The adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel

The adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel

by Baroness Emma Orczy


View All Available Formats & Editions


The Adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel are stories written by Baroness Orczy about the gallant English hero, the Scarlet Pimpernel and his League. The stories, were set in 1793 but appear in no particular order. They occasionally refer to events in other books in the series and Orczy frequently reuses plot lines and ideas from the longer Pimpernel novels.
Baroness Emma Magdolna Rozália Mária Jozefa Borbála "Emmuska" Orczy de Orczi (1865 - 1947) was a Hungarian-born British novelist, playwright and artist of noble origin. She is most known for her series of novels featuring the Scarlet Pimpernel. Some of her paintings were exhibited at the Royal Academy in London.
In this book:
The Scarlet Pimpernel
El Dorado
The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel
The Laughing Cavalier, The Story of the Ancestor of the Scarlet Pimpernel
Lord Tony's Wife, An Adventure of the Scarlet Pimpernel
The Triumph of the Scarlet Pimpernel

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781500535865
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/16/2014
Pages: 620
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 11.00(h) x 1.25(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Unreachableshelf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure that the short story format suits Orczy well. In far too many of these stories, she seems to go straight for old, familiar plans on the parts of both Percy and (when he appears) Chauvelin, and due to their being short stories, she wraps them up quickly without adding significant new twists.