Unzipped (Chrissy McMullen Series #1)

Unzipped (Chrissy McMullen Series #1)

by Lois Greiman

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Unzipped 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought it was just as good as the Stephine Plum novels I have read. They are fun and witty.
LoveToRead1963 More than 1 year ago
Funny. I love reading these books. I laugh out loud each time.
vanedow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It's a fun and fast read, with lots of humor. Chrissy McCallum is a psychologist/PI wannabe. When one of her clients drops dead during a session (and attempted assault) and she is the #1 suspect in his death, Chrissy decides to do her own investigation. Alternately helped and hindered by the extremely sexy Jack Rivera, she bumbles her way into mishaps and maybe the answer to the mystery. Ok, I'm going to make the comparison you're already thinking. Yes, this is a little bit like Evanovich's Plum books. But in a good way. This is definitely one of the better "Plum-esque" books I've read. Having a background in psychology, I enjoyed having the main character in that profession. (I'm pretty sure I found a couple of misused terms and concepts, but oh well.) The banter between Chrissy and Jack is pretty darn funny, and yet the sexual tension is alive and well. This is a bit of an older title, published in 2006, so that means I can go out and get the next one ASAP!
TheLibraryhag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Christina McMullen has worked hard to go from waitress in a seedy bar to getting her degrees to be a psychologist in LA. So the last thing she needs is for her most high-profile patient to drop dead in her office with his fly open. But that is just what happens. When suspicions turn to her, she decides to find out exactly who is responsible.I really enjoyed this book. It is very funny and the mystery is pretty good. I like Chrissy and the whole cast of characters. People who like Stephanie Plum will probably really enjoy this first book in the series.
bookwormteri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not so much into mystery anymore, but recall reading another by her and enjoying it. A very fun read, likable heroine, worth picking up.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts When I started reading this book I immediately thought of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum. She and Chrissy both have the worst luck. Imagine being a psychologist treating a football hunk for a certain dysfunction and have him say he is cured and gives you very private visual evidence as he chases you around the office. Yup, that happened to Chrissy, and then the guy keels over dead at her feet. A quick 911 call should bring help but instead brings Detective Jack Rivera, also a hunk, but he think Chrissy murdered her patient and nothing she says seems to change his mind. She is on her own to prove she did not kill her almost rapist. While classified as a cozy type mystery it has a strong chick lit feel with adult scenes and language. It is a zany story, Chrissy is a hilarious protagonist. Cocktail waitress turned psychologist, with a mother that just wants her to come back home, gets herself into some dicey and comical predicaments. Her friend and assistant Laney tries to keep her friend out of trouble. She also has a geeky friend Solberg, he can hack anything and has a high tech job that allows him to drive one sweet ride. Chrissy also checks in regularly with her mentor Dr. David, more now with the dead body in her office. The relationship with Detective Rutabaga, I mean Rivera, Chrissy never uses his real name, was the most enjoyable part of this book. While the plot is far fetched it was an entertaining read. The investigation by the police wasn’t too intense and there was no real evidence. Chrissy was trying to clear her name rather than find the actual killer. Her queries did make the murderer worry she was actually going to figure out the truth and that did put her in imminent danger. I was surprised totally by the reveal as was Chrissy. I wish there had been more clues throughout the story rather than the explanation at the end. As the first book in this series it is a good start. I am not completely sold on these characters yet but being the first book there is plenty of room for development. The dialogue between characters was good and the quotes the begin each chapter were quite humorous and gives us just a peek at others in Chrissy’s life. I definitely want to see where the author takes these characters as the series continues. A lighthearted read for a lazy afternoon.
grizzie430 More than 1 year ago
I love characters that have some realism to them - Chrissy is not perfect by any means, but has flaws you could see in your best friend! She is trying to fit into the LA scene as a psychologist when some days she just wants to go back home. Suddenly she is sucked into a murder with herself as prime suspect! She butts heads with the police dept - namely Riveria trying to clear her name. Solid story line with great character banter! Can't wait to continue reading the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love the "un" series! Can't wait for more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
really funny. crazy characters in zany situations. it's no Stephanie Plum but i want more!
melbiddle More than 1 year ago
This is a good book. It has comedy, romance, and murder. A very good combination in a book I think. The characters are great. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth $8.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago