The Wolf Who Cried Boy

The Wolf Who Cried Boy

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wolf Who Cried Boy 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
tchrreader More than 1 year ago
This is a great story and the opposite of the classic, The Boy Who Cried Wolf. It is fun and funny and entertaining. It is great for classrooms and home. The illustrations are great and the message is the same as the classic book, just from another point of view. I believe every child should hear this message. It is a great message, a fun story and a good book to read and re-read with kids of many ages. You will find yourself smiling as you read this story. Check this one out!
Brooke28 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is anew take on an original! It is very clever and funny. It included recipes that will make the students laugh.
StephanieWhite on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Wolf who Cried Boy is the story of a mischevious young wolf who complains about his supper. In order to postpone his meals, he begins to "cry boy." This makes his parents go out looking for a boy for supper when there are none. At the end a whole troop of boy scouts shows up, but wolf has lied so many times his parents don't believe him.I immediately knew my daughter's first grade class would love this book because of the funny suppers the wolves eat. Names like Sloppy Does would have them giggling for sure. I also thought the main theme of the story, not telling lies, is certainly useful for all children.I would like to create a unit on fairy tale wolves, including this book with The True Story of the Three Little Pigs. I could also have students rewrite or retell another fairy tale in their own words. This would also be a fun story to dramatize.
jemilie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
SUMMARY:This mordern fantasty was a reverse of the Little Boy Who Cried Wolf. It portrayed a wolf family hunting other animals to prepare for dinner and using human food names and the animals they hunt to name their meals ,and child wolf hates it. He would rather have a boy meal for once. Therefore, he decided to fake seeing boys and his parents would go everywhere in search of that boy. Then they realised they were played for a fool and began to ignore his cries, when an actual boy appeared.This just showed that when lies are told too often, persons would not believe even when telling the truth.Personal: I like this book very much because I think students would be thrilled about the twist in the story, where a little boy was actually sitting in the sitting room of the wolves.This book is appropiate fo grade 0nes and twos.Classroom:Students will predict the morale of the story.students will take the names of the meals mummy bear prepared and try to determine the animal used to prepare them and also what foods were used. Example , lambburger- lamb-hamburgar
kidlit9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Little wolf is tired of eating lamburgers and sloppy does, but when he tricks his parents into thinking there is a boy in the woods, they could all miss a chance for a real feast.
SarahClick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:This book is about a wolf who hates everything his mother cooks because he wants to eat boy instead. His parents tell him that if he sees a boy, then they will catch him and cook him up. He develops a plan to trick them so that he wont have to eat the bad dinners. He cries boy two days in a row, when there wasn't one, and his parents went running off to catch it. They figured out his tricks and decided not to play along. The next day the wolf actually saw a boy but when he cried it his parents did not chase after them. He learned that he shouldn't lie and to eat his dinner without complaining.Personal Reaction:I thought this story was very cute. I remember the boy who cried wolf and I think this is a good variation of it. It still teaches the same values just in a different way. I also like how they describe the food they eat.Classroom Extension Ideas:1. Teach a lesson on lying.2. Teach a lesson on complaining and listening to your parents.3. Act it out in the classroom.
AllisonHood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My children were so excited in the twist of the book! I like this book very much. This is a funny book opposite of the Boy Who Cried Wolf. Instead the wolf cries boy and learns a lesson about telling stories
ecugary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Wolf Who Cried Boy is another story that puts a twist on an old classic. In the story, the wolf is tired of having the same thing for dinner every night. He wants BOY. After trying unsuccessfully to convince his parents, he begins to cry Boy when there isn¿t a boy around. After crying boy too many times, his parents begin to ignore their son and then it happened. A boy walked right by. Nobody believed him.The story itself is wonderful. What makes the book even better is its illustrations. The colors and pictures add to the story¿s already great theme. Every reader will want to read this story over and over.After reading this book, students can read The Boy Who Cried Wolf, then compare the two stories for similarities and differences.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is a fantastic book. Funny, creative, and I like it better than the "original" story. In this version, the wolf has real motivation to lie! anyhoo, I love it. My daughter is 4 and loves it as well.