storyteller.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780857900517
Publisher: Birlinn, Limited
Publication date: 05/01/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 176
File size: 367 KB
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Liz Lochhead Is The Scottish Makar (Poet Laureate) And Is Regarded As One Of Scotland's Best Andmost Popular Poets And Dramatists. Her Poetry Is Characterized By A Self-Conscious Effort To Mimic The Idioms Of Speech, Adopting A Range Of Spoken Styles That Include The Lyrical Use Of Cliche, Rap, Colloquialism And Even Advertising Language In An Effort To Raise The Profile Of The Marginalized Voices Of Both Scots And Women. Her Most Famous Poetry Collections Include "Dreaming Frankenstein And Collected Poems" (1984), "Bagpipe Muzak" (1991) And "The Colour Of Black And White: Poems 1984-2003" Was Published By Polygon In 2003. She Became Makar In 2011 After The Death Of Edwin Morgan."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dreaming Frankenstein: & Collected Poems 1967-1984 0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 0 reviews.