Welcome to Bordertown

Welcome to Bordertown

by Holly Black, Ellen Kushner

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Welcome to Bordertown 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
In 1986, Terri Windling introduced to the literary world a fantastical place called The Borderlands. Here, in the Borderlands - outcasts, runaways - they all ended up in an old abandoned part of the city that was a Mecca for them called Bordertown. In this place, humans, elves, and half-breeds lived together and tried to work together through various "issues" in order to find a way to live in peace. Now, in 2011, a slew of urban fantasy authors have come together to each write a story or poem that reopens Bordertown after thirteen years of being closed to humans - and enable a completely new generation to experience the amazing world of the Borderlands. So many fantastic authors are a part of this book, that no reader will leave these pages unsatisfied. In the very first story the "Mom," Terri Windling (along with Ellen Kushner) is back, and puts together a tale titled, Welcome to Bordertown. A postcard has arrived in a small town to a family who has missed their daughter, Trish, for thirteen years. She ran away and they've always feared the worst. This correspondence has come from Bordertown and offers a message that Trish is fine and having a great time. Unfortunately, the postmark is from thirteen years ago. Trish's brother Jimmy knows in his heart that Trish is alive, and begins a journey that will, hopefully, retrieve his sister. Readers are shown the Borderlands and the amazing characters from Terri Windling's imagination that include Thelma Louise Mankiller, as well as locations like the hard Luck Café and Try Elsewhere Books. And the twist at the end, the decision that Trish and Jimmy come to for their futures, is a true surprise. There is a fabulous story about a young woman named Shannon who wants to bring new "law" to Bordertown and organize the humans and elves so that they can finally live and work together in peace; and some of this work is done from the internet café on Hell Street. Stories move all over the realm introducing wild characters at each and every turn. There is also a fantastic "graphic" story in the middle of this collection called, Fair Trade, which offers unforgettable dialogue and drawings to the reader. From poems about warring sisters to a poem about The Wall which truly brings together the theme of the Borderlands - that mortals need mysteries to survive, whereas elves are just as dependent on having mortals in their lives for survival - is pure art. In the end, each and every one of these truly artistic, creative, and talented writers have done immense justice to the Borderlands, and introduced new characters, new mysteries, and new ways to taste life. Quill Says: A mesmerizing work that will, most definitely, inspire the imaginations of this, and future generations. Well done!
readinggeek451 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A return to the quintessential urban fantasy setting, Bordertown, where runaway street kids both human and faerie mingle.Add a star if you like short stories.
SusieBookworm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've never read the original Borderland series, but this anthology has convinced me that I need to. I wasn't really expecting much (a bunch of stories and poems about runaway punk kids is only interesting for so long...), so I was really surprised by what I found. Quality: the authors featured in the anthology are really good writers. Not just exciting, attention-holding good, but well-written good as well. Also, the references to classic literature, everything from traditional fantasy stories to Kipling to Aphra Behn to Flatland, were surprising. Yet the authors keep their writing styles and main subjects distinctly YA because, after all, that's the intended audience. Anyway, I have a much more positive view of urban fantasy now than before, and it was quite interesting to trace through some of its beginnings (and how they're connected to older works and tales) as mentioned in the introductions at the start of the anthology.As to my comment about stories of runaway punk kids only be interesting for so long: I found that there's so much more to the stories than just whiny teenagers. The characters of Welcome to Bordertown come from diverse backgrounds and each has traveled to Borderland for his or her own reason (some trivial, most not), making every work in the anthology come with its own unique characterizations, subsetting, purpose, and style. Basically, the anthology never gets boring. The stories and poems retain diversity; some are sweet, some humorous, some...odd. Vampires even popped up at one point and actually managed to be successfully integrated into the Borderland mythos! (On a side note, Twilight gets referred to by one character as "tween abstinence porn"). Welcome to Bordertown is a very enjoyable read and will draw readers into the blend of fantasy and realism that is Borderland. It's YA fantasy writing at its best.
omnia_mutantur on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was freaking fantastic. I love the idea and execution of shared world writing. I love that there was a mix of old friends and new writers. I love the graphic bit in the middle. If you're new to Bordertown, or coming back to an old haunt, this is an awesome book.
katekf on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Urban fantasy is a genre that's been constantly changing since the eighties and Welcome to Bordertown has stories from the greats who began the genre and those who continue it. Bordertown is a shared world that sits on the edge of our world and the Realm of the elves, its not an easy place but if its right for a character it can be life changing. The stories and poems all revolve around moments when Bordertown helped someone see themselves and the world anew with a mixture of humor and pathos. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good fantasy and wants some ideas of authors they might enjoy. I plan on finding some of these authors as I'd never read them before and now want more.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bordertown is back! Only thirteen days have passed for the denizens of the little city in between, but thirteen years have passed beyond the city limits for us back here in the world. Cell phones, FaceBook, the internet and Wikipedia may be new, but teenagers haven't changed much in the decade plus three. The lost, longing for solace, abandoned and abused still find hope in B-town's promise - of course, reality has sharp teeth, and the escape that's offered isn't for everyone. My favorites? It's a tie between Charles de Lint's "A Tangle of Green Men" and "The Sages of Elsewhere" by Will Shetterly. Wolfboy and Sparks deserved a happy ending, and what a way for Bordertown to acquire... nope, not going to spoil it for you.Those are my favorites, but Welcome to Bordertown has stories of all shapes and sizes - visiting may be tricky, and you don't want to drink the water, but the entertainment's first class.Some of the authors may have changed, but the feel of the stories hasn't. The 13 year gap between installments was annoying, but what a way to explain it - here's hoping Bordertown finds the love, and there are lots more stories forthcoming!
Basbleu0 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An excellent return after thirteen years to the fey pleasures of Bordertown.
lilibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bordertown is on the edge between the Faerie Realm and the mortal lands. Inhabited by Truebloods (faeries), halfings and mortals it is a place where magic and technology both function erraticly. Most of the humans there are young and either searching for somthing or running from something. This collection features stories by popular authors, set in Bordertown.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a brilliant book. I only feel like it's a classic. I didn't think I would like it because there were so many authors and too many stories. But I would recommend this to any one! I'm hoping one day I can write my own Bordertown story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've loved the Bordertown stories ever since the first and I will love all of these.
Kofi Williams More than 1 year ago
Its a mezmerizing exsprienceto read through a defantie clasic in there own diverse ways