Benjamin Britten

Benjamin Britten

by Michael Oliver


$14.95 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


Benjamin Britten (1913-76) changed the course of English music with highly original works such as his opera Peter Grimes. While his music is performed more widely than those of any other English composer, his international success did not prevent him from continuing to draw inspiration from his native land. In this engaging biography, the author creates a portrait of a great artist, exploring his wide-ranging compositions in detail and discussing the many contradictions that pervaded Britten's fascinating life and career.

Benjamin Britten is part of Phaidon's successful 20th Century Composers series, which presents authoritative and engaging biographies of the great creative musicians of our time, augmented by striking visual material and essential reference information. This edition of the book features a whimsical new cover by Jean-Jacques Sempé, the world-renowned illustrator and cartoonist.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780714847719
Publisher: Phaidon Press
Publication date: 04/21/2007
Series: 20th Century Composers Ser.
Pages: 240
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 8.66(h) x 0.63(d)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

Michael Oliver was a well-known writer and broadcaster, having written and compiled hundreds of documentaries and programs about music for BBC Radio 3. He was a regular contributor to Gramaphone, among other magazines, for over twenty years until his death in 2002.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews