The College World Series, Nebraska (Images of Baseball Series)

The College World Series, Nebraska (Images of Baseball Series)

by W. C. Madden, John E. Peterson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 28


Since 1950, Omaha’s Rosenblatt Stadium (formerly Municipal Stadium) has hosted the nation’s top college baseball programs in the College World Series. Baseball fans from every corner of the country have taken the annual “Road to Omaha” and packed the seats to see championship baseball at its best. In 1954 thousands saw Jim Ehrler of Texas toss the tourney’s first no-hitter en route to the Longhorns winning back-to-back CWS championships. Fans at the 1970 tournament saw Southern Cal defeat Florida State in the midst of their unmatched five-year championship run. In 1996 Rosenblatt’s faithful took in the dramatic bottom-of-the-ninth, two-out, two-run homer by Louisiana State’s Warren Morris, giving his team a 9-8 upset victory over powerhouse Miami.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738533797
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing SC
Publication date: 04/15/2005
Series: Images of Baseball Series
Pages: 128
Sales rank: 1,194,010
Product dimensions: 6.54(w) x 9.28(h) x 0.33(d)

About the Author

The authors are longtime baseball historians with an expertise in the collegiate game. W.C. Madden has written the College World Series Record Book and The College World Series: A Baseball History, 1947–2003, along with many other titles. John E. Peterson, senior pastor at Bensonvale Covenant Church in Omaha, is the author of The Kansas City Athletics: A Baseball History, 1954–1967.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews