An Advancement of Learning (Dalziel and Pascoe Series #2)

An Advancement of Learning (Dalziel and Pascoe Series #2)

by Reginald Hill

Hardcover(Large Print)

$29.99 View All Available Formats & Editions


The second book in the Dalziel and Pascoe series sends the two mismatched Yorkshire policemen among university students-a group for which Andy Dalziel has no great love. In fact, when he hears a dead body has been found on the grounds of Holm Coultram College, he thinks of it as a rather good start. This is 1971, and the police force does not enjoy the warmest of relations with the Ivory Tower. Nevertheless, Dalziel takes himself to college, where the single corpse is followed by another and then another, until even Dalziel is forced to admit that someone is going after the academic community with rather excessive zeal. As the investigation grows more complex, help arrives from some unexpected corners, Dalziel's callow young sergeant proves surprisingly insightful, and everyone involved gets some useful education. About the Author Reginald Hill has written more than 50 novels, including the Dalziel and Pascoe series and 24 stand-alones. Three of the stand-alones - Who Guards a Prince, Death of a Dormouse and The Spy's Wife - are available from Felony & Mayhem. Hill's many awards include the prestigious Cartier Diamond Dagger award for Lifetime Achievement in Crime Fiction, as well as an Edgar award and a Golden Dagger award for Best Crime Novel of the Year. Dalziel and Pascoe has been made into an enormously popular TV series, broadcast in both the U.S. and the UK.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780708990179
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books, Ltd.
Publication date: 04/01/2000
Series: Dalziel and Pascoe Series , #2
Edition description: Large Print
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 9.00(w) x 6.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

Reginald Hill (1936-2012) was an English crime writer best known for his Dalziel and Pascoe series. He began the series in 1970 with the book A Clubbable Woman; he would go on to write two dozen books in the series, which would later be adapted by the BBC. In 1995 he was awarded the Crime Writers' Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for Lifetime Achievement. The last book he published before his death was 2010's The Woodcutter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

An Advancement of Learning (Dalziel and Pascoe Series #2) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
annbury on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Clever, amusing Brit policier, with many a sideswipe at academe. My first in the Dalziel/Pascoe series, and I look forward to reading the rest.
jonesli on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my first in this series , but it is actually the second book, with A Clubbable Woman being the first.I found the witty repartee between Dalziel and Pascoe to be quite entertaining. A dead body is found on the grounds of Holm Coltram College. After finding two more bodies within the academic confines, solving the case becomes more and more complex. Are all the murders connected to each other in some way?Filled with secrets, debauchery, and Dalziel's bad attitude, this book was a delight to read and I look forward to continuing with the series.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good continuation of this great series.