Death on the Menu (Key West Food Critic Series #8)

Death on the Menu (Key West Food Critic Series #8)

by Lucy Burdette

Hardcover

$24.29 $26.99 Save 10% Current price is $24.29, Original price is $26.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and Leslie Meier, national bestseller Lucy Burdette's eighth Key West Food Critic mystery sees the return of fan-favorite food critic Hayley Snow, who must once again get to the bottom of a bitter murder.

When a killer strikes just before flan time, beloved food critic Hayley Snow is forced to sniff out the killer before someone else bites the dust.


Hayley Snow, fiery food critic for Key Zest magazine, has just landed a ticket to one of the most prestigious events in Key West: a high-brow three-day conference at the Harry Truman Little White House. Even though she’ll be working the event helping her mother’s fledgling catering business, there’s plenty of spicy gossip to go around. But just before her mother’s decadent flan is put to the test, Key West’s most prized possession, Hemingway’s Nobel prize gold medal for The Old Man and the Sea, is discovered stolen from its case.

Unsavory suspicions point to Gabriel, a family friend and one of the new busboys working the event, who mysteriously goes missing moments later. Anxious to clear his name, Gabriel’s family enlists Hayley to help find him, but right as they begin their search, his body is found stabbed to death in the storeroom.

Hayley has no shortage of suspects to interrogate and very little time before the killer adds another victim to the menu in national bestselling author Lucy Burdette’s delectable eighth Key West Food Critic mystery, Death on the Menu.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683317463
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 08/07/2018
Series: Key West Food Critic Series , #8
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 1,197,528
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Clinical psychologist Lucy Burdette has published 15 mysteries, including the latest in the Key West food critic mysteries. Her books and stories have been shortlisted for Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards. She’s a member of Mystery Writers of America and a past president of Sisters in Crime. She lives in Madison, CT and Key West, FL.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death on the Menu 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
C_Fowler 26 days ago
Lucy Burdette delights with this wonderful mystery that delves into Key West and Cuban culture, cuisine, and murder. The setting is a KeyWest-Cuban conference designed to bring the cultures together being held at the Harry Truman Little White House in Key West. When Ernest Hemingway's Nobel Prize Medal (on loan from Cuba) goes missing and one of the waitstaff is murdered, accusations go flying and the conference is jeopardized. Hailey feels drawn to investigate, not only to save the reputation of the Little White House but also to help the family of the murder victim, which puts her at odds with her boyfriend, Nathan, a Key West Police detective. Will Hailey sit on the sidelines, or will her love for Key West and her friends make her determined to solve the murder? Death on the Menu transported me to Key West, immersed me in its culture and cuisine, and kept me on the edge of my seat as Hailey works behind the scenes to help salvage the conference. My mouth was watering at the descriptions of all of the delicious food, and I was so happy that the recipes were included! Hailey and friends and family do not disappoint, and I highly recommend this much-awaited addition to the Key West Food Critic series. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are solely my own.
GratefulGrandma 12 months ago
3.5 Stars This is the first book I have read in the Key West Food Critic Mystery series, but I had no problem following the story of figuring out the characters. The backdrop for this mystery is a Havana/Key West conference with the hope of developing some business and economic partnerships. During the opening event of the conference, there is the theft of an important Cuban artifact as well as a murder which causes many of the delegates to boycott other events. The murder victim;s family has asked Hayley to find out what happened to him, and she can't resist to do some sleuthing. There was quite a bit of political undertones to the story that involved the cuban population in the US as well as the anger from Cuba toward the American Government allowing these refugees to remain in the country. Hayley Snow is a food critic for a magazine in Key West, FL. She finds herself investigating this case much to the chagrin of her boyfriend and Detective Nathan Bransford. I liked the character of Hayley. She's funny, headstrong, smart, a great daughter and friend. She is helping her mom with the catering during the three-day event and when she is asked to help with a different activity, she jumps right in, of course getting information is always a motivator as well. There is also a personal story going on as well, with Hayley's friend and neighbour Miss Gloria worrying about what will happen with the houseboat next to them. Hayley also has her magazine writing to do so she is kept hopping in this one. Death on the Menu contains good writing and engaging characters. Lucy Burdette has done a great job with the setting of Key West, including various shops and sites. Of course, no story set in Key West would be complete without mention of Ernest Hemingway. The story itself was a bit slow for me. It had a lot of build up to the reveal, but just never really pulled me in like I had hoped. I also figured out the culprit relatively early in the story, which might be why I did not enjoy it as much as others. Because I enjoyed the characters and setting, I will give another in this series a try, perhaps going back to the beginning might benefit me.