Wild Wild Death (Pepper Martin Series #8)

Wild Wild Death (Pepper Martin Series #8)

by Casey Daniels

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wild Wild Death 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think of all the books in this series, this one is my favorite. Pepper seemed to shine in this book and the new character was delightful. I can't wait to see where the series goes next.
HartmyPebbles More than 1 year ago
Possibly the best in the series so far! I had a hard time putting the book down, which is always a good sign. I liked the locale, the Indian history lesson and I especially liked the male (living) sidekick - I hope we see more of him. And of course I loved Pepper at her very Pepper best ;) Just a well put together book, well worth the read. So fleshed out that it seems to come alive. Can't wait for the next one :)
SandyLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The latest in the Pepper Martin series. Pepper sees spirits. Ever since tripping and hitting her head on a tombstone in the first book, she has become the detective to the long departed who need her to find out who killed them or to clear their name. The latest spirit is Chester Goodshot Gomez, a Native American and legendary Wild West star who was the keeper of the location of a sacred silver bowl used by the Native shaman to perform rituals. But Goodshot died before he could tell someone where the bowl was located. He also wanted his body buried in New Mexico. It is believed Goodshot had cursed Cleveland which is why the Cleveland Indians have been a losing team.When Pepper receives a note from an old friend, Dan Callahan, that he has been kidnapped, the ransom is the bones of Chester Goodshot. Having been laid off from her cemetery job in the last book, Pepper has to break into the cemetery to steal the bones then follow the instructions the kidnappers gave her. Her drive to New Mexico isn¿t boring since Goodshot goes along for the ride. Thus starts a rollicking case involving more dead bodies, a hunk of a Native American cop, designer clothes, all weaved into Native American history and culture. Casey Daniels never disappoints.
debbieaheaton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Daniel's paranormal mystery, Pepper Martin is still unemployed, and her potential cop boyfriend refuses to believe in or talk about her Gift. And then her geeky friend, Dan, is kidnapped and the ransom calls for Pepper to steal the bones of Chester Goodshot Gomez from Garden View Cemetery. The rowdy ghost of Goodshot is only too happy to accompany Pepper on her journey to New Mexico where she expects to exchange the bones for Dan. But all hell breaks loose; the bones are stolen; bodies are turning up everywhere; and Pepper? Well, she's hard at work investigating the situation as only someone Gifted can. An entertaining, supernatural joy ride that I couldn't put down until the very last page.
TheLibraryhag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pepper gets sent on a wlid west chase as she attempts to return the bones of the long dead wild west star Chester Goodshot Gomez to his native New Mexico and save the life of her friend, Dan Callahan. (Long Story). Anyway, she gets to New Mexico and the adventure begins. In typical Pepper fashion, nothing goes right except meeting the hunky police officer, Jesse. Other than that, the bodies are piling up and just when she needs them most, Pepper can no longer talk to her ghosts.This series is so much fun. Pepper is a classic chick lit heroine who is slowly realizing that there is more to life (and death) than shoes. (Maybe). The change of location works and the mystery is good. I really like Jesse. I hope we get to hear from him again.
pacey1927 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Pepper Martin series has been my go to series for a long while now. When a new Pepper Martin book is released I am promised a fun mystery, at least a few good laughs, and a visit with a character who feels like an old friend. I can't remember what made me pick up the first book of the series "Don Of the Dead" but I am so grateful I did. I think anyone who loves a mystery with a paranormal aspect (Pepper can interact with ghosts) would really enjoy this series.When we last left Pepper Martin, she had been sacked from her job at the Garden View cemetery. Then she receives a note that her old friend Dan has been kidnapped. She must steal the bones of a long deceased Indian named Chester Goodshot Gomez from his mausoleum at Garden View. This starts Pepper off on her newest adventure. I won't spoil any of the plot but I can assure you that it is one wild ride. I fell in love with Pepper's newest ghost, like I usually do. I really enjoyed the back story to this one as well. There wasn't anything about the story that I didn't like or that annoyed me. Sometimes I know who the villain is before we get to the end. I didn't in this one, but even when I do guess the bad guy it never hampers my enjoyment of these stories.Unlike a lot of "cozy" mysteries, the Pepper series takes some chances. Pepper's life is not frozen in time. Her life evolves and she grows as a person. She dates and discards. Her heart breaks. Her employment status evolves. I would like to see Pepper get her Happily Ever After one day because she deserves it, but the journey there is a lot of fun.If you haven't read this series do yourself a favor and pick it up starting with "Don of the Dead" so that you can see Pepper's progress. These aren't deep or dark books but that is what makes them so perfect. They are just plain fun and enjoyable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another good book in the series. I was a bit disappointed that she left Jessie. I think I like him more than Quinn, it wasn't just about sex for him. If it takes Quinn's dying to believe Pepper and then he still denies her ability is real after he was brought back and he knows he talked to her in those few minutes that he was dead well.... who needs that crap. ..........................................................................................................
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series and can't wait for the next book. Pepper is great. These books are so much fun to read. One of my favorite series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
debbieaheaton More than 1 year ago
In Daniel's paranormal mystery, Pepper Martin is still unemployed, and her potential cop boyfriend refuses to believe in or talk about her Gift. And then her geeky friend, Dan, is kidnapped and the ransom calls for Pepper to steal the bones of Chester Goodshot Gomez from Garden View Cemetery. The rowdy ghost of Goodshot is only too happy to accompany Pepper on her journey to New Mexico where she expects to exchange the bones for Dan. But all hell breaks loose; the bones are stolen; bodies are turning up everywhere; and Pepper? Well she's hard at work investigating the situation as only someone Gifted can. An entertaining, supernatural joy ride that I couldn't put down until the very last page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book for everyone that enjoys getting lost in a great book and not putting it done until they have read the whole book. Casey has. Done it again. Pepper And Casey keep you on the edge of you seat. Thanks for giving us the look into our native people of our country. I would like to see this book and others that Casey has completed in a book club discussion. From a fan from Columbus, Ohio
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent follow-up in a great series! Someday I just hope Pepper's prince will come-whichever one he may be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago