Them Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #1)

Them Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #1)

by Carolyn Haines

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Them Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
wendy313 More than 1 year ago
Carolyn Haines is a fun writer who brings humor and excitement to her mysteries and I couldn't put "Them Bones" down. I really enjoyed it. The Nook version, however, makes it necessary to pause every couple of pages and figure out the word that was meant to there; for instance "his ringers" was meant to be "his fingers", "she rilled a plate" was meant to be "she filled a plate" and so on. I found it rather annoying because I really enjoy the author's southern references and terms, and at several typos I had to figure out if it was a southern term or a typo. It's certainly no reason not to read the book, but it pops up enough to make you wonder if anyone copy edits the e-version of books before offering them for download. Many Nookbooks have this same annoying snag. At this writing, Barnes & Noble has yet to offer member discounts for Nookbooks (as they do with books from the brick and mortar stores) so when you pay full price for a book, you shouldn't have to mentally copy edit while you read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THEM BONES was full of non-stop laughter. I gave it to my girlfriend when I was done and she had it read in a day! Anyone looking for romance and a pick-me-up should read this book.
Basta4love More than 1 year ago
This book takes you to a place where most of us have never been; doing anything to keep the old family home alive and having a family ghost by your side. Great characters, fun read and simply delightful.
jenn34 More than 1 year ago
I was recommended this series to read. I loved this book and the characters in it. I really enjoyed the suspense in this book and could not put it down. It was a very enjoyable book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Had I not had to work, swim or do anything else, I would have finished this book straight from when I picked it up. A treasure. I can relate to the protagonist as a single 33 year old, but also to almost every other character and the suspense nearly killed me. She weaves a great tale and I just put her other five books into my shopping cart. I've found a new great author!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven't been able to put this book down since I started it. I have already purchased the second in the series and can hardly wait to start reading it. Hope the series continues.
Mike_C48 More than 1 year ago
Set in a fictional Mississippi-Delta town, the Sarah Booth Delaney series is a delightful and engaging detective drama. This is the first book in the series, explaining how Sarah Booth Delaney got her start as a private detective. This book resparked my interest in reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very light easy read. I enjoyed it and plan to read more of the series. Had a great twist at the end. Funny references to southern women and their attitudes and traditions ( really funny if you grew up in the south as I did, I know these people) LOL
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book series but the first book has 'incorrect' text in it. There were things similar to '#$*&@'. I also found lower case 'l' instead of upper case 'I'...probably because this was converted with an 'optical character reader' (OCR) and the OCR didn't know what to do with some of the words. Obviously no one proofed the book! That said, it was worth figuring out the words...
Anonymous 5 months ago
Caricatures+of+Southern+characters%2C+a+trashy+%22heroine%22+who+is+low+enough+to+steal+a+friend%27s+dog+to+get+ransom%2C+and+constant%2C+nauseating+referral+to+the+main+character%27s+womb.++This+book+is+horrible+and+I+wouldn%27t+recommend+it+to+anyone.+++It+was+a+chore+to+read.++Stephanie+Clanahan+
bmoruz More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was a little silly with the main character talking to a ghost throughout. It was also long winded in parts. Didn't need so many characters. I was rushing through to the end to figure out who did it.
BarbsReviews on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a great first book in the series. Sarah Booth is just wonderful and so funny. I was wanting to know what was going to happen next and how she was going to get herself out of the mess she was in.
ethel55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sarah Booth Delaney, much like Scarlett O'Hara, is desperate to save her family home, Dahlia House. The bank is knocking at the door everyday, so she and the resident ghost, Jitty, cook up a plan involving dog-napping. She's so successful, she's hired by Tinkie Bellcase Richmond to delve into the Garrett family secrets to unearth what happened almost two decades ago. The return of the mysterious Hamilton Garrett the fifth has many women in Zinnia very curious. This was a fun southern mystery, where everyone has three names or a number attached to them and 'Daddy's Girls' learn how to be real southern women. Sarah Booth is definitely a little more Scarlett than Stephanie, but it was a promising beginning to a new to me series.
MaddieBloom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, even though one of the main characters is the ghost of a long dead nanny who still haunts the family plantation. Sarah Booth Delaney is the heroine, bravely striving to hold off the bank's foreclosure of her home, falls into a surprisingly profitable new career as a PI. Great fun.read in one sitting, June 1, 2011.
TheLibraryhag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sarah Booth Delaney needs to save the farm. With no source of ready cash, she and her resident ghost hatch a plan to kidnap her friend Tinkie's treasured Yorkie. After "solving" that mystery, Tinkie hires her again to solve an old murder. This is a funny and entertaining story. Think Stephanie Plum in the sticks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series ! I am going to read them all. Great ideas.
Talkingt77 More than 1 year ago
Sarah Booth Delaney is the just the Daddy's Girl you need if you have a problem. The problem is she has problems of her own. This story will have you laughing out loud and wondering what will happen next. Everyone in town seems to know things that shouldn't be known. When Sarah starts asking questions about things from the past, people are beginning to get very nervous. You will enjoy every minute of this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A funny and wonderful story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You won't be disappointed. Sara and accompanying characters are very enjoyable. Something new is always around the corner and humor to boot.
SirCap More than 1 year ago
This is a great first book in a cozy mystery series. I never read a cozy mystery before, but I have thoroughly enjoyed Sherlock Holmes, The Three Investigators, and the Hardy Boys. This is definitely a change of pace. It is unique because it is a "Southern" cozy mystery. If you're outside of the south, you will find a few things in here that you may not be familiar with. (I moved into the south, so I've only learned them since living down here.) It is a great start to a character desperate to try anything to come up with the money to save her family's house. She decides to become an investigator, a P.I., for a case that she committed, desperate to get money from a friend she knows is rich. By doing so, she gets caught up in a real mystery, a mystery that she is dying to know the answer to about her small town. She is new at investigating, but this feels like it could be a character that develops even more so as the series progresses. One odd aspect, is the family ghost in her house, but it does add a bit of colorful humor to it, and someone to bounce dialog off of since the main character lives alone. Overall, a great start to the series. great book, and done beautifully on audio. 5/5 Stars.
justmeRL More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed enough to get the second in the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it! Sarah Booth is a hoot! She and I could be friends.....Kept my attention, good mystery and I loved the characters and history. I've started the second already!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago