Adaptation [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Adaptation [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Carter Burwell



Spike Jonze's Adaptation, starring Nicolas Cage and Meryl Streep, is based on Susan Orlean's 1999 bestseller The Orchid Thief, which tells the tale of the rare ghost orchid and the cryptic gentleman who attempts to poach it from a federally protected Florida swamp. Screenwriter Charlie Kaufman's Möbius strip–like treatment is more a meditation on passion and the creative process than a film translation of Orlean's book. Reflecting Adaptation's shifting narrative is Carter Burwell's lush, noirish rock- and jazz-infused score. Noted for his work with the Coen brothers (on Raising Arizona, Barton Fink, and Fargo) as well as Jonze (on Being John Malkovich), Burwell hints at his own arty, downtown New York origins in the score's masterful mix of spectral synths, urbane drum loops, and classical instrumentation. Befitting the mysterious, slightly sinister flower at the story's heart, a warm air of the exotic echoes throughout these gorgeous pieces. The disc also features the Turtles' 1967 classic "Happy Together" and an exclusive Fatboy Slim remix of Burwell's Adaptation theme. With Burwell's Adaptation, one of the year's most talked about films gets an equally arresting musical complement.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/2002
Label: Astralwerks
UPC: 0724354348426
catalogNumber: 43484

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Carter Burwell   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Conductor,Sampling
Turtles   Ensemble
Bill Mays   Piano,Celeste
John Patitucci   Electric Bass
David Torn   Guitar
Gordon Gottlieb   Percussion
Myung Hi Kim   Violin
Yurika Mok   Violin
Sandra Park   Violin
Shelley Woodworth   English Horn
Rebecca Young   Viola
Elizabeth Lim   Violin
Melissa Kleinbart   Violin
Erik Charleston   Percussion
Ann Kim   Violin
Eileen Moon   Cello
Sharon Yamada   Violin
Robert Rinehart   Viola
Lisa Kim   Violin
Vivek Kamath   Viola
Jeremy McCoy   Bass
Jung Sun Yoo   Violin
Sarah Kim   Violin
Tom Rosenfeld   Viola
Judith McIntyre   Cello
Alan Stepansky   Cello
Stacey Shames   Harp

Technical Credits

Carter Burwell   Producer,Liner Notes,Orchestration,Essay
Fatboy Slim   Remixing
Spike Jonze   Executive Producer,Soundtrack Executive Producer
Errol Kolosine   Producer
Jason Stasium   Engineer
Ryan Smith   Engineer
Vincent Landay   Producer
Dean Parker   Composer's Assistant
Charlie Kaufman   Author
Jorge Zeno   Remixing
Andy Jenkins   Graphic Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews