Three Days to Never: A Novel

Three Days to Never: A Novel

by Tim Powers

Paperback

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Three Days to Never 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was spellbound from the very first page. I¿ve never read anything quite like ¿Three Days To Never¿ by Tim Powers before. What a skillfully creative and imaginative novel. It was purely enjoyable. He goes where no one else has ventured. Just imagine a strange unfolding of spies trying to uncover the hidden secrets of Albert Einstein. There are other wonderful characters too such as Franklin Roosevelt and Charlie Chaplin. A father, Frank Marrity, and his twelve-year-old daughter Daphne are completely involved to their surprise ¿ their lives become a fantastical adventure beyond anything any one could imagine. Reading this novel is like being on a magic carpet ride that gets wilder with every turn. Tim Powers writes with a passion that has peaked my interest and curiosity and I feel compelled to venture deeper into his imagination. I¿m currently looking for his other works of wonderment. Bravo!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In 1987 Frank Marrity's grandma dies suddenly during the New Age Harmonic Convergence. The family comes to the deceased¿s home in Pasadena where Frank¿s twelve years old daughter Daphne takes a videotape to watch. The flick is a lost Chaplin classic, but it does not leave the preadolescent watching it laughing. Instead some subliminal compelling symbols awaken a dormant fire starter-kinetic skill inside of Daphne to her trepidation her new talent leads to the burning of the tape. --- Not long afterward, Frank going through his grandmother¿s documents uncovers a shocking find that she was Albert Einstein's illegitimate daughter. Though he tries to keep this quiet until he can figure out what this means, two dangerous groups learn of his connection to the late great scientist. The Kabbalah cell of the Mossad and a Gnostic sect want Frank, Daphne and the documents both sides will do whatever to take what they covet as each believes that Einstein discovered a weapon more powerful than the atom bomb, but so fearful of its potential pandemic devastation, he refused to give this weapon of ultra mass destruction to even President Roosevelt. --- THREE DAYS TO NEVER is a superb science fiction espionage thriller that proves that Tim Powers (apropos name for this novel) writes tales faster than the speed of light. The action-packed story line is fast-paced yet never loses focus of the two Einstein offspring being in jeopardy with no one but themselves to trust. Readers will root for the precocious Daphne and her dad to defeat their adversaries, but the odds are overwhelming as the enemy comes from two sides and each moment a new one seems to arise. If relativity is genuine, this one sitting tale will receive several award nominations as one of the year¿s best thrillers. --- Harriet Klausner
tundranocaps on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The book starts slow, but picks up in pace as it continues and plot-lines connect.Reminds one of Last Call (Mystic screening, etc.) and The Anubis Gates (Literature and time travel).Unlike his other books, where what we face we understand, and as time goes on we get revealed more and understand more, here we get revealed more from the get-go, but only understand it later.I think it was not the right book to translate, it came out in 2006 and was translated to Hebrew in 2008, but it was translated because he thanks people from the Israeli book scene and researched stuff during his visit here in 2005.Two things don't make sense, why did grandma have a gold swastika at the place she reached, and how did it get there?And why did Oren get a phantom-baby when he traveled back, shouldn't it only appear when he slingshots back to the present?
agirlandherbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A sci-fi-ish novel I'd have never picked up without reading a positive review, but what a reward! A father and daughter become enmeshed in a government plot, and the father not only sees the future, but has to make an incredibly difficult moral choice. I'll definitely be reading Tim Powers again.
cajela on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is another Tim Powers urban fantasy thriller, and if you like his style you won't be disappointed with this one. This book cleverly mixes up Albert Einstein, Charlie Chaplin, the Nazis, Mossad, a time machine, and a man whose daughter might be dead in another timeline.It's fast paced, and the sheer abundance and verve of the telling make it hard to put down.
lewispike on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's almost redundant to say this is an odd book - it's a Tim Powers book after all. But even for him, it's an odd book.It's set (mostly) in 1987 LA and concerns the hidden inventions of Einstein - a machine that lets you travel in space and time, and a process that lets you completely remove someone from space-time. It mixes in psychic investigators and remote viewers from government programmes and a huge dose of literary material that initially makes sense and then becomes increasingly bizarrely related to the story.Despite all of that, it is a good read. It's a bit slow at times but it's fascinating and wonderfully done.
lithicbee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the first book by Tim Powers that I read and I thought it was pretty good if a bit confusing at times. But good confusing, like Lost. I haven't read anything in a while (not since the Illuminatus Trilogy maybe) that includes so much occult activities in a modern setting. You've got spies, psychic powers, poltergeists, telepathy, remote viewing, time travel, Einstein, Charlie Chaplin, a blind woman who sees out of other people's eyes (her memories of sex are of her own face, not her lovers'). It is a heady mix and it took me a little bit to get into it, but by the second half of the book it was whizzing along. And the ending actually made sense and explained everything to my satisfaction. Let's hope Lost can do the same!
Harlan879 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tim Powers is one of my favorite authors, but this is not one of my favorite of his books. There are a few clever aspects -- he always starts his books well, and the woman who can only see out of other peoples' eyes is a great idea. But the plot gets bogged down by a too-intricate and unpredictable supernatural plot, and he has too many characters and so can't focus enough on the core (as usual, mostly family) relationships. The climactic scene is written as if Powers was trying to get all the information from a complex 5-D map and schematic into text, and it just doesn't work. My suggestion is to re-read Declare instead.
heidilove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wonderful. If you're a Powers fan, this will satisfy. If you're not a Powers fank, it's wonderful, though not the best introduction to powers that there is. Read it anyway. Once again Powers explores the impact of the past on our present perception of reality, the import of other dimensions, and how what we think and how we love is the most important thing we will ever do.
RoC on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm never too sure what I think of Tim POwers books til i've read them several times. This one seemed to me like a return to the more compelling books he wrote set in contempory america (OK, I know its 1986, but thats contemporary enough) such as Last Call, and I did feel very involved with the characters. Still not sure i liked it as much as some of his work, but then all Tim Powers books are great, so thats just nit-picking.
grizzly.anderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'd put this right up there with The Anubis Gates and Last Call as my favorite Tim Powers books, and one that I will read over and over again. As with most of his books, it has an everyman caught up in something he doesn't understand, trying to find a way out. There are supernatural powers that he must understand and learn to manipulate while multiple shadowy conspiracies with their own agendas try to help, or harm, or simply use him.Why do I like these the best? They are the ones that pull me in to the story, that feel like they are the best crafted. With some of his other books the McGuffin ties him too much to established genres - vampires, pirates, etc. - or his own previous stories and it effects the rhythm of the story he's trying to tell.Start with any of these three Powers books and you'll be hooked.
yarmando on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cluttered with unmemorable, interchangeable characters, this story pulls Einstein and Chaplin into a messy tale of espionage, ESP, and time travel. There were little nuggets of creativity, though: the blind woman who can see through others' eyes, the Mossad agent who suddenly knows that what he has just done is the last time he will do that, the infant doppelgangers that appear when one returns from time traveling.
PirateJenny on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is, well, Powersian. Take Einstein, Chaplin, time travel, Mosad, and a group called Vespers that has a mummified head and throw in Frank Marrity, an English professor, and his daughter, Daphne, who just happen to stumble into this mess via Grammar, Frank's grandmother. Obviously there are good guys, bad guys, and confused guys. I would have liked to know a bit more about the Vespers--any group that refers to the mummified head it has as the Baphomet head is sure to intrigue me. Perhaps I'd have been less interested in them if I knew more. But as with all Powers's books, it was weird, and funky, and Powersian. It's the best adjective I can come up with.
bookheaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first half of the book is frustrating but the second half is great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan. Tim Powers writes so convincingly and so clearly. The complex plots challenge and satisfy every time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago