Blood Orange

Blood Orange

by Harriet Tyce

Hardcover

$24.30 $27.00 Save 10% Current price is $24.3, Original price is $27. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Overview

A young lawyer's outwardly perfect life spirals out of control as she takes on her first murder case in this "dark, original and utterly compelling" domestic noir for readers of Paula Hawkins, A.J. Finn, or Shari Lapena. (Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone)
Alison has it all. A doting husband, adorable daughter, and a career on the rise—she's just been given her first murder case to defend. But all is never as it seems...

Just one more night. Then I'll end it.
Alison drinks too much. She's neglecting her family. And she's having an affair with a colleague whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle.

I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up.

Alison's client doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband - she wants to plead guilty. And yet something about her story is deeply amiss. Saving this woman may be the first step to Alison saving herself.

I'm watching you. I know what you're doing.

But someone knows Alison's secrets. Someone who wants to make her pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything....

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538762738
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 02/19/2019
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 147,552
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

HARRIET TYCE grew up in Edinburgh. She studied English at Oxford University and Law at City University before working as a criminal barrister for nearly a decade. She lives in London. Blood Orange is her debut novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blood Orange 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Twink 11 months ago
Blood Orange is Harriet Tyce's debut novel. Alison has the life she wanted - successful barrister, loving husband, a beautiful little daughter. But what her friends and colleagues can't see is what goes on behind closed doors. There are cracks in her marriage - and Alison has had a hand in that. She's drinks too much. She works too much. And she's having an affair with her superior. A superior who has specific tastes. When she secures her first murder case, she see parallels to her own life and realizes she needs to turn things around. But, someone knows Alison's secrets and wants to make her pay.... Alison is most definitely an unlikable protagonist. I had a hard time buying her as a lawyer. She's a train wreck on so many fronts - but like an accident, it was hard not to look and wonder what was going to happen next. What happens next is a lot of degrading sex (all willingly accepted and often initiated by Alison). She continually makes bad decision after bad decision. I had a really hard time with her choices. Her husband is no better - his sniping and superior attitude makes him just as unlikable. And don't even get me started on the boss - absolutely despicable. The fact that I did have such visceral reactions to the main players does speak to Tyce's writing. So, while I found the characters unsettling, I kept reading as I wanted to see what the promised twists might be. And I must admit, I was surprised. I had been so focused on Alison that I missed a few clues along the way. (And had to go back to read the prologue again after turning the last page.) Kudos to Tyce for that last twist. Blood Orange was a very different read than what I had expected going in. It's well written, but I found Alison's debasing behavior so hard to read. So, gentle readers, this may not be one for you.
JHSEsq 12 months ago
Allison is a young lawyer who, by all outward appearances, is leading a happy life. But she drinks too much. She has landed her first murder trial, defending a woman accused of stabbing her husband to death when he was passed out drunk, but is having a tumultuous affair with Patrick, her supervising attorney. Her husband, Carl, a therapist who specializes in sex addiction, is at his wits' end and not mincing words about it. He increasingly expresses dismay about Allison's ability and desire to parent their six-year-old daughter, Mathilda. Harriet Tyce's debut psychological thriller is a character study populated with intriguing, darkly disturbed characters and surprising twists. At the heart of the story is Allison, who has lost confidence in herself and her ability to manage her life. Although she and Carl were happy once, they have grown increasingly distant over the course of the past two years, and that distance propelled Allison into an affair with the attractive but dangerous Patrick. Both Carl and Patrick are abusive in their own right. Carl constantly criticizes Allison for her shortcomings as a wife and mother, complaining about the hours she works even though she is the primary breadwinner and Carl works only part time. Patrick manipulates Allison for his own satisfaction, insulting and ignoring her with the knowledge that when he wants to have rough sex with her she will make herself available because she is lonely and seeking comfort. Allison is determined to get her drinking under control and dismayed when she is seemingly unable to do so, even though she feels confident that she has not consumed alcohol to the point of blacking out. And as all of these various complications exist in her life, Allison is tasked with defending a woman who claims that her dead husband was horrifically abusive him to her, as well as their 14-year-old son. Tyce keepers readers in suspense, relating the events that happen in Allison's life at a steady pace until one day the unthinkable happens. Mathilda is in danger and Carl blames Allison. From that point, the action speeds up considerably and, as Allison's live begins fully unraveling, Tyce reveals what has actually been transpiring. The result is an intricately plotted, deftly executed story about a woman whose life seems to be out of control as a result of her own actions when, in reality, there is much more to the story. And machinations by those around her, some of which are quite sordid and shocking. Ultimately, Blood Orange is a reminder that it is never possible to fully know another human being, particularly in the 21st century when technology makes keeping secrets a dicey proposition. It is an exploration of the kind of treatment of women and behavior by men that woman all-too-often accept as normal, blaming themselves for not being nurturing enough, chastising themselves for finding it challenging to successfully balance home and family, and internalizing problems rather than recognizing that the responsibility for child-rearing and maintaining a relationship should be mutual. It is a story about how one woman, depressed and lacking self-esteem, allows herself to be manipulated and abused. It is also a story about surviving abuse, deception, and betrayal, and becoming empowered. Blood Orange is a disturbing, insightful, and compelling story. and an impressive debut novel. Thanks to NetGalley for an Advance Reader's Copy of the book.
Anonymous 8 months ago
The+subplot++was+predictable+%2C++but+the++main++plot++had+lots++of++twists+and++turns+.++The+3+main+characters++are+flawed++and+unlikable+.+The+novel++is++dark+%2C++filled+with++alcohol++abuse+%2C+murder+%2C+child+neglect+%2C+deviant+sex%2C+violence+%2C+and++over+use++of+4+letter+words.