by John Lennon



During the great John Lennon revival of the late '80s, Yoko Ono licensed to have the Westwood One Radio Network air scores of unreleased home recordings and demos as the Lost Lennon Tapes radio show. At the time, there was endless speculation about when highlights would be released, likely as a box set. The proposed set never materialized, yet most of the material was heavily bootlegged, as the producers and Ono must have suspected. Despite the bootlegs, Ono didn't agree to an official collection of unreleased Lennon material until 1998, after the Beatles' Anthology series proved a critical and commercial success. Hence, the birth of Lennon's Anthology -- a four-disc box set, comprised entirely of unreleased home recordings, demos, and outtakes, many of which have never been previously bootlegged. As it's constructed, it's more of an aural biography than a music album. All the dialogue snippets, half-finished songs, throwaways, and parodies ensure that it's never casual listening, yet that very approach creates an intriguing portrait of Lennon -- a portrait of the man, not the artist. As such, there aren't really any forgotten treasures buried on the collection, even if many of these songs and takes are either completely unheard of or legendary among collecting circles. For every small pleasure, such as the Cheap Trick-backed version of "I'm Losing You," there is a small disappointment, such as how the Dylan diatribe, "Serve Yourself," doesn't quite live up to its legend. Ultimately, it doesn't matter if there are no major works or revelations, just a few good alternate tracks, because Anthology goes a long way toward capturing Lennon with all of his strengths and weaknesses.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/1998
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724383061426
catalogNumber: 30614


Disc 1

  1. Working Class Hero
  2. God
  3. I Found Out
  4. Hold On
  5. Isolation
  6. Love
  7. Mother
  8. Remember
  9. Imagine
  10. Fortunately
  11. Baby Please Don't Go
  12. Oh My Love
  13. Jealous Guy
  14. Maggie Mae
  15. How Do You Sleep?
  16. God Save Oz
  17. Do The Oz
  18. I Don't Wanna Be a Soldier
  19. Give Peace A Chance
  20. Look At Me
  21. Long Lost John

Disc 2

  1. New York City
  2. Attica State
  3. Imagine
  4. Bring On The Lucie (Freda Peeple)
  5. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World
  6. Geraldo Rivera
  7. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World
  8. It's So Hard
  9. Come Together
  10. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
  11. The Luck of the Irish
  12. John Sinclair
  13. The David Frost Show
  14. Mind Games
  15. Mind Games
  16. One Day (At a Time)
  17. I Know (I Know)
  18. I'm The Greatest
  19. (It's All da-Da-Down to) Goodnight Vienna
  20. Jerry Lewis Telethon
  21. A Kiss Is Just a Kiss (As Time Goes By)
  22. Real Love
  23. You Are Here

Disc 3

  1. What You Got
  2. Nobody Loves You (When You're Down and Out)
  3. Whatever Gets You Thru the Night
  4. Whatever Gets You Thru the Night
  5. Yesterday
  6. Be-Bop-A-Lula
  7. Rip It Up/Ready Teddy
  8. Scared
  9. Steel And Glass
  10. Surprise, Surprise (Sweet Bird of Paradox)
  11. Bless You
  12. Going Down On Love
  13. Move Over Ms. L.
  14. Ain't She Sweet
  15. Slippin' and Slidin'
  16. Peggy Sue
  17. Bring It On Home To Me/Send Me Some Lovin'
  18. Phil and John, Pt. 1
  19. Phil and John, Pt. 2
  20. Phil and John, Pt. 3
  21. When In Doubt, Fuck It
  22. Be My Baby
  23. Stranger's Room
  24. Old Dirt Road

Disc 4

  1. I'm Losing You
  2. Sean's Little Help
  3. Serve Yourself
  4. My Life
  5. Nobody Told Me
  6. Life Begins At 40
  7. I Don't Wanna Face It
  8. Woman
  9. Dear Yoko
  10. Watching The Wheels
  11. I'm Stepping Out
  12. Borrowed Time
  13. The Rishi Kesh Song
  14. Sean's Loud
  15. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
  16. Mr. Hyde's Gone (Don't Be Afraid)
  17. Only You
  18. Grow Old With Me
  19. Dear John
  20. The Great Wok
  21. Mucho Mungo
  22. Satire, Pt. 1
  23. Satire, Pt. 2
  24. Satire, Pt. 3
  25. Sean's In The Sky
  26. It's Real

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Lennon   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals
George Harrison   Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Harry Nilsson   Background Vocals
Billy Preston   Electric Piano
Earl Slick   Electric Guitar
Ringo Starr   Drums
Jesse Ed Davis   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Nicky Hopkins   Piano,Electric Piano
Yoko Ono   Percussion,Electric Piano,Vocals
Alan White   Drums
Jim Keltner   Percussion,Drums
Jim Gordon   Drums
Kenny Ascher   Keyboards,Clavinet
John Barham   Harmonium
Stan Bronstein   Saxophone
Bun E. Carlos   Drums
Gordon Edwards   Bass
Rick Frank   Drums
Wayne "Tex" Gabriel   Guitar
Adam Ippolito   Keyboards
Arthur Jenkins   Percussion
Bobby Keys   Saxophone
Tony Levin   Bass
Hugh McCracken   Electric Guitar
Eddie Mottau   Acoustic Guitar
Andy Newmark   Drums
Rick Nielsen   Guitar
George Small   Electric Piano
David Spinozza   Electric Guitar
Gary VanScyoc   Bass
Klaus Voormann   Bass
John Ward   Bass
Lon Van Eaton   Guitar
Tom Petersson   Bass
Plastic Ono Band   Band,Track Performer
Harlem Community Choir   Track Performer
Dwarf McDougal   Acoustic Guitar

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes,Artwork
Paul McCartney   Composer
Yoko Ono   Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer,Art Direction
George Martin   Producer
Buck Ram   Composer
Phil Spector   Composer,Producer
Peter Cobbin   Engineer
Jack Douglas   Producer
Steve Orchard   Engineer
Richard Perry   Producer
Rob Stevens   Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes
Anthony DeCurtis   Liner Notes
Roger Gorman   Art Direction
Andy Strange   Engineer
Mike Rew   Engineer
Robert "Bumps" Blackwell   Composer
John Marascalco   Composer
Plastic Ono Band   Engineer
Ande Rand   Composer
Herman Hupfeld   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Anthology 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This set outlook how Lennon was intansce in session work. There are very meanningful song in that package that are acoustics prior the final outtakes that we know on Lennon' albums. The song here are very «heartbeat stature». You must heard these. A buy you would not regret.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yoko kept too much chatter in, I was able to edit a full CD of chatter out of this CD box to make 3 CDs of great music.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like the Beatles' Anthologies CDs, the John Lennon Anthology lets us listeners peer behind the scenes of Lennon at work, and there is much to enjoy on the 4-CD box. In particular, the 'works in progress' from the 'Plastic Ono Band', 'Imagine' and 'Double Fantasy' albums rival the finished products (the way the 'Menlove Avenue' tracks of 'Walls and Bridges' demos did). For the in-the-works versions of "Jealous Guy", "I'm Losing You", "Beautiful Boy" and "Imagine" should a John Lennon fan buy the box, plus many more. Hearing many of my favorite John Lennon songs without the benefit of gloss, production and extra instrumentation is a nice treat - sometimes more enjoyable after all the dressings were put on the vocal and guitar (for a similar effect, hear Bob Dylan's 'Bootleg Series Vol 1 -3' box set).
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful collection for anyone who enjoys ''Anthology'' albums and, especially, for Lennon and Beatle fans. First, home recordings, alternative takes, outtakes, studio banter - drunk and sober - and many hints of what might have come after 1980. Some items might not demand more than one listen but MANY will. Lennon & Cheap Trick rock!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
the lennon´s antology is a excelent record, the best of the year