Pub. Date:
Cengage Learning
The American Paradox: A History of the United States Since 1945 / Edition 3

The American Paradox: A History of the United States Since 1945 / Edition 3

by Steven M. Gillon
Current price is , Original price is $150.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This item is available online through Marketplace sellers.


THE AMERICAN PARADOX emphasizes political participation and popular culture in recent American history. This reader's main theme is the relationship of Americans to their government, for example, how Americans as a people remain skeptical of big government even as they expect it to facilitate large programs such as Social Security. In addition to the author's vivid, accessible writing style, the Third Edition maintains its focus on the tension between popular culture and social realities, the dynamics of minority groups and their place in American society, and the ambivalent feelings of many Americans concerning the U.S.'s role in the world during the postwar period.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781133309857
Publisher: Cengage Learning
Publication date: 01/01/2012
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 464
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Steve Gillon received his Ph.D. from Brown University. He has taught American cultural and political history at Brown, Yale, and Oxford. While a Professor at Yale, he was awarded the DeVane medal, a teaching award conferred each year by graduating seniors. He currently serves as Dean of the Honors College at the University of Oklahoma, and is Resident Historian at the History Channel. Dr. Gillon's books include THE DEMOCRAT'S DILEMMA: WALTER F. MONDALE AND THE LIBERAL LEGACY and "THAT'S NOT WHAT WE MEANT TO DO": REFORM AND ITS UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES IN TWENTIETH-CENTURY AMERICA. His most recent book is THE PACT: BILL CLINTON, NEWT GINGRICH, AND THE RIVALRY THAT DEFINED A GENERATION.

Table of Contents

Introduction: The American Paradox. 1. The Specter of Appeasement: The Cold War, 1945-1949. 2. In the Shadow of FDR. 3. The Cold War Heats Up. 4. The Consumer Society, 1945-1960. 5. The Politics of Moderation, 1951-1960. 6. American Ideals and Social Realities, 1952-1960. 7. The Kennedy Presidency, 1961-1963. 8. Lyndon Johnson, the Great Society, and the Unraveling of America, 1963-1967. 9. "Into the Big Muddy": America in Vietnam, 1945-1968. 10. Richard Nixon and the New Republican Majority, 1969-1974. 11. The Clash of Cultures, 1969-1980. 12. The Age of Limits, 1974-1980. 13. The Reagan Presidency, 1981-1989. 14. Culture and Consumerism: 1980-1992. 15. The End of the Cold War, 1988-1992. 16. The Clinton Presidency, 1993-2001. 17. The Prosperous Nineties. 18. The Challenges of the New Century, 2001-2011.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews