Complete Sonatas, Invitation to the Dance and Other Piano Works

Complete Sonatas, Invitation to the Dance and Other Piano Works

by Carl Maria von Weber

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $18.95 Save 42% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $18.95. You Save 42%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


A virtuoso of the piano and a pioneer of musical Romanticism, Carl Maria von Wolfe (1786–1926) wrote piano music of elegance and grandeur enhanced with bravura technical effects that profoundly influenced later 19th-century piano music. This volume presents virtually all Weber's works for piano solo: the four piano sonatas — Opus 24 in C Major (1812), Opus 39 in A-flat Minor (1816), Opus 49 in D Minor (1816), and Opus 70 in E Minor (1822) — considered the core of his output; his most popular piano composition, Invitation to the Dance, a waltz later orchestrated by Berlioz and used for the celebrated ballet Le Spectre de la Rose; eight lively and engaging sets of variations; and the dazzling Momento Capriccioso, Grande Polonaise, Rondo Brillante, and Polacca Brillante. Pianists will enjoy exploring this richly varied collection of piano masterworks, reprinted from the authoritative edition published by C. F. Peters of Leipzig.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780486312347
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication date: 09/01/2013
Series: Dover Music for Piano
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 256
File size: 54 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews