Then Came You

Then Came You

by Lisa Kleypas

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Then Came You 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 108 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THEN CAME YOU is a story of two people who are both trying to escape from grief; Alex over the death of his fiancée, while Lily is trying to get her daughter back, who for all she knows might no longer even be alive. And it is this secret that she knows could possibly tear them apart, a possibility that tears at her guts for Alex is the only man who has ever given her happiness. Lily Lawson, sometimes referred to as Lawless Lily is known as a true eccentric and outrageous young woman. She gambles, swears, rides astride in pink breeches and seems to delight in shocking escapades. She wasn't always that way but after being jilted at the altar by her fiancé and her subsequent escape to Italy --- what had once been termed adventurous behavior was now termed outrageous! When an old and dear friend Zachary, Lord Stamford comes to her pleading that she intervene for him to save her sister Penny from marrying the harsh and cold Lord Alex Raiford, Earl of Wolverton, she finds that she couldn't refuse his request and travels to investigate herself how unsuitable a match this earl would be for her sister. Alex's impression of Lily was that she was no better than a demimonde - he'd heard the rumors of her association with the gamester, Derek Craven and her outrageous behavior only reinforced his opinion. The fact that he was seriously attracted to her only further enraged him as he saw through her charade in attempting to bring Zachary, the man her sister Penny was secretly in love with back together. After Lily successfully engineered her sisters elopement she knew that Alex would be out to punish her, but she never dreamed that the punishment would be so satisfyingly sensual! This is the second novel of Lisa Kleypas that I have read. I actually read DREAMING OF YOU first, which is the sequel (and even better than this). Read this and I guarantee that you will want to read Lisa Kleypas' other books.   
Ejaygirl More than 1 year ago
Lily Lawson is one the best heroines I've come across in a historical romance novel. She's clever, interesting and fiercely independent. She was determined that her sister, Penny, wouldn't be subjected to life in a loveless marriage, so much so that she risked her own neck for her happiness. Alex Raiford, Penny's intended, starts off as a pretty miserable character but transforms once he encounters Lily. Derek Craven, Lily's friend and owner of a gambling club, is equally enticing. Lily is unpredictable and you'll delight in figuring out what her next moves are going to be. In addition to having delicious and meaty characters, this book has one of the most interesting storylines and plots. Lily is a daring heroine for her time and one you don't want to miss. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series, especially since it's about Derek.
Loves2ReadKR More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kleypas is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. Then Came You is a wonderful book. While it was a bit hard for me to actually delve into, the story turned out to be gripping and impossible to put down. Two people. Two pasts that threaten to tear them apart. Lily Lawson, a fairly reckless and unconventional woman with a secret past. Alex, Lord Raiford, battling to overcome his lost love. The two find themselves head to head when Lily works to break the marriage between Alex and her sister. Lily thinks Alex is heartless. Alex thinks Lily is to impulsive for her own good. The two find themselves drawn together through unforeseen circumstances. As the two build their relationship together, Lily's secret threatens to tear the two apart. This story is beautiful and complex--not just your regular romance. Kleypas has the ability to look closely at her characters emotions. While you expect the "happy ending," Kleypas throws in twists and turns that make you smile, gasp, and laugh. It tugs at your heart. P.S. It sets you up well for Derek Craven's story in Dreaming of You.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I did not want to like this book but Kleypas pulled me in anyhow. I am not a fan of blonde leading males or of short hair on female leads....don't judge! Superficial I know but still the story pulled me in until I couldn't put it down. Great read with humor to boot...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is perhaps Kleypas' best portrayal of a female lead. Independent, demanding, and brazen Lily is the kind of hero I enjoy reading about. Though Lily was wonderful I hated her interractions with Derek, and never understood their friendship in the story. Also it should be noted to readers that the initial romance encounter is somewhat forced upon Lily due to a lost wager which is somewhat offensive and problematic. Overall Lily is one of my favorite characters but the romantic amd friendships written for the character felt more detrimental than romantic or endearing. Though Raiford is certainly not the worst hero Kleypas has ever written I would not have paired the two together considering how jealous, possesive, and controlling Raiford is.
Valerie Michel More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reading this one! Definitely one of my favorites from Lisa K.
Eternal--Love78 More than 1 year ago
The description located on the back cover of this novel is a facade, a ploy to tantalize you into purchasing it. Once you're captured, it snares your mind, and every thought you possess. Keeping you trapped against your will of ever escaping. Even this review will not reveal it's concealed mysteries. However I will tell you, the hidden indulgent moments, and the sexual escapades between Alex & Lily, have by far surpassed every expectation I had. Lily is an independent hellcat, a spitfire, rebellious, defiant, determined, and intelligent woman. Once meeting Alex, initially Lily presumes he's nothing more than a cold-hearted brute, who will eventually cause emotional and possible physical harm toward her sister, Penelope, if they marry. Since Lily & Alex constantly clash, and are at each other's throats most of the time, the ignited sparks of fire that burn between them never cool down. Alex being the controlled, sophisticated gentlemen becomes this unworldly passionate, lustful creature. Diminishing all of Lily's defenses. He literally is the epitome of what all women want, or possess in their husbands or lovers. Besides being a protector, and possessing the financial stability to live in one's lifestyle. Ultimately it's the acceptance of never, ever changing the woman they've become. Now that's a true treasure to behold. If you enjoy Lisa Kleypas's other novels, this one will not disappoint you, I promise. In my book, she ALWAYS DESERVES WELL BEYOND A 5 STAR RATING!!
curlyloulou More than 1 year ago
This was the first book in the gambler series and it was okay. I like Derek's story better than Lily's...a little unbelievable that anyone would really have liked her...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adored this book! From beginning to end, Alex and Lily never ceased to amaze me :) I find it particularly interesting that Lisa Kleypas can take a regularly used theme in romance novels--mutual hatred transformed into love--and create a truly authentic story for her characters. Another aspect that I loved about the novel was the characterization of the hero and heroine. Lisa Kleypas' characterization of Lily is very unique. Lily is no typical blushing, timid heroine: instead, she's extremely vulgar, worldly, and stubborn. Yet, despite these seemingly unattractive characteristics, Alex loves her completely, and his love eventually softens her heart and changes her. Often times when I have read romance novels in the past, the situation usually has been reversed, and the hero exists as the one who is reformed, not the heroine.. This novel is delightfully funny, and any hopeless romantic will surely love it!
ut.tecum.loquerer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two likable protagonists, and probably the best version of 'all the men love and totally accept that pretty girl who does manly things like gambling and hunting' that I've seen. By 'best', of course, I mean that it didn't make me want to stab someone in the face. I didn't totally buy it, but close enough.
phyllisd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Books like this are why Lisa Kleypas is my five star historical romance writer. The plot is suspenseful and the characters are complicated. As are all of us. Lily Lawson is a particularly compelling heroine, a mixture of strength and insecurity. One of Kleypas's older works; it may be her best series to date.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loving every book! Old and new- since the 80's! Thank you Lisa for giving us all these amazing love stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it :) a page turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful story. My first read of this author Lisa Kleypas. Miss Kleypas entwines surprise and predicabilty deftly. The characters are quite endearing. You will find yourself routing for this to work. Although, many obstacles arise love conquers all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Happywitch More than 1 year ago
I love all of her books! But, this one was beyond wonderful! It was funny, emotional, great love scenes! Loved, all the characters. I actually recommend ALL of her books... Although, I am partial to her historic novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago