Brave New Pond (Squish Series #2)

Brave New Pond (Squish Series #2)

by Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Overview

Introducing Squish—a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse! Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady.

He's baa-ack! It's a brand new school year for everyone's favorite AMOEBA! Will Squish finally get to sit with the cool kids at lunch? Will Pod stop the giant asteroid from destroying the world? Will the LEECHES be the end of Super Amoeba? And what makes cafeteria nachos so delicious anyway? Find out the answers to these questions and more in Squish's second electrifying, fast-paced adventure, Squish #2: Brave New Pond—saving the world, one cell at a time!

Yowza! You can draw comics, too! Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters! Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home! Shazam!

Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba!

New York Times:
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:
* "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
 
The Bulletin:
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375843907
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 09/27/2011
Series: Squish Series , #2
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 154,815
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 6.90(h) x 0.50(d)
Lexile: GN470L (what's this?)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

About the Author

Brother-and-sister team MATTHEW "InkBoy" HOLM and JENNIFER "WriterGirl" HOLM are the dashing duo behind the award-winning Babymouse series. In addition to fighting the forces of evil, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Brave New Pond (Squish Series #2) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
shazzerwise on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not taking to Squish the same way I took to Babymouse, but it's still a quick, enjoyable read.
abbylibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Squish is back with an all-new adventure. It's the first day of school and Squish is determined to make a fresh start and be cool this year. But when that means being mean to his oldest friends, Squish must decide if it's worth it. We've come to expect realistic characters and heartfelt storylines from Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm and the team does not disappoint with the newest Squish title.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago