Winning Ugly: Mental Warfare in Tennis--Lessons from a Master

Winning Ugly: Mental Warfare in Tennis--Lessons from a Master

by Brad Gilbert, Steve Jamison

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Winning Ugly 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Also recommend "Treat Your Own Tennis Elbow".
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book - but, in my opinion, more for the singles player. As a doubles player, I did like it, and the parts on mental strategies also apply in doubles. I would still recommend it, but not if you are looking for any kind of doubles strategy
Guest More than 1 year ago
1 word WORKS Most authors blab but he just gets to the point and makes it simple.
jpsnow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Although there is clearly some prodding that occurs in these forums between McEnroe and Gilbert, it's a engaging and thorough treatment of the scrappy, mental side of the game.
ucla148 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before reading this book I had the talent, but I did not have the head to succeed. Gilbert and Jamison give a play the tools he or she will need t win no matter what the circumstances are. The book shows that a player can always find a way to win. The book will also teach the reader how to deal with gamesmanship. Gamesmanship is when your opponent is doing everything in their power to get inside your head. Some examples of this are cheating, yelling, and using the time to their advantage. While reading this book I was able to learn a lot about myself as a player. As I was reading I was able to figure out what my own mental strengths and weaknesses are on the court. After the completion of this book I saw a great improvement in my game. The real examples Gilbert gives from when he was a player gave me a sense of comfort while reading the book. I knew that the man that was writing really knows what he is talking about. A great example of this was the chapter about the masters, when Gilbert played Connors. This book is not supposed to be about improving a players physical skills; it is strictly mental. I recommend this book to everyone that plays competitive tennis. The book will give you an unbelievable understanding for the game. Also, when you are in certain situations recommended in the book think about Gilberts experiences. The book is definitely worth five stars.
co_coyote on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this years ago, when I was just starting to get serious about tennis and thought it was a great book. I decided to re-read it now, because I've been promoted into a division with some *really* good tennis players and I can use all the help I can get. I found the advice, this time, less helpful. Don't get me wrong, this is a fun and interesting book to read. But, basically, you can boil the advice down to "try this, and if it doesn't work, try something else". OK. That's pretty much what I try to do. I doesn't always result in "winning tennis", but-I admit--it can be ugly.
ironicqueery on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book won't help your tennis strokes or any other technical aspect of your game, but it will address the strategy behind the game. The big focus is on knowing your opponents and your own game, knowing the strengths and weaknesses that become apparent during matches, and how to exploit what you observe. There is also emphasis on the mental game of tennis, which includes keeping your cool, dealing with gamemanship, and keeping focus. The book is organized in quick, easy to read chapters, with Gilbert's real-life examples, followed up with a closer look on how to apply his principles to your own game. Overall, a great, well-written book that will give the serious tennis player food for thought, and ideas to bring into your own game.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very good and has helped me a lot. I have the paperback version and got it signed by brad in SF olympic club
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago