Appleblossom the Possum

Appleblossom the Possum

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged)

$19.08 $27.00 Save 29% Current price is $19.08, Original price is $27. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 29

Overview

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s

Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it’s time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out!

With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101892350
Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/11/2015
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 631,584
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 5.90(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Holly Goldberg Sloan was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan and spent her childhood living in Holland, Istanbul, Turkey, Washington DC, Berkeley, California and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in America. Counting by 7s, her first middle-grade novel, was a New York Times Bestseller. The mother of two sons, Holly lives with her husband, who is the illustrator of this book, in Santa Monica, California.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter 2
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Appleblossom the Possum"
by .
Copyright © 2015 Holly Goldberg Sloan.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise and Accolades for Counting by 7s:

• “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”—Booklist (starred review) 

• “What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.”—The Horn Book (starred review) 

• “Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.”—School Library Journal (starred review) 

• "A deeply original tale . . . Readers will rejoice." —BCCB (starred review)

New York Times Bestseller
E.B. White Read Aloud Award Honor
ALA Notable Book
YALSA Best Book for Young Adults
Booklist Best Fiction for Young Adults
Booklist Notable Children's Book
BCCB Blue Ribbon Book
School Library Journal Best Books of 2013
Horn Book Fanfare Title 
NYPL 100 Books for Reading and Sharing
Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People
Teachers' Choices Reading List
Notable Children's Book in Language Arts

 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Appleblossom the Possum 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have fallen in love with Appleblossom the Possum ??. I’ll be reading this book again for sure. Guys read this books you will love it ??! I highly recommend this book for every age. I’m 53 and find it charming and delightful ??.