Code of Silence (Ben Reese Series #6)

Code of Silence (Ben Reese Series #6)

by Sally Wright


$27.27 $28.95 Save 6% Current price is $27.27, Original price is $28.95. You Save 6%.


A Ben Reese Mystery - 1947. A female linguist at a high-security US decoding and decrypting facility is murdered while trying to relay vital information. Ten years later, Ben Reese is asked for his assistance in tracking a murderer guilty of breaching US security. Bens efforts to find the killer are difficult but he knows it is essential once he learns of the Venona Code, a Soviet code partially decrypted by the US and Britain . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780727866790
Publisher: Severn House Publishers
Publication date: 12/01/2008
Series: Ben Reese Series , #6
Pages: 251
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Sally Wright is a graduate of Northwestern University, where she earned a degree in oral interpretation of literature. She has also completed graduate work at the University of Washington. Ms. Wright is the author of "Publish and Perish," the debut of the Ben Reese series, "Pride and Predator, "Pursuit and Persuasion (an Edgar Allan Poe Award finalist), and "Out of the Ruins. She lives with her husband in northwestern Ohio, and she travels widely to research the Ben Reese books—to England and Scotland for earlier titles in the series, to America's southeastern coast for "Out of the Ruins.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Code of Silence (Ben Reese Series #6) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
F.Isaacs More than 1 year ago
American author Sally Wright has done it again with her sixth Ben Reese mystery. CODE OF SILENCE combines mystery and suspense with a fast pace and more than a touch of Cold War espionage. Although CODE OF SILENCE is the latest of her six Ben Reese mysteries, it is actually a prequel to the other five novels in the series, introducing characters who will appear in later novels.

CODE OF SILENCE begins shortly after World War II, with the murder of a code-breaker, and then picks up a decade later with a second murder. Unlike the other novels in the Ben Reese mystery series, however, in which the murderer is not known until near the end, this story lets the reader in on the secret of who the killer is while focusing on the suspense of a cat-and-mouse game between the killer -- a determined foreign agent who may or may not still be working for "the other side" -- and archivist Ben Reese. For those unfamiliar with the series, Ben Reese is a Midwestern academic who served as an Army Ranger, scouting behind enemy lines during the last year of WWII. Horribly wounded during the war, he later suffers the loss of his wife, an English professor, and has to rebuild his life.

As with the other five novels in the series, CODE OF SILENCE is a first-rate book, displaying the "can't put it down" writing one finds so rarely these days. A "must read!"