Dragonslayer (Babymouse Series #11)

Dragonslayer (Babymouse Series #11)

by Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

Get ready for the next big epic fantasy . . .
In a distant kingdom a growing darkness falls over the land. One is called to defend . . . to bring hope . . . to slay the Mighty Dragon. . . .Could it be . . . Babymouse? Our brave young hero will lead her fellow Mathletes in the quest of a lifetime, a death-defying fight to win back both her school’s honor and the coveted GOLDEN SLIDE RULE. Can she conquer the evil Owlgorithms and her own personal dragon—MATH? Find out in Dragonslayer—the 11th hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375857126
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 08/25/2009
Series: Babymouse Series , #11
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 164,922
Product dimensions: 5.54(w) x 7.10(h) x 0.35(d)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

About the Author

Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several highly acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor-winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dragonslayer 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Michellesays More than 1 year ago
Babymouse is back again in book #11 of this smart, sassy graphic novel series. Surprise - the "dragon" is not a fire-breathing beast but something Babymouse fears most...MATH! When she gets an (F-) on her math quiz, Babymouse is forced to join the school mathlete team, the Fighting Fractions, to help bring back the Golden Slide Rule and restore the school's honor. How can a student who gags at geometry survive this arithmetic nightmare? With a little humor and a lot of imagination. Readers will enjoy her daydreams that refer to popular movies such as The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe and The Lord of the Rings. As an educator, I love the way Babymouse slays her personal math dragon. When her teacher encourages her to "believe in herself" she relies on her drawing and reading skills (not to mention her lively imagination) to solve a complicated word problem and bring home the math trophy. One of the best Babymouse books to date!
sassafras on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably my favorite Babymouse so far. Lots of literary references. I particularly like the Fellowship of the Slide Rule.
daisyacg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
5Q, 4PA distinctive visual style combined with a strong storyline, makes this a good choice for older beginning readers. The storyline and visuals allow for reading comprehension along several levels, and play on words increase depth and vocabulary. However, the visual style takes some getting used to and some readers may not enjoy the pink/white/black stylization.
claudiathelibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
3Q- I wish they read more smoothly as individual books. Reading #11 on its own made me feel like I needed to read the previous books in the series to understand some of the references.4P- Graphic novels and comic book fans will be drawn to this one, but some of the vocabulary is advanced and might leave younger readers lost.
abbylibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The 11th Babymouse installment is a hit! When Babymouse gets an F- on a math quiz, her teacher offers her extra credit to join the Mathletes and practice her arithmetic. But for Babymouse, winning a Mathlete competition is like finding the Holy Grail - nearly impossible! She keeps foraying into the fantasy world of the thick novels she likes to read. (My favorite? "Another Story About an Orphan Who Has Magical Abilities and Saves the World from the Forces of Darkness (Book One of Twelve)" . Highly recommended and one of my favorite of the Babymouse books!
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Reason for Reading: Cybils nominee.Comments: Babymouse is daydreaming about being an epic dragonslayer as in fantasy books when she receives an F- on her math test. Her teacher helpfully signs her up for the Mathletes team in exchange for ignoring her abysmal grade. Babymouse and math just do not get along and while her team prepares for the challenge against the current champions, the Owlgorithms, Babymouse just can't stop daydreaming; transplanting herself into Narnia and Middle Earth. Another cute story for Babymouse! This time her klutziness isn't showcased as much as her just plain average student ability-ness is and how easily she is overwhelmed. Babymouse spends her time with a whole new cast of characters on the Mathletes team and the math theme is explored and made fun of from many angles. Whether you love math or hate it, you'll be inspired. One thing that I'm really enjoying in these books is how the narrator talks back to Babymouse. It's funny! I have to say I enjoyed #10 The Musical more than this one though. But now I have an urge to go to the library and scoop up #1 through #9 and furiously catch up with Babymouse!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poisonousplant More than 1 year ago
I love the babymouse seires because it's like a real person in middel school.Wite an another soon!