African Rainbow: Across Africa by Boat

African Rainbow: Across Africa by Boat

by Lorenzo Ricciardi, Mirella Ricciardi

Hardcover

$40.00

Overview

This enthralling account of the African Rainbow Equatorial Expedition, which achieved the first known crossing of Africa by boat, navigating a hazardous and often uncharted course through the waterways which lie between the Indian and Atlantic Oceans.

Led by Lorenzo Ricciardi, famous explorer, journalist, film-maker and author, and his wife Mirella, the acclaimed photographer, this was an historic journey of exploration and adventure, very much in the tradition of Stanley and Livingstone. The expedition traveled the 6,000 kilometers from the Rufiji River delta in Tanzania, through the unexplored Kilombero Valley, and finally reaching the mouth of the Zaire River on the Atlantic coast twenty months later.

At once an excitingly written travel story, a stunning collection of photographs, a fascinating insight into the lives of a unique couple, a vivid portrayal of Africa today, her people and places and much more.African Rainbow is personal and powerful portrait of a continent-the Africa book of the decade.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780688089597
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/01/1989
Pages: 335

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews