Coming Rain

Coming Rain

by Stephen Daisley

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

"Moving and brilliant."— Australian Book Review

"Daisley's prose possesses a shimmering, allusive beauty reminiscent of John McGahern."— Weekend Australian

" Coming Rain shimmers with dusty red heat. . . . Tune in to the distinctive rhythm of the prose and you'll enjoy the rich, subtle rewards of a really good book."— Listener

Western Australia, the wheatbelt. Lew McLeod has been travelling and working with Painter Hayes since he was a boy. Shearing, charcoal burning—whatever comes. Painter made him his first pair of shoes. It's a hard and uncertain life, but it's the only one he knows.

But Lew's a grown man now. And with this latest job, shearing for John Drysdale and his daughter Clara, everything will change.

Stephen Daisley writes in lucid, rippling prose of how things work, and why; of the profound satisfaction in hard work done with care, of love and friendship and the damage that both contain.

Both brutal and poignant, this is an unforgettable novel for fans of Cormac McCarthy, Richard Ford, and Kent Haruf.

Stephen Daisley has worked on sheep and cattle stations, on oil and gas rigs, and driving trucks. His first novel, Traitor , won the 2011 Prime Minister's Literary Award.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781922182029
Publisher: Text Publishing Company
Publication date: 08/09/2016
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Stephen Daisley was born in 1955 and grew up in New Zealand. He has worked on sheep and cattle stations, on oil and gas construction sites and as a truck driver. His first novel, Traitor , won the 2011 Prime Minister's Literary Award for Fiction. He lives in Western Australia with his family.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews