Wolf Brother (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #1)

Wolf Brother (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #1)

Audio CD(Unabridged, 6CDs, 7hrs.)

$27.95
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wolf Brother 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 105 reviews.
MELKI More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I wasn't familiarized with the series or the author but now I'm hooked. Great story. Exciting read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 9 year old son LOVED Wolf Brother, Spirit Walker, Soul Eater and Outsider. He could not wait to read each book!!! Prior to these books, he refused to do independent reading. I caught him reading under his comforter after lights out. How WONDERFUL!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book Wolf Brother is the best books ever! I read all of the books . I am still reading OUTCAST. I am like the only girl reading these books. My favorite animal is a wolf. I have had a wolf in my past life. But I still have wolves with me. They are wild wolves they attack everybody but me! Every body calls me The Wolfwoman! I can talk wolf and run like a wolf. I am 11 years old and I am writing my own story about me becoming The Wolfwoman. I am going back to the books. My favorite porsen in the books are Renn. You have to read to read these books!
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG. I have read this book two times and it is still exciting. If anyone hasn't read it, READ IT NOW (except my sister). I have always dreamed of living out in the forest just like Torak does. Except for the demon bear and the soul eaters. I am so crazy about this book I went on wikapedia and looked it up. I HAVE GOT TO READ THE NEXT ONE NOW!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of those novels that won´t let you sleep until you finish it. Michelle Paver has the ability to transport you to the prehistoric ages, live the traditions, costumes, and believes. She will make you feel like Torak, a simple 12 years old boy of the Wolf Clan that only has a wolf cub. You will feel the woods walking, the fight in the Crow Clan, and the challenges you must endure and pass with Renn to collect the 3 charms you need to defeat the Terrible Bear. If you love the adventures and the nature, this book will hook you until the last page, enjoying it until the last phrase of this book, one of the best I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great! If you like action books set in a more primitive world, then this is the book for you. Torak, his wolf cub, whom he named Wolf, and a girl named Renn are out to destroy a man eating bear that killed Torack's father.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not the best book I have read, but...It was good. It was kind of unique that Wolf called Torak 'Tall Tailess', but...If you are looking for a book to pass the time here it is. It wasn't very realistic about the bear--what does it symbolize--death? And all of the 'SUSPENSE' stuff is comepletely pointless. I got this at the bookstore, but I might not get the second one in the series. This really deserves 3.5 stars, but...who cares. This, again, was not the best book I have read.
breconbeacons on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a fantastic book about a kid how can talk to wolves his father was killed by a bear and now has to survive in the wild with a possessed bear chasing after him.This story was set in the olden days before guns were invented i recommend it to kids with a reading age of 10-11 or better
Goldengrove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much. Michelle Paver takes the reader into the world of Tovak ad his people with all the knowledge of the natural world, and the terror of living so close to it, that they eperience. But most of all I love this book because my 12 year old son has read it and its sequels this Summer, and can't wait for the last two. When you're an avid reader with two sons who are really lukewarm about it, that means a lot!
Alfirin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My Mum is a primary school teacher who, every year, tries to get the children in her class to read good quality books. Books which are well written, which have storyline, and which contain key writing elements which are taught as part of the English lessons (how to use writers¿ hooks, to describe all the senses etc.). Since I received this book for Christmas a few years ago she has read them the opening paragraph:¿Torak woke with a jolt from a sleep he¿d never meant to have. The fire had burned low. He crouched in the fragile shell of light and peered into the looming blackness of the forest. He couldn¿t see anything. Couldn¿t hear anything. Had it come back? Was it out there now, watching him with its hot, murderous eyes?¿Every year, without fail, the class all press her to read the whole opening chapter. She does. When she asks the children if they want the book¿s details so that they can get a copy and read the whole thing she is nearly killed in the rush, and over the next few weeks many of the class can be found devouring this book in their spare time.The detail and historical accuracy throughout so much of the book is outstanding. I think the world she has created is wonderful, and several years¿ worth of schoolchildren agree with me. Be careful when giving this book to very young children to read though ¿ it¿s rather violent and scary in places for tiny tots.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An interesting story set in the time of ice in Europe. A boy's father is killed by a bear, a bear with supernatural strength and the father send the son to help kill it.With the help of a wolf cub and a girl from another tribe he fights tribe elders who want to kill him, the elements and overwhelming odds. An interesting story that really paints a solid picture of what it must have been like without being too patronising or too modern.
markflanagan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A well written book about a boy, a wolf, and the bear-demon they must defeat. Michelle Paver's research was exhaustive and her descriptions of the natural setting incredible. I read this book with my 8-year-old, and honestly I wasn't all that motivated to continue, though he seemed to be surprisingly so (even though he fell asleep many nights while I read to him), to the point that when we finished he suggested we read it over again. That said, we may have to pick up the second book in the series (perhaps after we cleanse the palette first with some Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Animorphs).
bookmaven-msk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Awesome read, set thousands of years ago Adventure with fantasy elements
ewyatt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised by this Caudill nominated book. It takes place 6000 years ago when people are mostly nomadic and live in clans. Torak and his father live away from other people. After his father is killed by a bear, who turns out to be demon possessed, Torak is on a quest to try to stop the bear. He has to journey to the Spirit Mountain and find three items to give to the great spirit that answer the ancient riddle. Torak finds an orphaned wolf cub and it turns out he has the ability to speak the language of wolves. Renn for the Raven clan also is a helpful companion on the quest. This is the first in a series. Although I won't be running out to read the rest of the series, I think this book will definitely appeal to many of the students participating in the Caudill program.
cmtanker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
this book is about is about great darkennes.i think its easy.i like this book.
nm.fall08.j.gonzalez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
it was interesting but it sucked that the dad died and i also liked the all the fighting i will try to read the other books
Phillipe.pper6327 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I believe this book is a good read for whoever has read books such as the Harry Potter series or Gary Paulsen survival books. When I first started reading this book I found it to be a bit too childish for me to read, but I kept reading anyway and have already finished reading the first and second books. Now to get back to the topic of the actual word choice and sentence structure of the book. This book has amazing descriptions of the forest that make you feel like you are there with the characters. All in all the story line kept me reading to the end of the bindings and hope the rest of the series will too. I would hope that anyone who comes across this magnificent read is advised to read slowly to let the full effect of the words sink in. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5.
Westerndreamer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A great and fun book to read in my opinion. Engaging right the way through, very interesting and leaves the reader wanting more! The second book Spirit Walker is also just as interesting, tense, emotive and just brilliant its a great book and I would strongly recommend!
speciale17815 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is a great book and will have you hooked on the series. This book is filled with cliffhangers and always wants you to read more. There is always new things happening in the book that are unexpected and makes the reader wonder what just happened. This was a all around great book and a definate read.
moonmommy5 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. At the begginging of the book, the boys father dies, killed by this demon bear. Torak (the boy) is now running from this bear, and runs into another clan.Of corse it was hard times, and they take him hostage. He finds out it's his destiny to go and defeat the bear. I won't spoil anymore, in case you read it. It was very fast, and this would be recomended more for children, mabye young adult, as most of my books will be.
AnCy0712 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a pretty sad book, it got to me due to all the dead animals
DragonFreak on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Six thousand years ago in the Stone Age, a young boy named Torak and his father lived together with no one besides each other and the comfort of the Forest. But all this peace and tranquility changed when a menacing bear with a demon inside kills Torak's father and he tells Torak to swear that he'll go North and destroy the bear.All seems lost and Torak is now broken until he meets Wolf, a lonely cub who will guide Torak.As soon as the set off, they get captured by the Raven tribe, and Torak learns that he is the LIstener, the person who will destroy the bear and save everybody.This book shows what it's like to live that many years ago and what they may have believed. When I first picked this up, I didn't think I'll like it at all, but in reality, it's actually really good, and the author really did her research, because you can just imagine the horrors Torak had to go through in the huge Forest in a civilization that's now gone...
range6 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was an easy read. The main character is a boy however, there is a strong female protagonist also in the story lending it to both audiences. The language and font made the book easy to read. The vocabulary provided a simple challenge due to the fact that it used many terms dealing with clan life and spirit ways, which the author explains completely to the reader. The fast-paced drama of the story pulls the reader quickly through the pages. As a fan of the Clan of the Cave Bear series written by Jean Auel, I fell in love with this book and its characters. NOTE: This book is very dark in places and is suggested for mature readers.
AaronKAwsome on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about a boy named Turok. His father is killed by a demon bear. Before his father died he made Toruk sware to find the mountain and the guide to bring him there. He is on is own and finds this lone wolf cub. The cub fallows him and becomes the guide. Later Turok finds the Raven Clan and Renn. He is taken to the camp. He finds out he is the listener that most destroy the bear, but to do this he most find the Nanuak. He escapes with Renn and Wolf. The Ravens and the bear are after him. He goes on a dangerous adventure to save the forest and the people of the forest. People that like excitment will love this book. It is good for all ages 3rd grade and up. People will find this book full of strange twists and amazing battles. This is more for people that like the old cave men times and fantisy. It is simply an amazing book.
karima29 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Mostly because of the archaeological research that went into it, but also because it¿s absolutely thrilling and adventurous. The setting of the story is 6000 years ago when Western Europe was still covered by forest, and the people in it were hunter-gatherers. They didn¿t have the wheel, writing, metals, or farming, yet. That¿s the archaeological part. As for how they thought, their spirituality, how they interacted with their surroundings, this the author got from the more recent lives of the San of Southern Africa, the Native American tribes, Eskimos, and the Ainu of Japan. An example is the description of what is done to prey after it¿s been killed. That no part of the animal is wasted, what¿s not eaten is used to make pouches, and string and clothing, etc, etc.Then there¿s the story of a 12 year old boy, whose father raised him , taught him the ways of a hunter and the ways of the Forest, but kept him separate from people. The story opens with his father dying, having just been mauled by a bear. Before he dies however, he manages to croak out some cryptic pieces of information, like that the bear is possessed, the boy has powers that he doesn¿t know about, he needs to make his way to a mountain that nobody has ever found, he¿ll have a guide, and that he¿s the only one who can defeat the bear (demon) before it destroys the entire forest and life as he knows it. That¿s all in the first few pages.From then on it¿s your typical coming of age story, just with an added dose of adventure, intrigue and lots of heart.