Voodoo on the Bayou

Voodoo on the Bayou

by Elle James

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Voodoo on the Bayou 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
In_My_Humble_OpinionDA 5 months ago
Voodoo on the Bayou is a delightful romp in the swamp! Confirmed bachelor Craig Thibodaux gets cursed to be a frog during the day man at night unless he can find someone to love. Dr. Elaine Smith came to Bayou Miste to investigate the source of pollutants and to get away from her cheating ex. Neither is looking for love but there is magic in the bayou. I loved this sweet and sexy mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little Voodoo magic with humor combined with a little love leads to a delightful romp in the Louisiana swamp.
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
Voodoo On The Bayou is probably the funniest book I've read from Elle James. This book is well written with amazing characters that are exactly what this story needs. Ms James has added plenty of action, drama, humor and sexy bits that will keep you glued to this book from cover to cover. Craig and Elaine's story is a fast paced romp through the swamp and just plain fun to read. I loved reading Voodoo On The Bayou and look forward to my next book by Elle James. Voodoo On The Bayou is book 1 of the Cajun Magic Mystery Series but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Voodoo on the Bayou - Cajun Magic Mystery 2 Author: Elle James Published: 1-12-16 Publisher: Twisted Page Inc Pages: 362 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub Genre: Romance; Magic, Voodoo; Humor & Satire ISBN: 97811626950443 ASIN: B016CIOT9Q Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley . Craig Thibodeaux has trifled with the affections of famed Bayou Voodoo Queen Madame LeBieu. She has decided the time has come for Craig to learn not to use women to his own amusement. She hexes him so that he shall be a frog from sunup to sundown and a man from sundown to sunup. He has until the next full moon (which is just over two weeks away) to have a women to truly fall in love with him. Enter Doctor Elaine Smith who has come to the Bayou to investigate the high level of toxins in the Bayou Miste waters and the animal and marine life that live in and around it. Still smarting from the betrayal of finding her fiancé in the stairwell of the university making out with a secretary she has decided to get the samples and investigate herself rather than sending an undergraduate. she has no interest in the local lothario no matter how sexy his smile is and how he uses his Cajun charm. He may be sin on two legs and think he can have any woman he wants fall at his feet, but she is a scientist first and foremost and doesn't trust him even though she does need him to guide her to gather specimens and samples. When she starts getting threats Craig scrambles to find a way to keep her safe during the day and keep her close during the night. I open the book, read the first page and then began to chuckle out loud as I read. Not bad at home, but I was sitting in a waiting room waiting for my sister to finish with her doctor and received some strange looks from the others in the room. I did not care, I wanted to read more so I did and chuckled some more. The interactions between Craig and Elaine are electric. From the moment she meets him, he is stark naked trying to hide behind the display case, she is trying not to ogle. No matter how hard each tries to remain proper circumstances conspire against them much to reader's delight. Not to minimize the suspense of the book, because there is plenty, but I was captivated by the humor was threaded throughout the story. I enjoyed it so much I could not wait to open Voodoo for Two - Cajun Magic Mystery Book 2. I think you will too. I have finished book two in the series and am now awaiting the release of book three, Déjà Voodoo next week. I hope you come to love this series as much as I do.
Linda__ More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this lighthearted romp through the bayou. Craig, a confirmed bachelor, turns down the wrong woman and lands in trouble with a Voodoo queen. She curses him, turning him into a frog by day and man by night....the curse will only be removed if he finds a woman's love before the next full moon. If not, he will remain a frog permanently. Elaine is a scientist visiting the bayou to investigate pollution when she meets Craig. They have an attraction, but she doesn't know what to do with him or how to act. Her entire life has been about academics and she is in over her head. What follows is a very entertaining tale. If you enjoy romance with a bit of paranormal and suspense, you will love this book. This is the first book I've read by this author and I've added her to my must read authors' list.
missalicia2013 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review..... Fun, exciting, and mysterious. Craig Thibodeaux is a player of the worst order and he played with the wrong lady. Madame LeBieu, Bayou Voodoo priestess is out to teach Craig a lesson. She puts a gree gree or hex on him and he needs to find love now. Elaine Smith is a scientist that has her head in the laboratory and heart broken. She has come to Bayou Miste to research and get away. Is she the key to breaking the hex? This is a new direction for Mrs. James and it is fabulous. I was entertained the entire time! Cannot wait for the next one!!!
ButtonsMom2003 More than 1 year ago
A funny, sexy book. A new favorite by Elle James. This book is a bit different than ones I’m used to reading by Elle James – but that’s not a bad thing; in fact, it was fun to read something a bit different. At around 22% I was laughing out loud to the point that my hubby wanted to know what was so funny. Of course I then had to read him a few of the paragraphs that were making me laugh. I’ve never read a romantic comedy written by Elle James, in fact I’ve never read anything else by her quite like this and I loved it! Least you think that funny doesn’t also include sexy time, something Elle always does well, let me assure you that by around 50% we have some seriously sexy stuff going on! Craig has been hexed by a Voodoo priestess. He’s doomed to live as a frog by day and a man by night unless he finds true love before the next full moon which is about 2 weeks away. There’s just one problem, Craig is commitment phobic and has no desire to settle down. This premise gives Elle James the opportunity to write some terrific scenes for Craig. He has to make sure that he’s not out in public when he transforms – especially when he changes from frog to man as frogs don’t wear clothes. LOL This is where some of the really funny stuff comes out. Elaine is a scientist spending time in the bayou trying to find the cause for why fish and other water dwellers are dying. She needs to gather specimens but she’s deathly afraid of water. Craig is tasked to help by taking her out into the bayou at night on a small boat and he has to help calm her fears. Elaine can’t quite understand her overwhelming attraction to Craig as she’s never had these kinds of feelings before. Whenever she’s around him she trips over her words and becomes very inarticulate – quite the opposite of the respected scientist she usually is. Elaine and Craig have quite a few adventures in this story. There is also mystery and intrigue thrown in as well as a few close calls. All in all this is quite a story and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I look forward to reading more of this type of story from Elle James. I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review but I enjoyed this story so much that I pre-ordered it so I’d have my own personal copy.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by: Robin Book provided by: book provided by the publisher for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book I am delighted to know that this is the first in what looks to be a rather fun series. Just the idea of the magic of the bayou, Cajun folklore, frog princes or in this case frog lawyers, intrigue (to a point), and nerdy female scientist in a bad need of a makeover. This is a story with a twist or rather a cross between ‘The Frog Prince’ and the movie ‘Shrek’. When I first read the line… “By day a frog, by night a man, ‘til de next full moon…” I have to admit I thought of Shrek as I had just watched it recently on TV. Also a big fan of Disney I had just seen the ‘Princess and the Frog’ also. So how do you want to know do you mix the two? Easy you have Ms. Elle James write Voodoo on the Bayou. It is a contemporary take on a classic fairytale. Craig Thibodeaux a lawyer in New Orleans has been coming to Bayou Miste to spend the summers with his Uncle is in town for business. That is until this womanizer (who wants no commitment from anyone) ends up crossing the paths of the wrong girl. After spurning the unwanted advances of said girl she runs to her grand maw who just so happens to be Voodoo Queen Madame LeBieu. So that is where we find ourselves or should I say Craig as he is tied to a tree in the Bayou while he listen as Madame LeBieu puts a ‘Gree-Gree’/curse for non- Cajun’s on him. What is this extremely hot man to do? With the help of bayou magic Elaine Smith, a scientist in New Orleans receives an anonymous sample of the Bayou Miste water and heads down there as she needs a break from the lab and her cheating ex fiancé. When first Elaine encounters Craig he is, shall we shall in his full glory as he has just changed from frog to man. She is of course quite attracted to him. Who wouldn’t be? A handsome man/frog right up her alley… the one is anyway. Ms. James had such a warm way of bringing this classic fairytale into the modern world. The characters were so warm and real I even enjoyed the secondary characters almost more than Craig and Elaine. The way she wrote the dialect put you write in the center of the bayou where you could imagine the local people out there frogging for a living. With the moss hanging and the alligators swimming, she actually brought the bayou to life. Even Madame LeBieu who is a legend was real. Making her someone’s grand maw made her a fierce and loving person one not to be reckoned with. Elaine has her own transformation as she tries to solve the contamination of the bayou along with the feelings for Craig. She is helped along by some locals by changing from nerdy scientist to sexy woman. As the ever elusive Craig changes from frog to man to frog he finds himself falling fast for Elaine. Can she be the one to break this voodoo curse? I loved the quirkiness of the people of the bayou. The warmth and loyalty of the characters made each person seem more real as if they were your neighbors. I could visualize the bayou, from the dumping of toxic waste to the frogs and alligators from the descriptions. Even the people, the buildings, the boats, the bar, the salon it was as if I were there. Such a fun infectious story that captures you and won’t let you go even at the end. I can’t wait for the next story of the Cajun Magic Series…I hope we get to follow Uncle Joe’s story.
DesertJules More than 1 year ago
Craig Thibodeaux has gotten himself on the wrong side of Lisa LeBieu's temper. Tied to a tree, in the middle of the night, the voodoo drums and chanting seem like a really bad joke. But Grandmama LeBieu isn't kidding. The Voodoo Queen is serious, and powerful, and the commitment-phobic attorney gets hexed. Frog by day, man by night, he has 'til the full moon to find love. Or he'd better learn to like flies. Oh, and there's one little catch: his intended love can't know anything about the curse. Someone sent Elaine Smith water from Bayou Miste. When the sample turns out to be loaded with toxins, a trip to the bayou to investigate is just what the research scientist needs to take her mind off her cheating ex. But the nerdy researcher has no idea what she's about to get herself into. ~*~*~ Not usually a big 'voodoo' fan, it's so often overdone and hokey, I put my faith in the publisher on this one. And I am so happy that I did. Hands down, froggy-Craig was one of the best parts of this book. The places where he gets stuck, on both sides of the transformations, are just hysterical. And don't get me started on Dawg. Almost as funny are Elaine's racy thoughts and babbling. But, then, it's hard to blame her. Every time she walks into the bait shop, Craig is standing there - newly transformed and naked. The misspellings and typos were a bit off-putting. And I found it odd that Elaine's ex had threatened to come down, early in the story, and then was never heard from again. But it was still a great bayou adventure. Just be warned - once you pick up Voodoo on the Bayou, you won't be able to put it down. ~*~*~ Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary electronic copy of this book from the publisher [...]. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
BarbaraMS More than 1 year ago
Frog/men unite What a hoot! A frog/man, a love story, a mystery & an environmental mess. Elle James wrote a fun story out of all of that. Can't wait to read the next one.
shannschoice More than 1 year ago
This fun and intriguing story was great! I enjoyed it from start to finish. Voodoo, Cajun culture, and a frog? I’m sold. The author introduced the reader to a wonderful, quirky cast of characters and a world that so many of us are drawn to simply because of its uniqueness and mystery. She also wrote in some super steamy scenes, making this story read like a dirty fairy tale. The two main characters in the book, Craig and Elaine were so much fun to get to know. Craig falls into the spell of Voodoo, which ultimately leads him to the smart and ambitious Elaine. Once introduced, the two of them have an undeniable chemistry that creates a sexy and erotic relationship. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a sexy and bewitching romance.  Reviewed by Marie for Cocktails and Books
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
Voodoo on the Bayou by Elle James starts off with one of the most implausible hooks, but once you get past that, it moves along at a good pace. The reason behind the voodoo curse is never really explained, or at least, the way it is explained makes absolutely no sense. Furthermore, the reason Craig’s so-called friends go along with it is never explained either. But, once you move past that and just accept that the curse is reality, the fun begins. With Craig in frog form all day, he gets to stealthily observe his lady Elaine. Elaine is a scientist whose own romance recently went off the rails. She’s not interested in a happily ever after or any “fun” on the side as she tries to figure out what is poisoning the bayou. Craig, on the other hand, is in desperate need for someone, anyone, to fall in love with him in the next two weeks. Without it, he’ll be stuck as a frog for the rest of his life. Add one bad guy, one loyal dog, two ridiculously silly friends, and boil it all up for a fun story. Sadly, the fun is mixed with some really bad mojo. The characters are a bit too stereotypical – everyone from the Voodoo Priestess to Lisa the tramp. The slimy bad guy? Yeah, he’s so obvious the flies had a field day with him. Need a mouthy neighborhood gossip? She’s right here. Even Elaine is your stereotypical “can’t see the forest for the trees” scientist. RATING: 2 Heat Rating: Mild REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves,My Book Addiction Reviews
RookieRomance More than 1 year ago
(I gave this 3 and a half hearts originally at The Rookie Romance Blog, but it's good enough for 4 stars!) There's something about a book set in New Orleans, or Louisiana that always attracts my attention. Maybe it's because it seems like a different world than the one here in the UK! So with bayou in the title, I was already interested. Plus, a story with a little magical twist is always welcomed by me! Elaine is crazy smart, she got her degree when everyone else her age was in high school. She's not the biggest people person and feels more comfortable behind a microscope. When her fiance cheats on her, she heads to Bayou Miste to investigate possible pollution in the water. Her self-esteem's low and she is vulnerable from her relationship ending and the things her ex said about her. Then she meets Craig, a guy she knows she should stay away from, but can't help but be drawn to. Craig is a ladies man, no denying it. He's not looking for love or commitment, until Madame LeBieu puts a voodoo spell on him- then love is exactly what he's looking for. Or at least for someone to love him! I was glad that Craig wasn't some heartless schmuck, he didn't want to use Elaine to break the curse because he didn't want to hurt her. As Craig acts as Elaine's swamp guide, she gets under his skin and the chemistry between them is great. There were a few elements I wished had been explored more, and I felt that the ending was too rushed. Their love declaration was right at the end, and Elaine never finds out about the curse. I'd have enjoyed seeing the reaction from her because she's so scientific and pragmatic. I loved the times when Elaine would blurt out the wrong thing because she was distracted by Craig- it was great. Their romance was sweet, the chemistry was there from the start but the romance built nicely. Overall, it was a fun story with plenty to entertain and great secondary characters. I'll be looking out for this author's books in the future. *I was provided with a review copy by Entangled Publishing for my honest opinion.
AlishaM More than 1 year ago
Phew! As a Mississippi raised girl myself, I know a thing or two about the magic the Southern nights can bring on two unsuspecting people and Elle James shows she does too in her book Voodoo on the Bayou. This book opens with New Orleans lawyer and playboy Craig Thibodeaux finding himself in an unwanted predicament when he realizes he’s pissed off a Voodoo priestess for blowing off her granddaughter. What’s the priestess’ revenge? She places a curse on Craig that turns him into a frog by day and a human by night. The only way for the curse to be broken is for him to find his true love…but he only have two weeks to do it and with his track record, it won’t be easy. In comes the socially awkward but incredibly determined Elaine Smith. Elaine is a brilliant scientist who has evidence that the bayou’s water has been contaminated—and it’s her job to find out who’s behind it. Elaine herself is feeling the very recent sting of finding her fiancé cheating with another woman, and is more than eager to throw herself into her new mission. Her plans take a turn when she realizes Craig will be her guide—and he’s awakening feelings she’s never experienced before. I read this book in one sitting, not because it was short but because the sexual tension between Craig and Elaine wouldn’t let me put the book down! James’ Craig is the perfect sexy Southern male and Elaine is not blind to it, putting them both in situations where they give into the heat that has formed between them. Both Craig and Elaine have to deal with their own skeletons in their past which keeps the story believable amidst humans turning into frogs and Voodoo magic. For those looking for an entertaining and steamy read, you’ll definitely have to check out Voodoo on the Bayou! I give this story five out of five for having me fanning in the middle of winter while reading it!