Call to Arms
Call to Arms

Call to Arms

by Rachel Amphlett

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Kay Hunter has survived a vicious attack at the hands of one of the country's most evil serial killers.

Returning to work after an enforced absence to recover, she discovers she wasn't the only victim of that investigation. DI Devon Sharp remains suspended from duties, and the team is in turmoil.

Determined to prove herself once more and clear his name, Kay undertakes to solve a cold case that links Sharp to his accuser. But, as she gets closer to the truth, she realises her enquiries could do more harm than good.

Torn between protecting her mentor and finding out the truth, the consequences of Kay's enquiries will reach far beyond her new role...

Call to Arms is a gripping murder mystery, and the fifth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

1. SCARED TO DEATH
2. WILL TO LIVE
3. ONE TO WATCH
4. HELL TO PAY
5. CALL TO ARMS
6. GONE TO GROUND
7. BRIDGE TO BURN

A page-turning murder mystery for fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci and Harlan Coben.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161328002
Publisher: Saxon Publishing
Publication date: 03/11/2018
Series: Detective Kay Hunter , #5
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 163,843
File size: 912 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Call to Arms (Kay Hunter, #5) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfectly paced - couldn't put it down but didn't want to miss a word. Suspenseful crime novel with an exceptional storyline. Compelling protagonist. Really enjoy all the regular characters and colleagues. Looking forward to more books in this series. --Books4Me
sciencexcharm More than 1 year ago
There is a reputation that you make with everything that you do. For police officers, the precedent is set really high to succeed and close cases. Does that mean that closing the case as quickly as possible is always the best solution? What if you get the wrong guy? What if you destroy someone’s life who may be innocent? Amphlett has a great story, and they just keep getting better as the series continues! An old case has been reopened because of the current suspension of DI Sharp, the caption of Kay’s unit. He was involved in the case pertaining to a man’s disappearance while still in the Military roughly around ten years ago. While he had suspicions about the case being ruled as an accidental suicide, the commanding officer Harrison closed the case faster than anyone could truly look into the events that occurred on that night. Now, knowing that Harrison is good at sweeping cases under the rug without all of the evidence, Detective Kay Hunter decides to give the case one more look. What she finds could save or break her captain’s career, especially if she doesn’t keep the reopened investigation a secret from the officers who could shut her down. Amphlett has a terrific fifth installment with her Detective Kay Hunter Mystery series, Call to Arms. The character development is absolutely wonderful, shedding light on some characters from previous installments. Since this review is complementing the audiobook, the narrator portrayed the characters beautifully and with the author’s vivid description, they both gave life to the story together. The pace is perfect, fast and steady, making it easy to follow. If you are a reader of murder mystery and crime fiction, you may enjoy this book. With this being the fifth installment in the Detective Kay Hunter series, readers can still read or listen to this book as a standalone, but there are hints and nods back to previous installments. An audiobook was provided to Turning Another Page by Audiobookworm Promotions and in no way affects the honesty of this review. We provide a five-star rating for Call to Arms by Rachel Amphlett.