Verity

Verity

by Lisa T. Bergren

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Verity 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Reli 13 days ago
The second book in "The Sugar Baron's Daughters" series, this book focuses mainly on the second daughter, Verity Banning. There is something about the Banning sisters that are different from most women in their station of life and time period. Independent with a strong sense of justice, these women are determined to follow through on what they believe is their mission in life. Verity loves horses and wants to have her own store. She also loves a sea captain that's disappeared. And she's on a mission to start her store and find the man, but will she succeed. A lady store owner isn't looked on kindly by most people on the island of Nevis, so will she succeed? I am not going to say much more about the storyline, except to say that there isn't as much romance as there is intrigue, or at least that's my opinion. The story is loosely historical fiction set at the start of the Revolutionary War and loyalties are tested. To be found wanting is to receive the hangman's noose, so secrecy is at a premium. I found the story captivating and quite interesting and I look forward to the third book in the series. I am assuming it will be called Selah, but I don't know when it will be out, but I do want to find out how all the loose ends from book two get tied together in book three. I love the sister bond that the three Banning sisters shared, the family ties in the midst of uncertainty portray a closeness that is enviable among most families. I received this book from Bethany House Publishers via NetGalley and was not required to write a positive review.
RobinWillson 9 months ago
"Everything was about to change." I love the girls in this series! Talk about strong women. 1775 West Indies and America. Verity decides to go out on her own and start her own business. She's family oriented, so of course it ties into the family business. At one point Verity says for herself and her sisters, "No one, either Tory or Loyalist, male or female, shall see my vulnerabilities, she decided. I will be strong." I can identify. This takes place at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, and they are still fighting slavery on the Island. This is one of those books where you become deeply entranced and involved. And hold your breath a lot. Many dangerous and heartfelt situations. Good Christian message. I find this a particularly interesting time in history of the United States, probably because I had relatives who were in the thick of it. So well written, I believe in these characters, their abilities and where their hearts are. Excellent tale - can't wait for the continuation! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher and NetGalley book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” #Verity #LisaTBergren #NetGalley #BooksYouCanFeelGoodAbout
MelissaF 10 months ago
This is the second book in this series. I forgot how much I liked these sassy sisters. In this book we get to know Verity more. She is a strong young woman, how doesn’t always follow the rules of how a young lady should behave in that time period. Ian is a wonderful hero bent on revenge for his brother. The two are drawn together, yet forces and past wounds keep them apart. This isn’t a fast moving book. although it is never boring, it’s just a longer book that takes a bit more time to get through. And I wanted to savor every image the author put on the page. A copy of this book was given to me. All opinions are my own.
Mgt_Nelson_12 More than 1 year ago
If you have not read the first book in the Sugar Baron's Daughters series, Keturah, you will want to do so before reading this second book. Verity begins in 1775, and those with American roots know the significance of that date. The 3 Banning sisters living on British-controlled Nevis, get pulled into the American War for Independence in unexpected ways. Although this book focuses on Verity, the middle sister, the reader also learns more about Keturah and her husband, and Selah, the youngest sister. Bergren has done an amazing job of pulling together so many strands of history into a riveting, fast-paced novel that deals with love and hate, revenge and forgiveness, slavery and freedom. There are men and women of integrity facing off with brutal bullies. There are heart-stopping scenes of tragedy and suspense, as well as tender moments of love and hope. I had a hard time putting the book down, and I'll be eager to read the final book in the series, Selah, to learn more about the Sugar Baron's daughters.
Christianfictionandmore More than 1 year ago
Verity picks up the story of The Sugar Baron's Daughters much where Keturah left off, focusing on the middle daughter. Verity pursues her desire to become a merchant on the island of Nevis where she and her sisters reside, much to the consternation of many of the islanders. To go much past that, this review would be rife with spoilers. Something, I will not do. I can say that I most highly recommend this book, but strongly suggest reading the series in sequential order. You will be glad that you did. Lisa Bergren gives her readers the feel of the West Indies as well as crowded colonial cities. Her dialogue is believable and evokes strong emotions and empathy for her characters. I am grateful to have received a copy of this book from Bethany House via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review and received no monetary compensation.
Dauphinargente More than 1 year ago
I loved Verity. This is a series where I have really connected to the characters. Lisa started off this series with Keturah taking us on a journey in 1773 from England to the West Indies. In Verity we get to better know the story of a second Banning sister and experience what life was like for the daughter of a sugar baron trying to make her way through an import business in the colonies as she attempts to find information on lost beau, Captain Duncan McKintrick. Yet again Lisa spins a vivid tale that puts you right in the moment, letting you experience the hardship and joys of Verity's adventure. This historical book is a fantastic read that left me excited for the next book in the series.. This is a book I will be reading again and I really hope it comes out on audio book as well.
Kelly Hodgkins More than 1 year ago
“There was nothing for it. Verity had to set aside her misgivings and do what she felt she ought. She dug her booted heels into Fiona’s flanks, and the big chestnut mare resumed their climb up the steep, rocky path. She wished her resolve could be as steady and sure as her mount’s gait. Because what was to come…well, the mere thought of it left her feeling quite ill.” - Opening lines of Verity by Lisa T. Bergren Verity, by Lisa T. Bergren, is the second in the sugar baron’s daughters series and continues where Keturah leaves off. Whilst a story in and of itself, I highly recommend reading this series in order to fully appreciate the journey. Having loved the first, I have been anticipating this one ever since and it doesn’t disappoint! A fine balance of romance and realism is struck in this novel. It is full of adventure, faith and hope as well as rich with historical details. Whilst life in the West Indies is harsh and the people our lead characters come up against are brutal, the beauty of the surrounds and the power of love triumphs over it all. Our leading lady, Verity, sets her mind to selling both horses and horse-related items imported from America and her travel between the two lands is on the seas are fraught with British and Patriot fighters. Being a horse-lover, I wish to reassure future readers, no horses were harmed during the novel – I always hold my breathe whilst reading in fear an animal may be injured! – but it is packed with fascinating facts about transporting and training them which I thoroughly enjoyed! As the conflict drew to a head between Britain and the Americas, several acts were put in place to suppress the uprising including having to allow soldiers to take up residence in one’s home, feeding and caring for them at one’s own cost! Astounding! Details like these are woven into the story which makes its fabric all the more interesting! Christianity sits at the heart, as it did in the first book, and finding joy and hope after loss and heartbreak is the central theme. Standing apart from the world’s norms of slavery and the place of women causes strife for the whole family and finding a way to be true to God if not the way of the world is explored beautifully. The writing is exquisite and the characters wonderful! I eagerly anticipate book number three, Selah, and highly recommend this one! It’s a five out of five on the en-JOY-ment scale.
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
I loved being back on Nevis and with the Banning sister’s and their families, and this book mainly focuses on sister Verity. I would recommend that you read the first book in this series, Keturah, so good! These are strong women and Verity is now leaving her mark and setting up her own store selling mostly horses and tack, and with the help of Ian McKintrick, brother of Duncan, she has been to NY and the Carolina’s to get her stock. Now with British soldiers living on their plantation, and the threat of war on the horizon, these women are going to have to make changes. There is still evil lingering on the island, and we meet the main nemesis again, and yes, I wished him ill will. I can’t wait for the next book in this series so I can go on with the Banning woman and their loves and trial, and find out how this wraps up! I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Bethany House, and was not required to give a positive review.
DianaFlow More than 1 year ago
If you love lush plantations, romantic balls, spies, and swashbuckling heroes, join Lisa T. Bergen as she takes the reader on an exhilarating journey to Nevis in the Caribbean—with the fragrance of magnolias, red bougainvillea, white jasmine, and sea salt on the air! Drawn together through mutual tragedy...the lovely, courageous, Verity, and the irresistible, Captain Ian McKintrick, share an undeniable chemistry from their first meeting. As the two join forces in colonial America to spy against the British will tragedy strike once again? Bergen is a skillful wordsmith with the ability to create such realistic scenarios that the reader can totally visualize being there. My heart felt like it literally dropped to my stomach when Verity is detained by the suspicious British on several of her missions. And oh, the toe-curling romance. That Ian...sigh. Although the other two sisters reappear in this novel it can easily be read as a stand alone. But I highly recommend reading 'Keturah' first to become acquainted with all the wonderful characters in this series! I received a copy of this novel from Bethany House through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this second book of the Sugar Baron's Daughters series, we see Verity come into her own and realize who she is meant to be, and what she is meant to do with her life. She takes many bold steps in answer to God's calling on her life, and faces numerous challenges and struggles, but never alone. Lisa has done it again, with a book that draws you in, leading you to love the characters and be pulled into the time period and struggles. As a woman, I particularly loved the women in these books who are ahead of their time, and going against conventional practices. I cannot wait to read the third book in this series, I always finish her books wanting more!
irishniff More than 1 year ago
I waited so long for this book and was captivated when I read this moving story. Verity is full of adventure with characters facing struggles and finding personal strength, as well as, strength within community. The storyline inspires readers to fight for what is right and pursue their dreams. The added romance is wonderfully discovered. Lisa Bergren once again delivers well researched historical fiction that only left me wanting more. Now, I anxiously await the next book in the series. I was given a copy of this book by the publisher. All opinions are mine.
MFurumasu More than 1 year ago
In the first book of this series by Lisa T. Bergren, Keturah brought her two sisters with her to the West Indies to take over the sugar plantation which was her father’s. We see how each of these three sisters are women with grit and determination. In this second book of The Sugar Baron’s Daughters, we learn more about the three sisters, however, this book focuses on Verity, the middle sister, who wants something to call her own. She feels a bit lost and misunderstood. She has hopes and dreams of becoming one of the first women to own her own mercantile. Along the way to completing this dream, Verity is hit with many struggles and losses. She learns to stand up for herself and make choices which might not appear right by all. Lisa T. Bergren is a wonderful storyteller. She has painted beautiful pictures in words, for us to be captured and taken to a time when life was lived day by day. Where, “tomorrow is a hope, not a promise.” This story has lots of drama, a bit of suspense and wonderfully sweet romance. It is also full of loyalty of friends, and family, who believe in and support Verity no matter what. I am now waiting to hear more about young Selah and her deep desires to care for others. Oh, what interesting things will we learn?! I know we will also hear more about Verity and Ian and their many adventures. I was given this book by the publisher and Netgalley. All opinions are my own.