Dallas Cowboys in the Hall of Fame: Their Remarkable Journeys to Canton

Dallas Cowboys in the Hall of Fame: Their Remarkable Journeys to Canton

by David Thomas

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Troy Aikman. Emmitt Smith. Michael Irvin. Tom Landry. The names are easily recognizable as Dallas Cowboys, and their legacies are on display in one location: the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. Twenty-two members of the Hall of Fame were a part of the Dallas franchise; only eight NFL teams can boast more, and seven of those teams have been in existence much longer than the Cowboys.

In Dallas Cowboys in the Hall of Fame: Their Remarkable Journeys to Canton, David Thomas shares the stories of these incredible players and the ups and downs they all experienced on their way to pro football’s most exclusive club. Each player’s life story is told in such a way to reveal what led him to become a hall of famer, including childhood memories, influential coaches, the teammates who brought the best out in them, and more. Cowboy fans will discover such details as the fact that Troy Aikman was the largest player on his high school football team—bigger even than the linemen—and that it was Michael Irvin’s fancy last-minute talking with the Green Bay Packers on draft day that got him to Dallas and away from a cold-weather team. In addition, each entry includes career statistics, a player bio, and his top five Cowboy moments, describing his greatest games and on-field accomplishments.

Cowboy fans have become accustomed to watching high-caliber players on the field every season, and Dallas Cowboys in the Hall of Fame brings them the inside information on their favorite stars of the past. All football fans will enjoy the chance learn more about the iconic players profiled in this book—legends who have helped shape the Dallas franchise and the NFL.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781442255692
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 05/12/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 236
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

David Thomas is author/coauthor of eleven books, including New York Times bestsellers Wrestling for My Life with Shawn Michaels and Foxcatcher with Mark Schultz. The lifelong Texan spent almost three decades in sports journalism, including more than twenty years combined at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and The Dallas Morning News. His writing was honored nationally by the Associated Press Sports Editors and he received the McClatchy Company President’s Award for excellence in journalism.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Troy Aikman: A Winner
Chapter 2: Larry Allen: Quiet Strength
Chapter 3: Tony Dorsett: “TD,” for Sure
Chapter 4: Charles Haley: Five Rings
Chapter 5: Bob Hayes: A Game-Changer
Chapter 6: Michael Irvin: Contagious Confidence
Chapter 7: Tom Landry: The Man behind the Image
Chapter 8: Bob Lilly: “Mr. Cowboy”
Chapter 9: Mel Renfro: Natural Athleticism
Chapter 10: Deion Sanders: Created for Primetime
Chapter 11: Tex Schramm: Master Innovator
Chapter 12: Emmitt Smith: Rushing Champion
Chapter 13: Roger Staubach: Hall of Fame Person
Chapter 14: Randy White: Complete Dominance
Chapter 15: Rayfield Wright: Long Road to Canton
Chapter 16: Other Contributors
About the Author

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews