A Guide of Liberty Seated Silver Coins

A Guide of Liberty Seated Silver Coins

by Q. David Bowers


$27.77 $29.95 Save 7% Current price is $27.77, Original price is $29.95. You Save 7%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23


Immerse yourself in the full expanse of the U.S. Mint’s historic Liberty Seated coinage—half dimes, dimes, twenty-cent pieces, quarters, half dollars, Gobrecht dollars, silver dollars, and trade dollars. These classic silver coins, featuring the Goddess of Liberty seated with a cap and pole, were minted from 1836 until 1891. Minted in Philadelphia, New Orleans, Carson City, and San Francisco, they fueled American commerce from the Hard Times Era through the nation’s gold and silver rushes, the Civil War and its aftermath, finally retiring during America’s Gilded Age.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780794843830
Publisher: Whitman Publishing
Publication date: 05/24/2016
Pages: 640
Sales rank: 466,558
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

“Dean of American Numismatics” Q. David Bowers presents hobbyists with everything they need to know about collecting Liberty Seated coins: a date-by-date catalog of more than 750 coins, mintages, grading standards, auction records, keys to building a high-quality collection, and more. With trademark wit and experience Bowers describes the rich historical background of these coins and their era. More than 1,500 full-color images and a wealth of knowledge that cannot be matched in any other single source make this the leading reference on Liberty Seated coinage.

Table of Contents

Foreword Leonard D. Augsburger iv

Introduction vi

How to Use This Book x

Chapter 1 The Liberty Seated Series 1

Chapter 2 Collecting Liberty Seated Corns 26

Chapter 3 The American Scene 1836-1891 41

Chapter 4 Liberty Seated Half Dimes (1837-1873) 76

Chapter 5 Liberty Seated Dimes (1837-1891) 132

Chapter 6 Liberty Seated Twenty-Cent Pieces (1875-1878) 221

Chapter 7 Liberty Seated Quarters (1838-1891) 239

Chapter 8 Liberty Seated Half Dollars (1839-1891) 317

Chapter 9 Gobrecht and Liberty Seated Dollars (1836-1873) 410

Chapter 10 Trade Dollars (1873-1885) 471

Epilogue Dennis Tucker 515

Appendix I Christian Gobrecht: A Chronology 517

Appendix II Mints for the Liberty Seated Coinage 523

Appendix III Mint Directors and Superintendents-Liberty Seated Coinage Era 529

Appendix IV A Visit to the Mint in 1861 532

Appendix V Die Making in 1855 548

Appendix VI Master Dies and Hubs by John Dannreuther 552

Appendix VII Alternative U.S. Currency 554

Appendix VIII Die and Hub Trials and Splashers 560

Notes 562

Selected Bibliography 585

Acknowledgments 592

About the Author 594

Index 595

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews