Clubbed to Death

Clubbed to Death

by Elaine Viets

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

From Anthony and Agatha Award-winning author Elaine Viets—the thrilling mystery series about one woman trying to make a living... while other people are making a killing.

The Superior Club is where Fort Lauderdale’s wealthiest—and snobbiest—come to play. But for Helen Hawthorne, it’s all work and no play. As a customer care clerk, it’s her job to cater to the clients’ every little whim and take care of their every little problem.

But Helen has a very big problem of her own. After an acrimonious reunion with her ex-husband Rob, she ends up belting the bum in the mouth—which invites suspicion when Rob goes ominously missing. And when a club employee and a philandering member are found beaten to death with a golf club, the police assume Helen was the deadly duffer.

With her freedom—and yet another job—on the line, Helen has no choice but to prove that someone else at the high-class club is a low-down killer…

Praise for the Dead-End Job Mysteries by Anthony and Agatha Award-winning author Elaine Viets

“A stubborn and intelligent heroine, a wonderful South Florida setting, and a cast of more-or-less lethal bimbos...I loved this book.”—Charlaine Harris
“Brave Viets preps by actually working the jobs she describes in loving and hilarious detail, giving her offbeat series a healthy balance between the banal and the bizarre.” —Kirkus Reviews
“Laugh-out-loud comedy with enough twists and turns to make it to the top of the mystery bestseller charts.” —Florida Today
“Fans of Janet Evanovich and Parnell Hall will appreciate Viets’s humor.”—South Florida Sun-Sentinel
“Wit, murder, and sunshine . . . it must be Florida. I love this new series.”—Nancy Pickard
“A heroine with a sense of humor and a gift for snappy dialogue.”—Jane Heller

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781625673244
Publisher: JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
Publication date: 03/06/2018
Series: A Dead-End Job Mystery , #7
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 323,393
File size: 559 KB

About the Author

Elaine Viets has written 32 mysteries in four series: the bestselling Dead-End Job series with South Florida PI Helen Hawthorne, the cozy Josie Marcus Mystery Shopper mysteries, and the dark Francesca Vierling mysteries. With the Angela Richman Death Investigator series, Elaine returns to her hardboiled roots and uses her experience as a stroke survivor and her studies at the Medicolegal Death Investigators Training Course. Elaine was a director at large for the Mystery Writers of America. She's a frequent contributor to Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine and anthologies edited by Charlaine Harris and Lawrence Block. Elaine won the Anthony, Agatha and Lefty Awards.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Clubbed to Death (Dead-End Job Series #7) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
CathyVA More than 1 year ago
This a very light reading "Chic Lit" with a somewhat ditzy main character who doesn't seem able to make any smart decisions. Good for killing time in a waiting room or a sleepy Sunday afternoon lazing in bed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheShort1 More than 1 year ago
I don't finish books I don't like, I did finish this one, but I was not very inpressed. Helen is hiding out from her ex-husband, who obtained half her future salary in their divorce. She's taken a dead-end job, making a bit more money than she'd made in previous d-e jobs. She takes a lot of abuse from the clients and her boss, but tries to stick with it because of the money. Her ex shows up married to a millionare known as "The Black Widow"--her former husbands (about 5 of 'em) have ended up dead. Helen is happy when it appears that her ex has also been killed, even though she is suspected for the murder at first.
Marko75 More than 1 year ago
I just love her mysteries. This one again is fun and great for a lazy summer afternoon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Helen Hawthorne is moving up in the world. She has a new job making over twelve dollars and hour, a credit card, and a cell phone. The only downside is she hates working at Florida¿s Superior Club where only the ultra wealthy can get in. As a service rep, she feels not much more than a drone listening to the complaints of the members who expect her to satisfy their demands instantly. To make matters more unbearable, Helen¿s ex husband Rob has sailed into the docking area with his billionaire wife, Marcella known as the Black Widow. --- When they meet Helen gets angry with him and pushes him. The next day the Black Widow reports her husband and jewelry are missing. Since there are witnesses to the shoving incident, the police arrest Helen. Marcella has her attorney get the charges dropped but in return the Black Widow wants Helen to find what frightened Rob into running away. While investigating, Helen stumbles across two murdered bodies. The amateur sleuth decides the Superior Club and its members have some dark secrets that make her uncomfortable working there, but first she feels she must find Rob who fled after stealing jewelry unaware that her snooping makes her a likely next victim. --- Elaine Viets Dead End Job mysteries are always fun and this one like its predecessors is too as the clues are always out there for the reader to identify the killer, if they can recognize these are clues. CLUBBED TO DEATH is one of the best in this delightful long running series due to a fascinating colorful support cast who range from eccentric to deranged. Fans will empathize with the heroine who is caught between her ethics and her sustenance economics even as she makes inquires that place her in danger. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is A well written series I just didn't care for the main character or for her position that all work must have a "Now What clause." such work supports millions of people and others it pays tuition pays for braces pays for nursing home expenses for parents. Nothing dead end about honest work.