When God Made Color

When God Made Color

by Sheri Carmon

Paperback

$10.79 $11.99 Save 10% Current price is $10.79, Original price is $11.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

When God Made Color 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Librarycataloger 5 months ago
When God Made Color is truly a book of colors and the vivid artwork creatively illustrates how God created the world and everything in it. His creation of day and night, the sun, moon, and stars, and all of the living creatures are shown in vivid detail. And then, as the story explains, 'It was time to make His most marvelous creation—His Children! …And what did God’s children look like? Yes, they were all different colors also.' This is a picture book that would be a great way to teach your child about The Creation and it is also a wonderful way to stress that even though there are people with many different skin colors, they all are alike because they were all created by the same God. I received a digital ARC of this book from WhiteSpark Publishing and Celebrate Lit and a favorable review was not required. The thoughts expressed here are my own.
Ourpugs 5 months ago
When God made Color What a wonderful colorful book. Describing all the color of everything that God made. The flowers, ocean, stars, fish, birds, butterflies, and all the other animals. The book has a lot of colors to catch the attention of young children, even babies. Then as they get older a great book to read to them and for them to read. The ending brought tears to my eyes. I believe any parent would know what I mean. I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher through Celebrate Lit. I was not required to write an positive review. This is my own opinion.
Deana0326 5 months ago
When God Made Color is a great story about how God created the world in vivid colors. He made flowers with brilliant colors that danced in the wind and stars that twinkled in the sky. It is a wonderful illustrated story for young children to help them understand how God created the Heaven and Earth. He made animals like butterflies that shined with flecks of colors and fish that swam in the sea with breathtaking arrays of color. I really enjoyed how this book will keep the attention of young children while they learn about colors and how God made them.. I received a copy of these two books from Celebrate Lit. The review is my own opinion.
Becky5 6 months ago
The cover of When God Made Color (by Sheri Carmon, illustrated by Silver Bluebird Studios) captured me first, a veritable explosion of color. It is a treat for the eyes, both young and old. This is a world of which I immediately want to be a part. Also, I want to introduce any young child I know to this book. Describing the seven days of creation, this is a warm, almost whimsical look at a very special time. The enchanting pictures are Dr. Seuss-like in their colors, yet rich in imagery and depiction. I imagine reading through the book with a child, taking time to find each created thing or creature, almost like the children’s picture books where you search for many different objects or animals. Of course, the last page is the most poignant, teaching children an important truth. Well-worth your time and money. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and Celebrate Lit. I am not required to leave a positive review and all opinions are my own.
Kathae 6 months ago
When God Made Colors told the creation account from a new perspective, which, along with the striking illustrations, made it very appealing to children and adults. I received an ARC of this book from the publisher, WhiteSpark Publishing, through Celebrate Lit, for review purposes. The thoughts expressed here are my own.
ARS8 6 months ago
When God Made Color is a children’s book about colors wrapped around the creation of the world. This was a beautifully illustrated book, which to me looked like water colors that takes the Genesis story and tells it for kids in a way I had not read before. I really liked this book and its creative take on colors, especially from the beginning. And certainly since God is the creator of everything, that includes colors as well, from all the colors of the rainbow to all the colors of the world and people. This is a nice book for teaching moments with kids. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to post a positive review and all views and opinions are my own.
ReadersFavorite 6 months ago
Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite When God Made Color by Sheri Carmon is an enchanting book that captures the beauty and allure of colors in a whimsical way. God danced across the waters, carrying all the colors of the rainbow. He stood above the waters and wished there was light and thus day and night came into existence. As the heavens and earth separated at the sound of his voice, color streamed through the entire expanse. Everywhere the colors gave life as they swept down on the earth and the earth burst forth with life. Plants appeared and deep green forests grew and after that God made swimming creatures. Next came the feathered flyers and the animals. Finally, God made his most marvelous creation and blessed them all. This beautiful book takes readers not only through the world God has created but also introduces them to colors in the most wonderful way. The illustrations are vibrant and vivid and will captivate readers with their radiance. The book is like poetry in motion where every page is awash with bright shades of life. The book highlights God's creations and their beauty and color. The author also celebrates the unity and diversity that exist in the Universe, ranging from humans to animals to plants. It is definitely a good book to make children aware of the beauty, colors, and magnificence of God and his creations in a colorful way. It can be used at home and in schools, teaching about colors and the creations of God in an entertaining way.
Phyllis_H 6 months ago
A creation story My rating is 3.5 stars The story of creation has shown up in numerous books for children and adults over the years. This retelling is a bit different from anything I have seen before, and as you can imagine, the emphasis is on the colors of creation, making it an option for teaching color in addition to the creation story. There is mention of God yet no doctrine, so anyone, Christian, Jew or others who believe the Biblical account of creation could use this book to teach their children about it. The illustrations are big and bold and complement the prose and fill the senses with color. Their feel reminds me of a tropical paradise. In addition to teaching colors and the events of creation, the story also speaks of the diversity of colors in God’s children, emphasizing the color of the eyes in the text and the colors of skin and hair in the illustrations, and thus this could be a good book for teaching diversity to children. As a long-time teacher, I am very particular about the books and curriculum I use and find there are very popular books used by many Christians that bother me. Part of that stems from hearing children refusing to accept that something they saw in a video about a Biblical character isn’t fact. This nitpickiness has me disconcerted with the way When God Made Color goes from telling of the events of each specific day of creation and then on the final day, after telling of the creation of the land animals, it jumps to telling how God created his children in all sorts of colors. Not creating Adam and Eve - creating all His children. I do understand the point of this and that the author carefully doesn’t specify when the children were created, or how, yet it bothers me enough I felt I should mention it. Parents or teachers desiring to give a Biblical view of creation may enjoy using this book to teach it, though be certain to point out that the children weren’t all created on that same day. Read my review of When God Made Color by Sheri Carmon at AmongTheReads.net I was given a copy of this book. I was not required to give a favorable review nor was any money received for this review. All comments and opinions are my own.
Mama_Cat 6 months ago
The author has designed a magnificent book showing God creating the world in full, vibrant color. It will delight children and their parents/ grandparents alike with the fabulous paintings of God’s creation. The initial verses of Psalm 19, which open the book, are perfect to emphasize the creation story and the incredible beauty He created. His most valuable creation is people – people of all appearances, sizes, and colors. This is a fabulous story that shows how God created each person, creature, plant, with total care, each with unique colors, sounds, beauty. I highly recommend this, especially for children whose parents want them to learn of God’s creation rather than simply the science of what is taught in schools.
Erin_Slocum 6 months ago
Our Thoughts: We love to read here in our house and finding Christian Children’s Books is always a welcome thing. It is sometimes hard to find good children’s books though. And finding Christian Children’s Books can be almost impossible if you don’t know where to look. We believe that exposing Children to God’s love from a very young age is the way to go! That all being said these are cute books! Even if you’re not serious about reading Christian children’s books to your kids you’re going to love these. The illustrations are so cute and colorful. My kids are in love with them and will happily sit to have them read time and time again. We have studied rainbows several times in our homeschool and love how beautiful they are and of course the reason for the first rainbow. When God gave Noah that first rainbow I can’t even imagine what the people thought. How gorgeous and what a wonderful promise! This is a great way to interest your children in colors and learning the colors of the rainbow specifically. We have a rhyme that I teach my kids to help them remember how the colors go but this is so much more fun! Definitely get yourself a copy. I would also recommend them for the nursery of churches. And it would be great to get some good Christian children’s books like these into some waiting rooms. It’s always nice to have something besides magazines or soap operas for your children to view when you’re waiting at the doctor or dentist.
5643437 6 months ago
When God Made Color takes the Creation Story from the Bible and infuses it with all the colors of the rainbow. The illustrations in this book are one of my favorite parts. Again, if you have children in your life, this book needs to become part of your collection.
conniet729 6 months ago
