Worst Case (Michael Bennett Series #3)

Worst Case (Michael Bennett Series #3)

by James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge

Paperback

$15.58 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.58, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Worst Case (Michael Bennett Series #3) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 798 reviews.
gl More than 1 year ago
Michael Bennett, the lead detective from James Patterson's recent Run For Your Life, is back in this equally fast-paced and absorbing thriller. In Worst Case, Michael Bennett faces another serial killer with a "larger message." While Bennett's last opponent, The Teacher, had sought to punish the rudeness of wealthy New Yorkers, this new killer targets the children of wealthy with a hidden message. As this new criminal holds New York City hostage, Michael Bennett works closely with a beautiful FBI counterpart and Abduction Specialist, Agent Emily Parker. NYC's large resources are at their disposal, but absent demands from the kidnapper/killer, can Bennett and Parker find a way to save innocent, young lives? Worst Case brings back James Patterson's latest detective Michael Bennett and it doesn't disappoint. Michael Bennett is as witty, good humored and sharp as ever. The interaction between Bennett and Agent Emily Parker works well; they're effective partners with some underlying romantic tension. In Worst Case, Patterson delivers another satisfying, action-packed thriller. I look forward to the next installment in the Michael Bennett series. ISBN-10: 0316036226 Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (February 1, 2010), 368 pages. Review copy provided by the publisher.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Price wasn't the only reason I bought the NOOK; however, it was one of them. I liked the idea of getting new books immediately less expensively than buying them. At this price, I could easily go Sam's and buy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been pulled into the world of Mike Bennett because I like the character; however, I am still waiting for his world to become something greater. Now on the third book, portions of the story, whether the foreground or the background, it does not matter, still seem too contrived. The effort has not been put into making this series one which will be long-remembered once it is out of print. For the price of a hardback, I must say that I was very disappointed to see so few words placed on the pages and to realize that Mike is truly at the mercy of money-makers instead of authors. I challenge the writers to do something more for Mike Bennett and for the readership. Prove this critic wrong.
retiredenglishteacher More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Patterson's murder stories. Some better than others, but they are always a quick read. I can never put them down, cannot wait for the conclusion. This one in particular was one of his better ones.
GR8T2L8 More than 1 year ago
Fast and easy read with nice action flow to the predictable ending. I bought it (too expensive) because I wanted to test-read something easy on my home desktop PC screen. It was better than expected. Over my budget this month already so my next purchase will have to wait. I'll try one of the freebie books this week. Cannot afford a Nook; that's the cost of a year's worth of books.
PennyroyalSP More than 1 year ago
I am a partial Patterson fan, I say partial because I like most of his books including the partnerships, with the exception of the Ladies Detective Series but I stray from the topic at hand. His new character Bennett, is an engaging and complex one, makes the audio book a fun listen. The audio-reader brings a unique life to the written word, the back story gives you a peak into a history you always want more of. the Main plot is exciting, fast paced in the style we expect from Patterson. In short I liked the audiobook and recommend you slip a disk into your CD player, Computer or download to your MP3 player,you wont' regret it.
CBH More than 1 year ago
This book is excellent. Some of Patterson’s books lately have been only fair, especially the ones written with another author. In “Worst Case” I think the story is very well written and in today’s world of not knowing what to expect, it is very plausible. This book features Detective Michael Bennett of the NYPD, who has been featured in a few other books by James Patterson. Bennett has 10 children, all adopted and of all origins. He has a nanny to take care of this brood when he has to work, which is quite a bit of time. Since his wife had died several years earlier, the children give Michael Bennett quite a problem of balancing his work and his personal life. In this story he is teamed with an FBI agent, Emily Parker, who, while working close with Bennett, has made both of them open their eyes toward each other. Children of rich people disappear, followed by a phone call to the parents. When the police get involved, Bennett and Parker along with their teams, at first the culprit says he does not want any ransom but tells them where the child can be picked up. After leading them on a wild goose chase, the body of the first child is found. This is repeated several times with some variation on the kidnappers method of operation. Since all the parents are rich and very influential the police can’t make a connection as to why certain children are taken and with different variants involved, how do they get to the whys and wherefores? As the police are led in circles, or so it seems, they get no closer to finding this dangerous person. Many other aspects are brought into the story such as parents that think they are above all others, priests that don’t seem to have any connection, and chases, some of which lead no where. The story is good, well written and has a good flow. The last part of the book will have you wondering what this guy is thinking and when it all comes together you will be very surprised.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you pick it up, you will NOT put it down!
linkster More than 1 year ago
If you follow Patterson, you won't be disappointed. All the bells and whistles you've become accoustomed to. Was hard to put down.
wildcat101DG More than 1 year ago
I agree with the other folks on this. I was gonig to but the series on the Nook but each book was 9.99. I went to the used bookstore and the the first two books of the series for 8.00. I love my Nook but some of the prices are a little unreasonable on older books
A.. Kimble More than 1 year ago
When buying a book where do u see the advantage of paying $25 for a discount on the price of the books. Also, why are so many of the books priced so high. I agree eith ghe person who said the could get it from Sam's. The prices make you think about returninb the color nook, canceling trial membersnip snd getting books cheaper from Sam's or this website I know.
Skip151 More than 1 year ago
Is there a book by James Patterson that does not get your attention? His Michael Bennett series is right up there with Cross! It was very hard to put the book down. I read it in two evenings! You can't go wrong. Pick it up today and put the stress of the world at ease tonight!
APayne More than 1 year ago
I love Micheal Bennett and his 10 kids
Darth-Vader More than 1 year ago
It seems lately all of James Patterson books are the same and predictable. As for the previous post how can you read a book one month before it comes out. I'm judging all last year's Patterson's books and the preview from Worst Case.
Anonymous 10 days ago
enjoyef+beginning+to+end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent read ... on to the next in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BONS on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed! This was an excellent thriller tied around and Irish, Catholic, detective in New York. As always I did the audio as well and I have never jumped out of my seat by being startled before with an audio until now. So entertaining with an interesting closure on why the killer was killing rich kids.
Twink on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
James Patterson's Alex Cross series used to be my favourite. But I think I'm going to say it's now the Mike Bennett series. The last couple of Alex Cross books have been overly violent in my opinion, going for the shock and awe component.I find the Bennett series entertaining without being offensive.Children of wealthy New Yorkers are being kidnapped. There is no ransom though - instead the kidnapper gives the children a test. Pass - you live. Fail - lights out. How high is their social awareness of the world's plight?The 'villain' of the last Bennett book was the Teacher - obsessed with social niceties and politeness. This time around it's social injustices and the state of the world.I listened to Worst Case in audio format - as I will for all future Bennett books. The character of Mike is read by Bobby Canavale. I can't imagine a more perfect narrator - his voice is all New York, it's quick, rough and expressive. The 6 disc set also features two other readers - Orlagh Cassidy as the female Fibbie who's on the case with Mike and John Glover as the bad guy. Glover was particularly effective - his calm, clipped modulated voice made the kidnapper seem even more menacing. Cassidy was a good reader as well, but I just never warmed up to her character - I'm rooting for M.C. - the Bennett nanny.True to form, Worst Case is short, snappy chapters, ending with cliffhangers, persuading you to listen to just one more chapter. The plot isn't overly complicated and there's a fun secondary plot involving Mike's love life. A thoroughly entertaining listen
MonicaLynn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great action packed story with a lot of twists and turns. Kidnapper is kidnapping high profile kids to send a message to the world. Det Bennet is trying to catch him along with FBI agent Emily Parker, who could possibly be a love interest for Det Bennett. With 10 kids at home a wonderful Nanny and helpful father in more ways than one. Det. Bennet gets the job done. Really great addition to the series.
cooperca05 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just love James Patterson. His chapters are short yet filled with so much tension I almost have close my eyes to get through them. He's a great storyteller and this novel doesn't let you down. Although I'm a big fan of Dr. Alex Cross, Det. Michael Bennett comes in a close second. In this chilling tale, Francis X. Mooney believes that people can change the world to make it better. But seeing the materialist, rich, spoiled youth around him, he begins to feel the world slipping away to a generation that doesn't deserve it. He no longer believes in a nonviolent solution to the spoiled youth of today -- he believes the only way people will hear him is through violence. And so the twisted spree begins....
bohemiangirl35 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very easy enjoyable read. I like detective Michael Bennett and his huge family from the previous two books. Listened to this on a playaway and didn't have to pay a lot of attention to follow along.
bbuchan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An entertaining read. New York Police Detective Michael Bennett and Emily Parker an FBI Abduction Specialist lead an investigation into a high-profile kidnapping case. The kidnapper targets teenage kids from some of NYC's top schools and some of its wealthiest families. The victims are given a test the results of which determine whether they live or die.
SonicQuack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Worst Case is Patterson's strongest novel in his Michael Bennett series so far. From the the first chapter the action is relentless, only punctuated by the story of Michael's potential love interest. The approach to the latter is cleverly composed, almost a humourous tilt, and it in no way impedes the main story which follows a prolific kidnapper as he terrorizes the city. Great characters and a compelling villain wrap up Worst Case as an example of Patterson at his best.
scoutlee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Life isn¿t always fair. There are some people who are extremely wealthy, while others have exactly as much as they need. Still there are people living in constant lack. It¿s the first and last group that tend to cause the most anger.A kidnapper is targeting the wealthiest students in Manhattan. There's no demanded ransom or clues left behind. There's only one way for these kids to return home safely to their families: they must pass the test.After the first kidnapped victim is found dead and a second victim is taken, Detective Mike Bennett knows he's facing a sadistic, yet intelligent killer. Parents are frightened and soon New York City is paralyzed by this individual.Given the nature of the cases, FBI Emily Parker is brought in from DC. She's one of the FBI finest and is determined to find the killer. As Mike and Emily race against the clock, they also try to resist the growing attraction between them. The deeper they dig in the cases, the more they realize the motive behind the kidnapping is larger than the victims. They are just pawns that need to be removed in order to fulfill the mission.Worst Case is the third book in the Michael Bennett series. Mike is such a likable guy. He's a good detective, a great father and generally tries to do the right thing. He finds it hard to balance his personal life (he's the father of 10 adopted children) and work, makes his fair share of mistakes, but still manages to remain grounded.True to Mr. Patterson's style, the killer is sick and twisted. The pace is steady and the hint of romance didn't take away from the mystery. Fans of this series will enjoy this book.