The Time Machine and The Invisible Man (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

The Time Machine and The Invisible Man (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Paperback

$5.00 $8.95 Save 44% Current price is $5, Original price is $8.95. You Save 44%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Time Machine and The Invisible Man (Barnes & Noble Classics Series) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 235 reviews.
Ludwig1770 More than 1 year ago
The Invisible Man is a great classic book... HG Wells is a master at creating suspense and leaving you wanting more. This is the 3rd book i read from him and he still has yet to disappoint ! Recommend you read this soon !!
BookThiefGT More than 1 year ago
I am continued to be blown away by H.G. Wells. Everyone one of his stories brings something new to the science fiction genre and never lets down his true fans' expectations. The time machine seemed more thought out, but I cant put my foot on which story I enjoyed more. Anyways, If you are looking for a book to keep you glued to the couch for a couple of hours, then I recommend this.
Stewart_the_Wise More than 1 year ago
I recently bought two B&N Classics editions. The other was Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Both books have the same problems, but it seems worse in the Wells edition.

Both begin with an introduction that I feel should not be read first if you've never read these books. If B&N truly wants to include these opinions, they should be in the back of the book.

More irritating is the constant need to define words. In the first chapter of Time Machine, I believe 6 words were given a * with clarification in the footnotes.

Dorian Gray had this, too, but it was mostly to clear up antiquated local knowledge points. That is useful.

What is not useful is breaking up the reading flow to offer a definition of a normal - not even obscure - English word. For example, in Chapter 1, the term "sleight of hand" was defined in this manner. Odds are, if you're reading this book, you already know that term.

I wanted these books in my house, and the price looked great, but next time I'll buy a more pure edition. The constant notations in this edition are the literary equivalent of pop-ups on a website.
ImKosher More than 1 year ago
This is the foundation and origin of science fiction as we know it. Easy read. You will enjoy this book.
GordonF More than 1 year ago
The Time Machine is a great, if short, story giving a glimpse into human nature, society, and an author's vision going so far into the future it's awe inspiring. The Invisible Man is a horror story at the core, and excellent display of desire and loss of control.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book a long time ago, in grade school. I purchased this copy, because I wanted to read it immediately preceding Stephen Baxter's Time Ships, which is said to be the sequel to Well's Time Machine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
H.G. Wells is one of those writers where I find that I am more interested in him than I am in his writing. Does that make me hopeless? I liked the Time Machine and the Invisible Man, but I don't love them. They are interesting as early speculative fiction and certainly interesting in the social perspective that they uncover. But interesting is not the same as moving for me, somehow. Of the two novels, I liked the Time Machine the best. Justly famous both for being an ancestor of modern speculative fiction and for its social message about classes, it is a strong piece of writing. The Morlocks, the Eloi, the decaying world-- Wells paints a compelling picture, and I understand and appreciate the work. The Invisible Man seemed much less developed to me. I like the way that the main character's invisibility both led to and stemmed from his questioning of moral certainty. Unfortunately the idea seemed much more developed than the story itself-- as though Wells had been bored with carrying things through. I think that the next Wells that I pick up would be his Experiment in Autobiography. I suspect that given how much more I like his ideas than his fiction skills I may be better off with non-fiction and letters. Both these short novels are still must-reads by virtue of their influence and historical significance. Recommended for readers of all ages. In fact, they might have gone down better with me when I was younger.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Time Machine was one of H.G. Wells' greatest books. I liked this book because his theories are convincing, like that we could travel through time, as our minds do, and this book shows that when life becomes perfect life will still be imperfect. This story tells us about the fall of man as intelligence degrades, and cannibalism comes forth. Although the ending is sad, I recommend this book to anyone who understands H.G Wells' style of writing
Guest More than 1 year ago
The 'Time Machine' is a wonderful little novel. Its plot is very straightforward, interesting, and well-written, but more than that the ideas that it arouses are very special. I love books about the nature of time, and this is a good starting place to search for its meaning.
mapconsultant on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Are we making too much about these very simple stories? Wells uses humor and is clearly a very fine writter, But these stories may appeal more to the young adult or teen. But thought provoking? A Classic? I wonder.
adamallen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What needs to be said? These are core readings for anyone who loves to read. Wells is a genius who was before his time.
norabelle414 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two short(ish) stories make for a nicely sized novel, with similar themes in both stories. A quick and easy, but thought-provoking, read.
cataryna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Time Machine is the classic novella that birthed one the world¿s most famous science fiction authors, H.G. Wells. It tells the story of ¿The Time Traveler¿ and the adventures he has using the time machine he invented. The novella begins with the Time Traveler briefly explaining space and time and how traveling between the two is possible to a small group of friends during an apparent weekly gathering. The following week, the group gathers again and The Time Traveler explains his adventures while using the Time Machine. He describes watching the time pass quickly before his eyes as he sits in his machine and what he sees when he stops in the year 802,701. He describes what he believes to be a Utopian society of human-like creatures called Eloi. The Eloi are peaceful people, living their lives harmoniously together with all their needs somehow mysteriously met. They are complete vegetarians and The Time Traveler notes that there appears to be no animals whatsoever. They have no known leadership and seem to have no worries and no fear. However, he is deceived by his initial impression. The Eloi do fear one thing; darkness. The Time Traveler discovers why when he spots a creature completely unlike the Eloi; a white human-like creature called a Morlock. The Time Traveler chases one of these Morlocks into what he believes to be a well of some kind. He soon discovers that the Morlocks are subterranean creatures and that they have taken his time machine. A brief battle ensues when The Time Traveler attempts to retrieve his machine and he is saved by using the machine. He goes several hundreds of thousands more years into the future and sees what can only be the eventual destruction of the earth by the sun.In my opinion, the key parts of this book are The Time Travelers commiserations on the Eloi and the Morlocks. He thinks that at some point the human species split, some living above ground know as the Eloi and others living below ground, the Morlocks. He hypothesizes that over the generations, the well-to-do committed the poorer classes to the subterranean depths as laborers. I found this part particularly poignant given the current trend in America of the gradual diminishment of the middle class. Could it be that the book tells what the future truly holds for the human race? Anything is possible. However, I hope that we do not diminish in our humanity to the level of the things the Morlock¿s did in order to survive.The Time Machine is a great short read and definitely deserves it¿s place in the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list.The Invisible Man is another classic H.G. Wells novella. It tells the story of Griffin, a scientist who doses himself with a serum he created that causes invisibility. Griffin discovers that being invisible has its benefits, but it also has downfalls. Griffin eventually goes mad and believes that with his new power of invisibility he can rule the town of Port Burdock. It is unclear whether Griffin was the typical ¿mad scientist¿ before taking the serum or whether it is a result of the serum. My wager would be the former.I did not find The Invisible Man as good as The Time Traveler but it still deserves it¿s place on the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list.
perlle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Most children think of invisibility as a super power, so this book¿s protagonist being both invisible and hobbled was an ingenious idea. Invisibility is only a superpower if one can become visible again at will. Then the parallels to subjective invisibility are also easy to come to¿It was also interesting that Wells "protagonist" has no redeeming qualities. If Wells had a point to make I can¿t help but wonder how he was accomplishing it with an angry, crazy main character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago