The Silver Age of Comic Book Art

The Silver Age of Comic Book Art

by Arlen Schumer

Hardcover(Revised)

$49.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Silver Age of Comic Book Art 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Alren Schumer captures the brilliance and cultural value of comic art during the pivotal era spanning 1956-1972. This comprehensive volume showcases the illustration and storytelling genius of Jack Kirby, Jim Steranko, Steve Ditko, and Neil Adams to name a few. Each featured artist unlocks an important chapter of comic book history as beloved pulp heroes transform from science-based characters of the fifties to the socio-spiritual renegades of the seventies-and the art changes with them! The Silver Age of Comic Book Art is a masterpiece that will engage both the comic book aficionado and the mainstream illustrator. I couldn't put it down until I absorbed every vivid page!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It took a century to get Jazz accepted as America's only native art form. Now the title is contested by-- comic books. Those gaudy, breezy, dynamic, mercurial, costumed characters are now recognized as a native graphic art that borrowed from Rembrandt and Picasso and Dali and Renoir and the guys who painted circus poster all over this land 75 years ago. All that went into the pot along with some highclass pulp fiction (that is not a contradiction in terms) and, Voila!-- comic book art. The story of that process as told through the lives of some of the best artists in the Silver Age of Comics (the 50's and 60's) bursts from the glossy pages of one of the handsomest books you'll ever set your big eyes on. Arlen Shumer, an extraordinarily talented grapics designer, was the master force behind the plot to prove with one giant and gorgeous tome the case for comic book art. In full and blazing color (what other kind of color could there be in a comic book?) and produced with exquisite taste, The Silver Age of Comics features the works of Carmine Infantino, Jack Kirby, Gil Kane, Joe Kubert, Steve Colan, Jim Steranko and Neal Adams. That is not the entire pantheon of the Silver Age, but it is one hell of a sampling. Each man a master of his own style. And each one influencing each other one. Sons of the Depression and WW-II,story tellers supreme. Of course they started with some damn good scripts. (I wrote a lot of those scripts, I'm proud to admit.) But, in almost every case, they gave the writer back more than he had envisioned. In addition to the magnificent reproductions of these marvelous images, there is the impressive way in which Shumer has caught the spirit of the time. The fact that he has been into Comics since he was five or six years old and drew his first costumed hero at age 10 explains his empathetic powers. But what explains his final product is that intangible called 'talent'. He has drawn together some of the greatest of all such talents and then used his own artistry to tell their story. If you're inoto comic books and graphic novels, it's a MUST READ. If you're not-- shame on you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Spiderman, the Hulk, the Flash, Silver Surfer and Green Lantern: without artists to bring them alive, we would never know them. This book is about those artists, the period in time when they brought about a revival of the comic book and how the medium responded to the times. I used to read comic books when I was a kid but drifted away in my later teen years. This book makes me realize that I missed great deal in understanding the true genious and talent that went into the comics I was reading back then. I bought this book and showed it to my girlfriend who knows nothing about comic books and their art and she was blown away! Schumer adds wonderfully insightful commentary and has an enthusiasm which permeates his writing. The art he chooses to display is vivid, colorful and just plain fun to look at. Great book to sit down and read or just browse the art work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Never before has a book about... well anything been put together with such sophistication and style. The intense graphic value of every single page will make you want to put every book you own thru a shredder. The writing and references Schumer makes to the life we've known thru the eyes of some of the worlds greatest artists will make you look at comic books the way they were intended...even if you don't like comics! This is one book that should be sold with a silver platter! Genius!!! Five stars all the way!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a comicbook fan that came of age during the `60s, I¿m happy to report that there is finally (FINALLY) a prestige coffee table book that accurately, intimately, lovingly and yes explosively depicts how truly awe-inspiring this era was. The Silver Age of Comics is a must have for any fan of this long misunderstood and oft¿ maligned medium. The simple fact that Schumer has been the person that has compiled this important historical perspective is no accident. Not only is Arlen a true fan of the medium but he trained under the legendary Neal Adams himself. Schumer has presented numerous lectures about the art of comics, plus he has published a number of books on the subject. I strongly urge everyone interested in art of comics, and the history of this era to rush right out and purchase a copy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Schumer has delivered a wonderful book all about the formative years of an often overlooked industry. This book is a must for any fan of the genre.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a comicbook reader since the early '60s I wanted to praise Mr. Schumer for his most excellent work in finally giving the Silver Age of Comics its due! Most historical books about comics either tend to focus on the Golden Age, or try to tell everything about the entire genre. This beautiful coffee table book does it right by talking exclusively about those Silver Age artists who took an wholly original American medium, and transformed it into a truly awe-inspiring and legitimate form of entertainment. I highly recommend this book for anyone who (like myself) came of age during the '60s, or discovered comics after the close of this glorious era.