Coyote Returns

Coyote Returns

by Micah S. Hackler

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details



A small-town sheriff. A big-time land deal. A season of violence in a land of ancient myths...

From a New Mexico arroyo, a bullet-ridden body has been mysteriously dragged to a highway. In a small town, a lawman is swamped by complaints of coyote attacks. On Navajo land, a young man faces the truth about who he is, where he comes from, and where he must go.


Investigating the murder of a Navajo leader, Sheriff Cliff Lansing comes up against an official whitewash that has branded the victim a drug dealer. But Lansing's deputy, Gabe Hanna, has already made a connection between the dead man and a multimillion-dollar timber deal on Navajo land. Suddenly, a land torn between ancient spirits and high-stakes power struggles is burning with violence. And as men die, the Trickster, Coyote, runs through the land--demanding justice and revenge.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940162104407
Publisher: Speaking Volumes
Publication date: 09/11/2018
Series: A Sheriff Lansing Mystery , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 163,291
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Micah S. Hackler was born on November 23, 1950 in the farming community of Hoisington, Kansas. His father was an exploration geologist and the family moved often, living in Colorado, Ohio and Oklahoma, just to name a few states. He always loved the Rocky Mountains. A family trip to Mesa Verde in 1965 started a life-long interest in the Pueblo Indian culture. He resolved to one day be a writer after consuming every novel written by Edgar Rice Burroughs. Dabbling as a play write in college, marriage, children and life in general delayed his plans. After graduating from LSU, he joined the Air Force and retired as a Major in 1993. While on active duty, he completed two unpublished manuscripts and one play that was produced. After retiring, he began writing in earnest, producing the Sheriff Lancing mystery series. The four novels, LEGEND OF THE DEAD, COYOTE RETURNS, THE SHADOW CATCHER and THE DARK CANYON, are set in modern day New Mexico and revolve around the exploits of Sheriff Cliff Lansing. Each story involves a mythology unique to the Navajo or Pueblo people. He is currently working on the fifth book of the series. A widower, Micah is a father and grandfather and currently lives with his new wife, Olivia, in Spring, Texas.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews