Burns Rubber (Babymouse Series #12)

Burns Rubber (Babymouse Series #12)

by Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

Babymouse's big dreams of becoming a race car driver come true when she and her best pal, Wilson, enter the Race of the Century (or at least the school year). But will she and Wilson crash and burn? Or will they cruise to the Winners' Circle? Find out in Burns Rubber—the 12th hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375857133
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 01/12/2010
Series: Babymouse Series , #12
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 235,093
Product dimensions: 5.54(w) x 7.08(h) x 0.37(d)
Lexile: GN510L (what's this?)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

About the Author

Brother-sister team Matthew "Lightning" Holm and Jennifer "Watch out!" Holm are both excellent drivers (though Matt did fail his learner's permit test the first time). Today, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several highly acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor-winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Burns Rubber 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
YouthGPL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kearsten says: When Babymouse¿s best friend Winston tells her of an upcoming soap box derby, she¿s convinced it¿ll fulfill her dreams of race-car-driving fame¿but she can¿t build the car herself. Will Winston help her at the expense of his own derby dreams? Babymouse is a funny and charming character and she, plus the black, white and pink art makes this series very appealing to 2nd ¿ 5th girls.
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Babymouse¿s best friend Winston tells her of an upcoming soap box derby, she¿s convinced it¿ll fulfill her dreams of race-car-driving fame¿but she can¿t build the car herself. Will Winston help her at the expense of his own derby dreams? Babymouse is a funny and charming character and she, plus the black, white and pink art makes this series very appealing to 2nd ¿ 5th girls.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is a Cybils '10 nominee and as a panelist for Graphic Novels this is required reading for me.#12. Babymouse Burns Rubber. 96 pgs. Jan. 12, 2010 - Babymouse's friend can fix anything and she has always brought her broken stuff to him and he fixes it for her. While there she finds him working on his dream project, a soap box race car. This is the first year he has been old enough to enter and he encourages BM to enter too. Of course, she ends up bringing her problems to him and he ends up building the car for her to the detriment of his own car. Babymouse learns about abusing a friendship. Can't say this one really did anything for me at all. The imagination scenes are always the best in these books but aliens being killed by fractions, an "around the world in 80 days" take-off and the inevitable Star Wars scenario just didn't get any chuckles out of me. Of course the kids, and we're really talking girls here, who love the series are going to want to read this as much as any other.
marvelousleah on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This black-and-white-and-pink graphic novel is a fast and enjoyable read for kids 7 and up. With girly hearts and pink accents, this comic is a good counterpart to boy-centered comics like Calvin and Hobbes. Baby Mouse is a delightfully innocent and humorous character who has big dreams of being a race car driver. She accomplishes these dreams with some help from her friends who build her soapbox car and help her practice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago