British Mystery Multipacks Volume 7 - The Detectives: Father Brown, Lady Molly of Scotland Yard, The Old Man in the Corner, Raffles and Monsieur Flocon

British Mystery Multipacks Volume 7 - The Detectives: Father Brown, Lady Molly of Scotland Yard, The Old Man in the Corner, Raffles and Monsieur Flocon

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Fans of British Detective fiction are in for a treat with Volume 7 of British Mystery Multipacks – THE DETECTIVES. Sixteen classic mysteries from British authors E. W. Hornung, Arthur Griffiths, Baroness Orczy and G. K. Chesterton.


Original armchair detective THE OLD MAN appears in The Fenchurch Street Mystery, The Liverpool Mystery, The Edinburgh Mystery and The Dublin Mystery by Baroness Orczy.

FATHER BROWN stars in four cozy mysteries from G. K. Chesterton -- The Blue Cross, The Secret Garden, The Queer Feet and The Flying Stars.

French detective M. FLOÇON must figure out who was murdered on a train bound for Paris in the brilliant Agatha Christie-esque mind-bender The Rome Express by Arthur Griffiths.

Feminist crime-buster LADY MOLLY OF SCOTLAND YARD is featured in a trio of suspenseful Scottish crime capers by Baroness Orczy -- The Bag of Sand, A Christmas Tragedy and A Castle in Brittany.

Cricketer and amateur thief A. J. RAFFLES stars in The Ides of March, A Costume Piece, Gentlemen and Players and Le Premier Pas by E. W. Hornung.

Five classic characters in sixteen suspenseful tales. A must-read for fans of BRITISH MYSTERIES.

Includes image gallery.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940151073516
Publisher: Enhanced E-Books
Publication date: 10/21/2015
Series: British Mystery Multipack , #7
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 570,465
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Baroness Emmuska Orczy (1865-1947) was a British novelist, playwright and artist of Hungarian noble origin. She was most notable for her series of novels featuring the Scarlet Pimpernel.

Gilbert Keith Chesterton (1874-1936) better known as G. K. Chesterton, was an English writer, lay theologian, poet, philosopher, dramatist, journalist, orator, literary and art critic, biographer, and Christian apologist. Chesterton is often referred to as the "prince of paradox." Time magazine, in a review of a biography of Chesterton, observed of his writing style: "Whenever possible Chesterton made his points with popular sayings, proverbs, allegories—first carefully turning them inside out." Chesterton routinely referred to himself as an according to Time, said of him, "He was a man of colossal genius."

Ernest William Hornung (1866-1921) was an English author and poet known for writing the A. J. Raffles series of stories about a gentleman thief in late 19th-century London.

Arthur George Frederick Griffiths (1838 – 1908) was a prison administrator and author who published more than 60 books during his lifetime. He was also a military historian who wrote extensively about the wars of the 19th century, and was for a time military correspondent for The Times newspaper. His later accounts of crime and punishment in England were "sensational and grotesque", designed to appeal to the baser fascinations of his Victorian readers. Their success led him to write mystery crime novels such as Fast and Loose, published in 1885.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews