Who Buries the Dead (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #10)

Who Buries the Dead (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #10)

by C. S. Harris

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Who Buries the Dead (Sebastian St. Cyr Series #10) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual, a great read!
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed the Sebastian St Cyr series, but this latest novel does not have the punch as the prior novels, and the details of the story become hazy. The story centers on trophies of famous or infamous individuals. The story brings in gruesome details of the invasion of the burial and coffin of many English monarchs. Henry VIII, Jane Seymour, Charles I, Henri IV, and Edward IV all rank as monarchs whose final resting is not peaceful. The story introduces reader to Jane Austen and her brother Henry Austen, as women are discussing Jane Austen's latest books. Slavery enters the picture as a necessary evil that has been abolished in England, but still remains in England's colonies. Many of the major characters play minor roles in this tale. Harris wanders too far from the story line to stand on the soapbox and preach reform.
Wiliam_Maltese More than 1 year ago
OFF WITH THEIR HEADS! I just finished reading the historical murder mystery WHO BURIES THE DEAD by C.S. Harris, with yet another member of the English aristocracy, Sebastian St. Cyr, as chief protagonist. And, as far as Regency mysteries go, not in the “romance” category, this one is pretty good if just because its author, a respected scholar, has enough of her facts and figures at her fingertips to make the setting seem authentic to the time-line. … with an amusing inclusion of none other than novelist Jane Austen as one of the participants. The plot-line, concerned with several grizzly beheadings, past and present, was enough to keep me turning the pages, though I did find the lead character’s ability to decipher all of the pertinent clues, from all of the red-herrings provided by so many suspects (most of whom were prevaricators), a little less true-to-life than I might have preferred. I’m pretty good at figuring out guilty parties in most mysteries (which I don’t like), but didn’t figure out the guilty party in this one (which I did like), although I’m not sure how our lead character figured it all out, either, on the basis of information provided, as is was provided (which I didn’t like). And I’m sure there will be some readers who will complain that some of the major sub-plot dangling threads got tied up a bit too quickly and too neatly. And while I’m not sure just why, I confess to having become disconcertedly aware of the author’s frequent tendency to begin chapters with a few sentences, immediately followed by a general description of the locale and the weather at the time in question. All in all, though, I found the book an above-average read with its references to plantations in Jamaica, the pros and cons of slavery, and the bustling clandestine trade in religious and “kingly” artifacts, including severed heads.
Virginiaw More than 1 year ago
This was another fantastic addition to the Sebastian St.Cyr novels. I did not want to stop reading this book. I love him and Hero being together and having a child. This story just keeps getting better with each book. Each time you turn around brings another twist to the mystery.
RickT-1111 More than 1 year ago
Like all the books in the Sebastian St. Cyr series to date, this one was excellent. The weaving of a murder mystery into the historical events of the day in England is inspired. The story of the main fictional serial characters evolved well. I held back one star because a character who becomes key near the end of the book seemed to me to be not well developed up to that point. That was a bit disappointing.
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
Stanley Preston, cousin to the Home Secretary in the year 1813, lived in London, England and there is found murdered, decapitated by two young lovers heading toward a secluded area for their amorous tryst.  The aristocrat, Sebastian St. Cyr is asked to help with the investigation of the grisly murder, a task he gladly enters in spite of the risk to himself, his wife and their newborn child.  The investigators quickly find an engraved strap of lead near the body, an object related to the death of King Charles by beheading in 1648.   An odd hobby by several aristocrats shocks St. Cyr.  It seems these gentlemen have an inordinate interest in collecting historical objects, including the heads and/or bodies of those who died by the axe for varied reasons, all of them stemming from disapproval by royalty or the ruling class.  The owners see nothing odd about their ghoulish interests and the reader has a hard time not incriminating each one as they appear throughout the story. More to the point, why was that strap found near the body and what did Stanley Preston have to do with beheadings and these strange characters? Just when St. Cyr seems totally confused, one of his enemies appears, a man reputed to be responsible for the cruel death of many Portugal residents, Mr. Stanley Oliphant, appears to muddy the waters of the investigation.  Not to be daunted, St. Cyr continues in his methodical questioning of anyone even remotely connected with Preston and eventually deduces who is responsible. Will the nefarious murderer be apprehended and justice be served? Harris’s novel is an intriguing, complex read that is delightful to follow and intriguing.  Connection to fame, even if it is through physical or antique objects brings that fame into the owners’ lives.  What is perceived to be grotesque is just part of the history that haunted the lives of British subjects in more ways than imagined.  Very nicely constructed, C. S. Harris – recommended mystery for lovers of the genre!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read with convoluted connections , decapitations, Jane Austin , Charles the 1st, and of course Devin and Hero.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy the St. Cyr novels and this one is no exception.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This latest addition to the St Cyr historical thriller series continues the high level of period detail I have come to expect from this author. More tantalizing bits of the main character's past is revealed, leaving you to want to know more, more, more! Having St Cyr cross paths with Jane Austen was a little bonus for lovers of the period. Start with the first book and feast your way through them all!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago