Antonio Carlos Jobim's Finest Hour

Antonio Carlos Jobim's Finest Hour

by Antonio Carlos Jobim


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


No artist is more associated with bossa nova than Antonio Carlos Jobim. A superb composer, Jobim wrote many of the most significant anthems of the Brazilian musical genre, including "The Girl From Ipanema," "How Insensitive," "Corcovado," "Wave," "Desafinado," and "One Note Samba." Although others have brought his music prominence - Stan Getz, Astrud Gilberto, and Joao Gilberto among them -- Jobim also recorded albums under his own name. This collection finds the composer singing and playing guitar and piano in front of various ensembles stocked with first-rate jazz players and Brazilian musicians. With charm and unpretentious flair, Jobim essays some of his best work, including all the aforementioned material, and gems like "Aguas de Marco" ("The Waters of March"), "Mediation," and "Remember." Three tracks are culled from the classic Getz/Gilberto album, and the great Brazilian singer Elis Regina appears on two selections as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/27/2000
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0606949066925
catalogNumber: 490669
Rank: 55369

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Antonio Carlos Jobim   Primary Artist,Piano,Celeste,Harpsichord
Ron Carter   Bass
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Astrud Gilberto   Vocals
João Gilberto   Guitar,Vocals
Urbie Green   Trombone
Hubert Laws   Flute
Jerome Richardson   Flute
Marvin Stamm   Trumpet
Leo Wright   Flute
Deodato   Piano,Strings,Conductor
Elis Regina   Vocals
George Duvivier   Bass
Airto Moreira   Percussion
Ray Alonge   French Horn
Milton Banana   Drums
Paulinho Braga   Drums
Garnett Brown   Trombone
Oscar Castro-Neves   Acoustic Guitar
Danilo Caymmi   Flute,Vocals
Burt Collins   Trumpet
Helio Delmiro   Acoustic Guitar
George Devens   Percussion
Joe Farrell   Flute
Harry Lookofsky   Concert Master
Luizão Maia   Bass
Jaques Morelenbaum   Cello
Romeo Penque   Flute
Bobby Rosengarden   Percussion,Drums
Joseph Singer   French Horn
Maucha Adnet   Vocals
Claudio Slon   Percussion,Drums
César Camargo Mariano   Piano
Tião Neto   Bass
Simone Caymmi   Vocals
Elizabeth Jobim   Vocals
Paula Morelenbaum   Vocals

Technical Credits

Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Deodato   Arranger
Aloysio de Oliveira   Producer
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Paulo Jobim   Producer
Peter Keepnews   Notes Editing
Jaques Morelenbaum   Producer
Creed Taylor   Producer
Tom Greenwood   Producer,Research Coordination
Newton Mendonça   Composer
Carlos Kase   Producer,Research Coordination
Bryan Koniarz   Producer
Linda Dahl   Sequencers
John Wriggle   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews