CLOUD COMPUTING Agencies Need to Incorporate Key Practices to Ensure Effective Performance

CLOUD COMPUTING Agencies Need to Incorporate Key Practices to Ensure Effective Performance

by U.S. Government Accountability Office


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


agencies using a service level agreement (SLA) in a contract when acquiring information technology (IT) services through a cloud computing services provider. An SLA defines the level of service and performance expected from a provider, how that performance will be measured, and what enforcement mechanisms will be used to ensure the specified performance levels are achieved. GAO identified ten key practices to be included in an SLA, such as identifying the roles and responsibilities of major stakeholders, defining performance objectives, and specifying security metrics. The key practices, if properly implemented, can help agencies ensure services are performed effectively, efficiently, and securely. Under the direction of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), guidance issued to agencies in February 2012 included seven of the ten key practices described in this report that could help agencies ensure the effectiveness of their cloud services contracts.
GAO determined that the five agencies and the 21 cloud service contracts it reviewed had included a majority of the ten key practices. Specifically, of the 21 cloud service contracts reviewed from the Departments of Defense, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, 7 had fulfilled all 10 of the key practices, as illustrated in the figure. The remaining 13 contracts had incorporated 5 or more of the 10 key practices and 1 had not included any practices.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781542978217
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 02/07/2017
Pages: 48
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 11.02(h) x 0.10(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews