Animal Ambition: An Untamed Desire to Win

Animal Ambition: An Untamed Desire to Win

by 50 Cent


$10.32 $11.99 Save 14% Current price is $10.32, Original price is $11.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


With his mentors/friends off selling companies to Apple for billions of dollars, or re-entering the mainstream game with an album dispatched from 8 Mile, rapper/mogul 50 Cent decided to distance himself from the business world of Iovine, Eminem, and Dr. Dre, leaving the Interscope, Shady, and Aftermath label family after 12 fruitful years. Not only that, but he took his unreleased Street King Immortal album with him. Know that 2014's Animal Ambition isn't that album but instead, a collection of new cuts meant to clean the creative pipes as 50 gets back to retooling his unreleased, high-profile effort. That might help explain why the hypnotic "Hold On" opens this one not with a kick, but with a quirk, as it's the kind of stoned immaculate that doesn't cause one to shudder. It's quite good though, as is the title track with its strange light funk; then there's the broken beat, bone-chilling lyrics ("We by the schoolyard, waitin' for you to get your kid"), and guest appearances from Jadakiss and Kidd Kidd that make "Irregular Heartbeat" a great candidate for any mix titled "Ski Mask Way." Giving the album some radio-worthy relief, the "Smoke" is a Euro-disco and dro influenced redo of "In Da Club" with guest star Trey Songz appearing on the album's lone Dr. Dre production, and after a lazy hook, a woozy chorus, and a profanity-laced and vicious verse, the cut "Hustler" recalls the high-quality, street-worthy tracks that would land on old G-Unit Radio mixtapes, but therein lies the problem. Like those mixtapes, Animal Ambition lets the tracks run out with long, slow fades and introduces the concept of "track list ambiguity" with a running order that's just as good shuffled. The whole package comes off as 50's first "street release," one where mixtape cuts are bundled with Trey Songz-featuring singles (and in the grand G-Unit style of overdoing everything, there's a Deluxe version made available for the superfan). Consider it the album before the album, and it plays out as interesting and often awesome, but put this next to his major works and it seems a bit off and quirky. [Animal Ambition was also released in a clean version.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2014
Label: G-Unit Records
UPC: 0864904000012
catalogNumber: 4000012
Rank: 123920

Album Credits

Performance Credits

50 Cent   Primary Artist
Travis Ferguson   Keyboards
Twanée   Background Vocals
Jameson Jones   Bass

Technical Credits

Dr. Dre   Producer
B. Strong   Composer
R. Facchinetti   Composer
Nancie Stern   Sample Clearance
Swiff   Producer
Jake One   Producer
Steve "Swift" Thornton   Composer
Ky Miller   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Dawaun Parker   Producer
Jesus "Poobs" Fernandez   Engineer
Tremaine Neverson   Composer
D. Parker   Composer
D. Styles   Composer
J. Dutton   Composer
C. Jackson   Composer
J. Ortiz   Composer
T. Fyffe   Composer
Frank Dukes   Producer
Ty Fyffe   Producer
G Rocka   Producer
Alberto Erazo   Art Direction
Charli Brown   Producer
Kyle Justice   Producer
C. Barrionoevo   Composer
C. Mayfield   Composer
Steve Alien   Producer
Shamtrax   Producer
Medi   Producer
Just Hustle   Producer
Joe the Engine Ear   Engineer
Jayson Robbins   Engineer
Jayden Wiggins   Talent Coordinator
Dennis P. Stehr   Engineer
Albert Johnson   Composer
Curtis Stewart   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews