5,000 Miles

5,000 Miles

by The Nils Landgren Funk Unit


$18.04 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.04, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17


On 5,000 Miles, trombonist Nils Landgren and his "Funk Unit" explore a variety of different types of funk. The opening "Da Funk" is a throwaway with some rap, vocals, and brief trumpet blasts by Roy Hargrove. Rap is also utilized a little on "Stop By," but otherwise this is an instrumental set. Trumpeter Tim Hagans is fine during his two guest appearances, Hargrove has a spot on "Sisters of Arequipa," and trombonist Fred Wesley takes an excellent solo on "Six Beauties on a Rooftop" (as does altoist Per Rusktrask Johansson). The music ranges from early fusion and an atmospheric funk ballad ("5,000 Miles") to some late-'60s-type funk jazz and some rockish vamps. Not everything works equally well (some grooves last a minute too long), but in general this set holds one's interest, and dancers will have nothing to complain about!

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2004
Label: Act Music + Vision
UPC: 0614427927125
catalogNumber: 9271
Rank: 108994

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nils Landgren Funk Unit   Primary Artist
Roy Hargrove   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Guest Appearance
Tim Hagans   Trumpet,Guest Appearance
Don Alias   Percussion,Guest Appearance
Till Brönner   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Guest Appearance
Henrik Janson   Guitar,Guest Appearance
Nils Landgren   Trombone,Vocals,Group Member
Jane Robertson   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Ake Sundqvist   Percussion,Guest Appearance
Fred Wesley   Trombone,Soloist,Guest Appearance
Esbjörn Svensson   Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes,oberheim,Piano (Grand),Oberheim Obxa,Group Member
Siegfried Lock   Vocals
Magnus Öström   Percussion,Guest Appearance
Magnum Coltrane Price   Bass,Electric Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Daniel Berglund   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Viktoria Tolstoy   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Robert Östlund   Guitar,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Group Member
Dan Berglund   Acoustic Bass,Guest Appearance
Johan Norberg   Sitar,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Björk   Composer,Lyricist
Peter Horn   Cover Design
Nils Landgren   Composer,Lyricist,Producer
Rahsaan Patterson   Composer
Esbjörn Svensson   Composer,Lyricist
Janne Ugand   Engineer
Petra Horn   Cover Design
Siegfried Lock   Producer
Magnum Coltrane Price   Composer,Lyricist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews