Cult Following

Cult Following

by Little Scream


$12.35 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.35, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


Little Scream's long-awaited second album, Cult Following, opens with "Love as a Weapon," a bright and emphatic bit of dance-minded pop that suggests after five years away from the studio, the artist otherwise known as Laurel Sprengelmeyer is ready to have some fun and make some music. Like Little Scream's 2011 debut The Golden Record, Cult Following is impressively ambitious and covers a broad aural palette, from the smart, stylish pop of "Dark Dance" and the passionate indie rock of "Evan" to the moody atmospherics of "The Kissing" and the widescreen finale of "Silent Moon" and "Goodbye Every Body." While the album doesn't consistently get on the good foot after the first few tracks, there is a tone of playful liberation in this music even when it goes dramatic in the second half, and Little Scream wrangles the massive clouds of sound that make up these pieces with intelligence and authority. (She does get a valuable assist from co-producer Richard Reed Parry, who also shows off his multi-instrumental talents.) Sprengelmeyer gathered an impressive set of collaborators for this project, including Sufjan Stevens, Sharon Van Etten, and actual cult favorite Mary Margaret O'Hara, but this music has a strong and distinct personality of its own, and the graceful swing from the poppier first half to the more contemplative finale is a testament to Little Scream's imagination and musical intelligence. In the liner notes, Sprengelmeyer states that Cult Following was recorded "under duress," but the heart and soul in this music confirm that's some sort of joke; this is an album full of vivid imagination, and executed with the skills to make those ideas stick. This album deserves better than a cult following, and hopefully Little Scream will have more to offer in less than five years.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/06/2016
Label: Merge Records
UPC: 0673855053721
catalogNumber: 537
Rank: 136740

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Little Scream   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Noise,Omnichord
Mary Margaret O'Hara   Vocals
Thomas Bartlett   Piano,Keyboards
Sufjan Stevens   Synthesizer
Brad Barr   Guitar,Vocals
Andrew Barr   Drums,Vocals
Kyp Malone   Vocals
Bryce Dessner   Guitar
Aaron Dessner   Guitar,Synthesizer Bass
Owen Pallett   Violin
Jeremy Gara   Drums
Richard Reed Parry   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Vocals,Upright Bass
Marcus Paquin   Bass,Guitar
Sharon Van Etten   Vocals
Sarah Pagé   Harp
Adam Kinner   Saxophone
Laurel Sprengelmeyer   Group Member
Parker Shper   Piano
Lily Sprengelmeyer   Vocals
Mark "Bucky" Wheaton   Drums
Andrea Peneycad   Vocals

Technical Credits

Mark Lawson   Engineer
Sufjan Stevens   Composer
Howard Bilerman   Engineer
Aaron Dessner   Engineer
Owen Pallett   String Arrangements
Pietro Amato   Engineer
Richard Reed Parry   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum machine,String Arrangements
Marcus Paquin   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Tim Vesely   Engineer
Jordy Walker   Engineer
Laurel Sprengelmeyer   Producer,Engineer
Little Scream   Composer,Art Direction
Hans Bernhard   Engineer
Lily Sprengelmeyer   Composer
Dusdin Condren   Cover Photo
Ralph Nassif   Photo Assistance
Joey Kramm   Inside Photo
Mikel Durlam   Composer,Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews