The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar

The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar

by Roald Dahl

Paperback

$7.41 $7.99 Save 7% Current price is $7.41, Original price is $7.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
mbdono More than 1 year ago
This is a good book for kids who like Roald Dahl, and especially for this time of year when we are always running around because it has short stories so he can read small sections -- good for his reading log every night for homework.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has six stories and all are very good and entertaining. The last story I am unsure is meant for children. In my own personal opinion the last story, A Piece Of Cake, teeters on the edge. I recommend this book of stories but I also suggest parents of a young reader read the book first.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story of Henry Sugar feels different from many of Dahl's more popular works, like Matilda and James & the Giant Peach, but it's feeling of being set in the 'real' world does not detract from the sense of magic that Dahl gives all his work. These stories were touching and amazing, so much so that I want to believe they're true. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Dahl's other works. However, if you want to read something else in the vein of the aforementioned Matilda et. al., I would not say this is the one to go for. But it is an excellent, EXCELLENT book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should so read this book it has so many wonderful charaters, they are so good love all of Roald Dahl he has so many amzing books!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is delightful! A must read for any Roald Dahl fan. I especially enjoyed the hitchhiker and of course, Henry Sugar. Go read it now, ok?
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Wonderful story of Henry Sugar is one of the best collection of children's short stories out there. In fact, it's one of the best collections of short stories, period. 'The Swan' is particularly memberable as a touching portrait of the struggle of man against beast, a story that is both beautiful and humorous as it is maddening and sad. A treasure for any Dahl fan.
montano on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was enchanted by these stories when I stumbled upon them as an adolescent. Droll, mysterious, magical. Underdogs who triumph, petty villains who get their comeupance, this is Roald Dahl at his best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I olay read the first 3 chapters and it is wonderful.Great for everybody.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MiCHELLE OBAMA
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I mean........wow!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful grouping by stories by a prolific author. My problem is the inclusion of the last story in the book, entitled 'A Piece of Cake'. While other stories appeal to young and emerging readers, this very adult story does not belong in this book of tales. At the very least there should be a *notice* not unlike warnings on movies, television programs, and music, that it may not be suitable for young readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yup
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book sounds good but why are rewiws 9-13 adult rewiews? Shouldn't we want to know what OTHER children think of this book? HUH? P.S. I put 5 stars even though I have not read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book i read all the roald dahl books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish i could i could see without my eyes open lets start training