This is an amazing book. I love how it tells the story of creation, and when we get to day 6 when God made man - it shows how God made the different colors. Especially in today's age where others are hated for the color of their skin, this is a great way to show children diversity. I love how the author reminds us that while we are different, we are made in God's image. This book is beautifully illustrated, has a beautiful message. Both of my boys (5 and 7) enjoyed this book. I received a copy of this book through Celebrate Lit Blogging program, all thoughts are my own.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I recently purchased this book during a book signing at our local Barnes and Noble. This is a beautifully written and illustrated book that sends a message the world, and our children need to hear now. The book is about God's love for all of creation and it celebrates all children. The illustrations are on high craft paper and will captivate children with the detail, bright colors, and plethora of details, people and animal life. I highly recommend this children's book for the special children in your life, and for the young at heart.
MountainMari 6 months ago
This is an absolutely amazing and stunning children`s book that shows the Hand of Almighty God in many wonderful aspects of His creation, and especially honors the precious value of each and every human life on this earth, which is so relevant and important in the age in which we now live. The artistry on each page bursts forth with portraits in colors of unimaginable splendor that compare with none other I have ever seen! No family or person should be without it, for there will always be occasions for sharing and exploring the pages with children or friends in wonder and imagination. I recently even gave it as a gift to my friend graduating with two Master's degrees. This book is truly a masterpiece in every way, done with exquisite excellence and receives my highest praise and recommendation!
lolly-pops 9 months ago
WHEN GOD MADE COLOR is certainly a colorful book and will definitely appeal to children's eyes. It tells the story of creation in a whole new way which I absolutely loved until day six when God made man -- and instead of making Adam and Eve He made a whole world full of colorful faces all at once. Which is not exactly what happened at that point and time. My daughter took issues with colors just popping out - she likes to think God created it colorful (which I think He did) instead of black and white and then pop goes the color. But it was a fun book. If you are looking for a new approach to the creation story, here it is. WHEN GOD MADE COLOR. I was given a copy free. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous 9 months ago
When God Made Color is delightfully written and exquisitely illustrated — true to its name, the colors throughout the story do not disappoint. This book is a wonderful way to introduce kids to the Biblical narrative of creation, from when God separated the light from the darkness to when he formed the creatures of the sea and the birds of the air. The story concludes with a timely message that God created all of his people in a multitude of colors, all beautiful in His sight. Each spread is visually stunning and the writing is every bit as vibrant and abundant. When God Made Color is a joy to read for kids and parents alike!
KMAhmann 9 months ago
When God Made Color is an incredible telling of the Biblical creation story. The extremely talented author and tremendously gifted illustrator have created a story bursting with vivid pictures to complement the illuminating story. This book is much more than just a children's book. I read it to my mother who has Alzheimer's Disease, and she was filled with joy as I read to her. She particularly enjoyed the butterfly pages asking me to reread the words as she hunted for the various butterflies. When we were finished with the book, she said "I hope this book never goes away!" This was so encouraging to hear her express her thoughts, as she normally has trouble putting sentences together. I intend to purchase several more of these books for the young and not so young readers in our lives.
Mark White 10 months ago
Kids should love this book as much as adults do. My favorite line is the whimsical "God had fun when he made fish." Ms. Carmon's gentle prose makes the Biblical story come alive as readers wonder at her retelling the famous story. The gorgeous color and drawing fill me with wonder. It is a truism to say, "God created all the creatures so treat them with love, care, and respect." This book inspires children to see and feel this wonderous reality. I look forward to the next book by Ms. Carmon and her illustrator.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Sheri Carmon brings the book of Genesis to life in this amazingly beautiful book. When God Made Color is full of color and full of the love, goodness and creativity of God. The illustrations are glorious! The writing, with its vivid descriptions engages the readers and keeps us intrigued and turning the pages on the story we know so well until the breathtaking surprise at the end. The powerful message is one of love, unity, inclusivity and respect. Children of all ages (including adults with the hearts of children) will thoroughly enjoy and appreciate When God Made Color.
Bwilly 10 months ago
The artwork in this book is fantastic! Biblical messages are splashed across the beautiful full-page art. This is an excellent children's picture book that provides the opportunity for the adult reader to interact with the child and the book as they both explore God's many creations. Excellent and fun!